Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th November 2011, 13:45   #10821  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boltron View Post
Madshi. I'd like to better understand how madVR makes use of video card memory. I have an 1GB ATI5670. Watching standard 24p movies I see the GPU memory utilization sit about ~65%. The other day I watched a 1080i rip from a Bluray (interlacing was enabled) and it showed usage of ~90%. Not that I think anything is wrong, I just want to understand how memory is used so I can make a more informed decision the next time I purchase a video card. My criteria so far has been to go with 1GB and faster DDR5 memory.
65% of 1GB with a progressive 1080p movie sounds like an awful lot. Do you have Aero enabled? I guess I'll need to calculate how much GPU RAM madVR is expected to use. Right now I don't even know myself.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 13:49   #10822  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Well, does the decoder queue get empty (or near empty) when you get stuttering/frame drops? If so, the CPU is probably the problem.
in case of the 1080p AVC video it jumps between 4-8/11 all the time

for the 1080i AVC video with deinterlacing its 6-8/13

in case of the 1080i VC-1 video its 1/13 for both, deinterlacing and without deinterlacing.

so what to conclude from this? does 4-8 / full already count as near empty?

btw. does activating deinterlacing come along with an increase in brightness? seems almost like levels are changed from PC to TV at the same time. but it looks only like that in fullscreen exclusive mode, in windowed mode this shift in brightness does not happen.
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 14:55   #10823  |  Link
cremor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by cremor View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
JFMI, which decoder are you using? Can you try different ones?
I'm using LAV splitter/audio/video 0.39. But since the one VC-1 sample which uses the Microsoft splitter/decoder shows the same problem I don't think the decoder is the problem.
But I'll also try the MPC-HC internal ones when I get home.
Just tried the MPC-HC internal splitters and decoders. Those are really bad with some files, but when they can provide enough frames to fill the decoder queue the problem in madVR is the same as with LAV or the Microsoft VC-1 decoder.

edit: Tried the madVR internal decoder too. No change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Yes, but this information won't help in any way.
Sure? I can see an increase in CPU load with a decoder queue of 12 there.
For clearer results I configured LAV to use only one thread (decoder queue is still full then). Then there are only three threads with more than 1% CPU load:

LAVSplitter.ax with 10-20% (fluctuating quite much)
madVR.ax with 16%
madVR.ax with 6% (0.77 and 8-queue-0.78) or 9% (12-queue-0.78)

I know, 3% more load isn't much, but it's constant. Is it expected that a bigger decoder queue places higher load on a madVR thread?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberbeing View Post
cremor, have you tried playing with the Windowed Mode Tweaks?

If you haven't tried setting everything to No Flush, that would be the first thing I'd try, then proceed to test each setting by itself one by one if all No Flush didn't help. I'd also try disabling Aero if Windowed Mode Tweaks don't help.

If your ATI 6870 w/ 60fps|1920x1080@120hz is only very slightly slower with 0.78 as madshi expects, little things like above may make a difference.
I've now tried all four options set to all four steps (same for all steps) and several other combinations, no change so far.
Do you have any specific suggestions? I don't want to try all 256 possibilities


edit2:
Some more information from 0.78 (12-queue-version):
Windowed mode without downscaling works perfectly.
Fullscreen exclusive mode with downscaling (I changed the resolution of the monitor) works perfectly too.

Last edited by cremor; 11th November 2011 at 15:13.
cremor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 16:13   #10824  |  Link
Boltron
Registered User
 
Boltron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
65% of 1GB with a progressive 1080p movie sounds like an awful lot. Do you have Aero enabled? I guess I'll need to calculate how much GPU RAM madVR is expected to use. Right now I don't even know myself.
Yes, Aero is enabled. It is a Windows 7 32, and the latest ATI (11.10) drivers.

I used to get tearing without Aero so I turned it on long ago. I guess now with Exclusive mode (which I use) I may not need Aero.

Edit: I use MPC-HC + LAV Filters. I also have yCMS enabled in madVR if that makes a difference.

