Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th June 2011, 22:31   #301  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,950
yep also i would say coreix is indeed faster on my sandy bridge
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2011, 09:38   #302  |  Link
upyzl
zj262144
 
upyzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
yep also i would say coreix is indeed faster on my sandy bridge
Good feedback In fact it's also faster on i5 650 (though just ~1%)
But because core2's gcc compiled direct264 ver is slower than generic's on Core 2, so I don't know gcc's optimization for Intel cpu...

Adjusted introduction
__________________
MPC-HC 1.7.8 / LAV Filters 0.64+ (tMod) / XySubFilter 3.1.0.705 / madVR 0.87.14

Direct264 Mod (src & win32 builds): code.google.com/p/direct264umod (maybe outdated)

Last edited by upyzl; 25th June 2011 at 09:42.
upyzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2011, 13:39   #303  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,950
Could you also do a build with win32threads ?
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2011, 16:50   #304  |  Link
upyzl
zj262144
 
upyzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
Could you also do a build with win32threads ?
All of them are win32thread
See build info
__________________
MPC-HC 1.7.8 / LAV Filters 0.64+ (tMod) / XySubFilter 3.1.0.705 / madVR 0.87.14

Direct264 Mod (src & win32 builds): code.google.com/p/direct264umod (maybe outdated)
upyzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2011, 05:00   #305  |  Link
upyzl
zj262144
 
upyzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 105
well... many updates on Google Code

Added 10bit-depth build, but it seems there's still problem with 8->10 conversion in input/rawinput.c (though just limitRange)
__________________
MPC-HC 1.7.8 / LAV Filters 0.64+ (tMod) / XySubFilter 3.1.0.705 / madVR 0.87.14

Direct264 Mod (src & win32 builds): code.google.com/p/direct264umod (maybe outdated)
upyzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2011, 15:32   #306  |  Link
upyzl
zj262144
 
upyzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 105
New builds(mod) available on Google Code.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.7.8 / LAV Filters 0.64+ (tMod) / XySubFilter 3.1.0.705 / madVR 0.87.14

Direct264 Mod (src & win32 builds): code.google.com/p/direct264umod (maybe outdated)

Last edited by upyzl; 13th October 2011 at 15:41.
upyzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2011, 20:18   #307  |  Link
b66pak
Registered User
 
b66pak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Land Of Dracula (Romania - EU)
Posts: 934
@upyzl your mod build forces always "--vbv-maxrate auto" and "--vbv-bufsize auto" when "--level val" is used...is there a way to overcome this? (may be a fixed build?)
_

P.S. using "--vbv-maxrate 0 --vbv-bufsize 0 " don't work...
_
__________________
if you ask a question and somebody give you the correct answer don't forget to leave a "thank you" note...
Visit The Land Of Dracula (Romania - EU)!

Last edited by b66pak; 19th October 2011 at 20:22.
b66pak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011, 00:18   #308  |  Link
06_taro
soy sauce buyer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 164
removing "automatically level" patch will solve this problem.
06_taro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011, 05:00   #309  |  Link
upyzl
zj262144
 
upyzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by b66pak View Post
@upyzl your mod build forces always "--vbv-maxrate auto" and "--vbv-bufsize auto" when "--level val" is used...is there a way to overcome this? (may be a fixed build?)
_

P.S. using "--vbv-maxrate 0 --vbv-bufsize 0 " don't work...
_
Fixed.

In passing others moved to Deprecated downloads.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.7.8 / LAV Filters 0.64+ (tMod) / XySubFilter 3.1.0.705 / madVR 0.87.14

Direct264 Mod (src & win32 builds): code.google.com/p/direct264umod (maybe outdated)
upyzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011, 17:25   #310  |  Link
b66pak
Registered User
 
b66pak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Land Of Dracula (Romania - EU)
Posts: 934
thanks a lot...its OK now...
_
__________________
if you ask a question and somebody give you the correct answer don't forget to leave a "thank you" note...
Visit The Land Of Dracula (Romania - EU)!
b66pak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 12:56   #311  |  Link
upyzl
zj262144
 
upyzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 105
New builds available (mod ver).

Maybe a change should be tellable:
Except x264.exe, other 3 exe only support 4:2:0 output (for "a slight speed increase and significant binary size reduction when only one chroma format is needed" & 4:2:0 is much more widely used)
__________________
MPC-HC 1.7.8 / LAV Filters 0.64+ (tMod) / XySubFilter 3.1.0.705 / madVR 0.87.14

Direct264 Mod (src & win32 builds): code.google.com/p/direct264umod (maybe outdated)

Last edited by upyzl; 11th November 2011 at 13:02.
upyzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2012, 04:20   #312  |  Link
tre31
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 69
Hi has anyone looked at the potential of using an approach similar to Directshow->x264 encode, but using openvideo http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPP...Decode_API.PDF API.

I know that OpenVideo is AMD specific, however further research leads me to find that OpenMAX AL/IL/DL will provide hardware accelerated decoding which could then be fed straight into x264 rather than using Directshow - which is only as good as the weakest link, and by that I mean it cannot get hardware acceleration as the whole process cannot use DXVA.

So .. just thought I through this potential method out there and see what the developer and others think about this process.