Last edited by Boltron; 11th November 2011 at 16:16. Reason: Added comment.
Boltron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 16:17   #10825  |  Link
mr.duck
quack quack
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
@mr.duck and @pankov, can you please try this build?

http://madshi.net/mrduckPankov.rar
Not smooth yet, unfortunately. It looks very nearly exactly the same as before. Instead of each frame being doubled, the 2nd frame in some cases looks very, very, very slightly different.
__________________
Media Player Classic Home Cinema Icon Library: NORMAL VERSION / GLOWING VERSION
mr.duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 18:30   #10826  |  Link
jmonier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 183
I just started to try the madVR video decoders and I find that subtitles don't display. They work fine with the LAV Video decoders. Are subtitles supposed to work when the madVR decoders are used? It could well be a problem with Zoomplayer, but I'd like to know for sure that it's not a known problem with madVR before I bring it up with Blight.
jmonier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 18:36   #10827  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,758
If ZoomPlayer relys on DirectVobSub or ffdshow to render subs, there is no way for them to hook into the playback graph between decoder and renderer - and therefor won't work.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 18:49   #10828  |  Link
jmonier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
If ZoomPlayer relys on DirectVobSub or ffdshow to render subs, there is no way for them to hook into the playback graph between decoder and renderer - and therefor won't work.
Yes, after writing the above I found out that Zoomplayer inserts VobSub between LAV Video and MadVR and, of course, that wouldn't be possible with the integrated madVR filters
jmonier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 20:35   #10829  |  Link
pankov
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
@mr.duck and @pankov, can you please try this build?

http://madshi.net/mrduckPankov.rar
madshi,
you managed to reduce the GPU usage and now it's at 67-68% (instead of 79-80%) but at the cost of deinterlacing quality

The Slices clips from AVS look pretty bad - the horizontal lines are "blinking", the diagonal lines are jagged ... in general I'll never use it with such a quality

back to the original version for me.
__________________
Z370M Pro4 | i3-8100 | 16GB RAM | 256GB SSD + 40TB NAS
NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB (385.28) | LG OLED65B7V
Win 10 64bit 1803 + Zoom Player v14
pankov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 22:25   #10830  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
in case of the 1080p AVC video it jumps between 4-8/11 all the time

for the 1080i AVC video with deinterlacing its 6-8/13
Those should be good enough. So your CPU does not seem to be the problem with AVC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
btw. does activating deinterlacing come along with an increase in brightness? seems almost like levels are changed from PC to TV at the same time. but it looks only like that in fullscreen exclusive mode, in windowed mode this shift in brightness does not happen.
This should not happen. Can anybody else reproduce this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cremor View Post
Just tried the MPC-HC internal splitters and decoders. Those are really bad with some files, but when they can provide enough frames to fill the decoder queue the problem in madVR is the same as with LAV or the Microsoft VC-1 decoder.

edit: Tried the madVR internal decoder too. No change.
Ok, thanks. Will try to do some more experiments.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boltron View Post
Yes, Aero is enabled. It is a Windows 7 32, and the latest ATI (11.10) drivers.
What happens to GPU RAM consumption when disabling Aero? Just as a test.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmonier View Post
Yes, after writing the above I found out that Zoomplayer inserts VobSub between LAV Video and MadVR and, of course, that wouldn't be possible with the integrated madVR filters
That's true. MPC-HC, PotPlayer and J.River MC all have internal subtitle renderers that are able to communicate directly with madVR. All these media players show subtitles just fine when using the internal madVR video decoders. ZoomPlayer does not have its own internal subtitle renderer, it relies on VobSub or ffdshow, and that doesn't work when using the internal madVR video decoders, of course.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.duck View Post
Not smooth yet, unfortunately. It looks very nearly exactly the same as before. Instead of each frame being doubled, the 2nd frame in some cases looks very, very, very slightly different.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pankov View Post
madshi,
you managed to reduce the GPU usage and now it's at 67-68% (instead of 79-80%) but at the cost of deinterlacing quality

The Slices clips from AVS look pretty bad - the horizontal lines are "blinking", the diagonal lines are jagged ... in general I'll never use it with such a quality

back to the original version for me.
Ok, thanks for testing, both of you. Here comes the next try:

http://madshi.net/madVRdeinterTest.rar
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 22:29   #10831  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Those should be good enough. So your CPU does not seem to be the problem with AVC.
so what could be the cause that deinterlacing, at least for AVC, does not work smoothly, when the decoder queue is ~half full and GPU load is only at 75% max?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 22:41   #10832  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
btw. does activating deinterlacing come along with an increase in brightness? seems almost like levels are changed from PC to TV at the same time. but it looks only like that in fullscreen exclusive mode, in windowed mode this shift in brightness does not happen.
This reminds me of something… just to confirm: what video card are you using? Also, what is the resolution of your video? If it's 1080i, can you check using another video with a different resolution?
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 23:03   #10833  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
radeon HD 4770. resolution of that video was 1080i. but its the same for a 1080p video for example. or with 720p or 320x200.
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 23:14   #10834  |  Link
Portioli
Continuous Beta Tester
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 54
I have some issues with PC Levels.

Using the Clipping Pattern of Spears & Munsil High-Definition Benchmark

Test pattern could be found here

I tried this pattern using nVidia & ATI cards, in either case PC levels failed the test
Portioli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 23:21   #10835  |  Link
Boltron
Registered User
 
Boltron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
What happens to GPU RAM consumption when disabling Aero? Just as a test.
I ran a couple of quick scenarios:
Aero ON
1080i Windowed: GPU=72% MB=889
1080i Exclusive: GPU=37% MB=955
24p Windowed: GPU=23% MB=541
24p Exclusive: GPU=11% MB=543

Aero OFF
1080i Windowed: GPU=56% MB=789
1080i Exclusive: GPU=34% MB=843
24p Windowed: GPU=22% MB=467
24p Exclusive: GPU=9% MB=406


- 24p movie details
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 1h 59mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 23.0 Mbps
Maximum bit rate : 31.0 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.462
Stream size : 19.2 GiB (87%)


- 1080i movie details
Video
ID : 1
Format : VC-1
Format profile : AP@L3
Codec ID : WVC1
Codec ID/Hint : Microsoft
Duration : 1h 30mn
Bit rate : 28.1 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 29.970 fps
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Interlaced
Scan order : Top Field First
Compression mode : Lossy
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.452
Stream size : 17.8 GiB (96%)

These were 100% accurate as I didn't note usage at the exact time of playback in each case but they were close.

Again, It's not a problem for me, I just would like to understand (to run madVR I'd would happily go with the highest end graphics card if I had too).
Boltron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 23:22   #10836  |  Link
pankov
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Ok, thanks for testing, both of you. Here comes the next try:

http://madshi.net/madVRdeinterTest.rar
Both the quality and the GPU Load are back to v0.78 state
__________________
Z370M Pro4 | i3-8100 | 16GB RAM | 256GB SSD + 40TB NAS
NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB (385.28) | LG OLED65B7V
Win 10 64bit 1803 + Zoom Player v14
pankov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2011, 00:20   #10837  |  Link
Portioli
Continuous Beta Tester
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 54
@madshi

i am really enjoying your 4K/MTF/35mm conversation in AVSforum
Portioli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2011, 08:31   #10838  |  Link
Qaq
AV heretic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boltron View Post
I ran a couple of quick scenarios:
Thanks for testing. As I see there is no sence for me to even try that new de-interlace feature with my 5450 512Mb. Gotta wait for HD 75?? 1Gb.
Qaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2011, 10:11   #10839  |  Link
SamuelMaki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 56
I have maybe a problem with the presentation queue... Now with 0.78 version presentation queue is 0-3/4, when 0.77 reports 3-4/4 all the time... I do not have any presentation qlitches or dropped frames thought... So, what is the problem, or is there any problem with ctrl+j reporting? I am using radeon hd 5650...
SamuelMaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2011, 15:50   #10840  |  Link
mr.duck
quack quack
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Ok, thanks for testing, both of you. Here comes the next try:

http://madshi.net/madVRdeinterTest.rar
Not smooth. Every other frame is doubled.
__________________
Media Player Classic Home Cinema Icon Library: NORMAL VERSION / GLOWING VERSION
mr.duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.