I have already seen this - and tested it as well, its pretty quick (but I'd prefer a similar method using x264 for end result); http://bluesky23.yu-nagi.com/en/index.html#AsVideoConv
tre31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2012, 17:31   #313  |  Link
roozhou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by tre31 View Post
Hi has anyone looked at the potential of using an approach similar to Directshow->x264 encode, but using openvideo http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPP...Decode_API.PDF API.

I know that OpenVideo is AMD specific, however further research leads me to find that OpenMAX AL/IL/DL will provide hardware accelerated decoding which could then be fed straight into x264 rather than using Directshow - which is only as good as the weakest link, and by that I mean it cannot get hardware acceleration as the whole process cannot use DXVA.

So .. just thought I through this potential method out there and see what the developer and others think about this process.

I have already seen this - and tested it as well, its pretty quick (but I'd prefer a similar method using x264 for end result); http://bluesky23.yu-nagi.com/en/index.html#AsVideoConv
I have been working on hacking ffdshow to allow DXVA during video encoding for about one year. See this thread. Compared to developing on a new and AMD-only architecture, DXVA is much easier for me.

I am about to integrate this into Direct264, so be patient.
roozhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2012, 17:37   #314  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,950
Nice roozhou so you finished i guess the major difference compared to Nevs (DXVA2) or Egurs (IMSDK,DXVA2) yours will be the only one also working for pre NT 6 Vista/7/8 DXVA1 systems
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 18th January 2012 at 17:49.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2012, 23:18   #315  |  Link
tre31
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
I have been working on hacking ffdshow to allow DXVA during video encoding for about one year. See this thread. Compared to developing on a new and AMD-only architecture, DXVA is much easier for me.

I am about to integrate this into Direct264, so be patient.
Good to hear, although I don't know about the completeness of the OpenMAX solutions, however they are on the opencl site - so I am kind of assuming that it is across Nvidia and AMD (and amd's solution is OpenVideo - in terms of direct architecture, nvidia is different not entirely sure how they do it, though the developer of DGIndex - neutron2 would know I am sure).

Anyway I go have a read through that thread and see how its progressing, and I will say that Direct264 is the only encoding solution I use and have done so for quite awhile, nothing like drag drop onto a batch file encode .. so simple
tre31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2012, 02:32   #316  |  Link
medmunds
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Is there an x64 version of Direct264? How do I go about installing Direct264 (either the x86 or x64 version) so that it shows up in the filter list of GraphEdit? Will it be a Default filter there (black), or is it a DirectX Media Object (DMO) (green) or a filter that Uses Compression Manager (ACM/ICM) (blue)? Thanks!
medmunds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2012, 06:20   #317  |  Link
upyzl
zj262144
 
upyzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by medmunds View Post
Is there an x64 version of Direct264?
Because some direct264 assembler source code is not compatible with x64, it isn't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by medmunds View Post
How do I go about installing Direct264 (either the x86 or x64 version) so that it shows up in the filter list of GraphEdit? Will it be a Default filter there (black), or is it a DirectX Media Object (DMO) (green) or a filter that Uses Compression Manager (ACM/ICM) (blue)? Thanks!
I prefer you to use GraphStudioNext(of course use 32bit) and use Win7DSFilterTweaker or CodecTweakTool to disable MS filters(Because it is easy to cause problems with direct264...).
__________________
MPC-HC 1.7.8 / LAV Filters 0.64+ (tMod) / XySubFilter 3.1.0.705 / madVR 0.87.14

Direct264 Mod (src & win32 builds): code.google.com/p/direct264umod (maybe outdated)
upyzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2012, 19:37   #318  |  Link
medmunds
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by upyzl View Post
Because some direct264 assembler source code is not compatible with x64, it isn't.


I prefer you to use GraphStudioNext(of course use 32bit) and use Win7DSFilterTweaker or CodecTweakTool to disable MS filters(Because it is easy to cause problems with direct264...).
Do I just copy the Direct264 files into C:\Windows\SysWOW64 and then use GraphStudioNext to register them, or what? Sorry if I'm missing something, I've just never had to manually install a DirectShow filter before now.
medmunds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2012, 02:21   #319  |  Link
upyzl
zj262144
 
upyzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by medmunds View Post
Do I just copy the Direct264 files into C:\Windows\SysWOW64 and then use GraphStudioNext to register them, or what? Sorry if I'm missing something, I've just never had to manually install a DirectShow filter before now.
You could put Direct264 (folder) anywhere, Direct264 will call DirectShow Filters automaticly when you do encode
DirectShow filters should be registered (e.g. LAV Filters/FFDShow/Haali/AV Splitter...), except the VSFilter.dll(recommends add onto player's external filters)

GraphStudioNext is just for whether the video decoding is normal or not (drag the video into GraphStudioNext, normally recommends FFDShow-tryout or LAV Video), and checking whether the DShow filters it really uses comform to what you want to use


In brief, if you could play the to be video normal by 32bit MPC-HC(or other 32bit DirectShow players) without(turn off) the player's relative filters, that's enough
__________________
MPC-HC 1.7.8 / LAV Filters 0.64+ (tMod) / XySubFilter 3.1.0.705 / madVR 0.87.14

Direct264 Mod (src & win32 builds): code.google.com/p/direct264umod (maybe outdated)

Last edited by upyzl; 26th September 2012 at 02:37.
upyzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.