Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th July 2011, 10:27   #13761  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,084
Quote:
I'd like to use ffdshow video for W7MC recordings (.wtv files) inside MPC-HC, but it will not connect. Should I open a ticket for this?
Convert to .dvr-ms format. (Right click) or to .ts (http://experts.windows.com/frms/wind...9/t/95712.aspx)

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 5th July 2011 at 10:30.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2011, 14:47   #13762  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,291
When encoding an RGB source in VDub using ffdshow's HuffYUV and YV12 colorspace, how does ffdshow perform the colorspace conversion? Is it similar to ConverttoYV12 (using the same matrix, Rec601) in Avisynth?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2011, 20:33   #13763  |  Link
VipZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London
Posts: 373
@ alexins

Thanks for the help

@clsid

That video you mentioned to be crashing, on my builds it isn't crashing which is the build I am currently using, Rev 3916 built with mingw_gcc_461_v20110623_x86-x64-pre-release.7z from xvidvideo.ru
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, CPU: Core i7 6700K, GPU: GeForce GTX 980 /w 355.60, Audio: HDMI to Yamaha RX-A3010 (5.1)

Last edited by VipZ; 5th July 2011 at 20:57.
VipZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2011, 08:38   #13764  |  Link
hoborg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
Hi.
There seems to be a problem with FFDshow DXVA decoder when removing from graph - it will cause Graphstudio (and other software) to crash.

It is easy to reproduce - just open any DXVA compatible video in graphstudio then try to remove FFDShow DXVA decoder from graph - Graphstudio will crash.

This doesn't happend with normal FFDshow video decoder (and other DXVA decoders like PDVD).
__________________
Working machine: Win10x64 + Intel Skull Canyon
My HTPC.

How to start with Bitcoin

Last edited by hoborg; 7th July 2011 at 09:11.
hoborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2011, 14:27   #13765  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,626
I am unable to reproduce. I can delete the filter without problems in GraphStudio. Which renderer are you using? Here it ffdshow DXVA only works if manually inserted in combination with EVR.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2011, 14:32   #13766  |  Link
hoborg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
I am unable to reproduce. I can delete the filter without problems in GraphStudio. Which renderer are you using? Here it ffdshow DXVA only works if manually inserted in combination with EVR.
VMR9 on XP and EVR on Win7.

I changed default renderer on my OS, so Graphstudio use EVR by default on my Win7.
__________________
Working machine: Win10x64 + Intel Skull Canyon
My HTPC.

How to start with Bitcoin
hoborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2011, 16:15   #13767  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,386
In the "Version Details" window (r3919):
Quote:
ff_kernelDeint.dll Not found


Also: the MJPG VfW decoder swaps the channels U and V
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2011, 20:57   #13768  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,626
Do you have a sample? I only have one mjpeg in avi file and that gives correct colors in VirtualDub.

It is easy to adjust colorspace in VirtualDub. Video -> Color Depth.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 10:15   #13769  |  Link
zummi
Registered User
 
zummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 15
Hi Gurus

Quick question: I'm having trouble with my PGS subtitles. They always appear in the *upper left* corner of my screen. I've tried playing with the subtitles settings in ffdshow, and I'm able to change font size etc...but the placement won't change. Have I completely overlooked something basic here...?

I'm running the latest version of ffdshow of course. Thanks
zummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 13:20   #13770  |  Link
andybkma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 181
Greetings, just a quick question. Is ffdshow supposed to be able to decode all wmv content without any problems? Cuz I have many .wmv vids (mostly WMV3/9) for which I only get a grey screen when selecting libavcodec for WMV3/9 and a green screen when I select wmv9 (the vids play fine if I use the internal windows wmv decoder). It doesn't matter which renderer I use, the resulting blocky green & grey screens still occur making the vid unwatchable. This has been going on for as long as I have been using ffdshow (7+ years) and even the most recent builds within the past week still have the same problem. Was just wondering if there is something I can do to finally fix this problem...

Thanks for any tips/guidance...
andybkma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 14:05   #13771  |  Link
hoborg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
I am unable to reproduce. I can delete the filter without problems in GraphStudio. Which renderer are you using? Here it ffdshow DXVA only works if manually inserted in combination with EVR.
So you was not able to reproduce it?

This is how it can be reproduced (Vista/Win7):

Start Graphstudio, look for EVR renderer, then change merit to max.
Restart PC
Open any DXVA compatible video in graphstudio, graph will be now builded using FFDshow DXVA decoder + EVR renderer (instead of video renderer).
Try to remove FFDshow DXVA decoder from graph (click on ffdshow dxva decoder and hit delete key).
Graphstudio will crash.
__________________
Working machine: Win10x64 + Intel Skull Canyon
My HTPC.

How to start with Bitcoin
hoborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 16:22   #13772  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybkma View Post
Greetings, just a quick question. Is ffdshow supposed to be able to decode all wmv content without any problems? Cuz I have many .wmv vids (mostly WMV3/9) for which I only get a grey screen when selecting libavcodec for WMV3/9 and a green screen when I select wmv9 (the vids play fine if I use the internal windows wmv decoder). It doesn't matter which renderer I use, the resulting blocky green & grey screens still occur making the vid unwatchable. This has been going on for as long as I have been using ffdshow (7+ years) and even the most recent builds within the past week still have the same problem. Was just wondering if there is something I can do to finally fix this problem...

Thanks for any tips/guidance...
Please post a sample file that gives you this problem, so that we can test it.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 16:23   #13773  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by zummi View Post
Hi Gurus

Quick question: I'm having trouble with my PGS subtitles. They always appear in the *upper left* corner of my screen. I've tried playing with the subtitles settings in ffdshow, and I'm able to change font size etc...but the placement won't change. Have I completely overlooked something basic here...?

I'm running the latest version of ffdshow of course. Thanks
PGS support may be buggy and it is unlikely that it will get fixed if no additional developers join the project.
Try the internal subtitle renderer of MPC instead.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 16:26   #13774  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoborg View Post
So you was not able to reproduce it?
Canīt reproduce. Canīt fix. Sorry. Maybe someone else can.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 22:18   #13775  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,386
Please ignore the apparent "anomaly" in the MJPEG decoder --- it "magically" disappeared after I (re-)installed ReClock Yep, the rootkits are getting more and more evil, their "residual symptoms" are completely "absurd", but they do exist and happen anyway.
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2011, 00:12   #13776  |  Link
zummi
Registered User
 
zummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
PGS support may be buggy and it is unlikely that it will get fixed if no additional developers join the project.
Try the internal subtitle renderer of MPC instead.
Thanks. I'm running Windows Media Player (within Win MCE) for higher WAF :P So I guess I'm screwed

Thanks anyway
zummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2011, 03:36   #13777  |  Link
andybkma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Please post a sample file that gives you this problem, so that we can test it.
Thanks so much... I have pm'd you.

Andy
andybkma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2011, 12:35   #13778  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,626
@zummi
DirectVobSub has the same capapbilities as the internal subtitle renderer of MPC.

@andybkma
This is a splitter problem. It does not work properly with the standard MS splitter. The files play properly when forcing LAV Splitter as the source filter. Here is a Registry tweak for that:
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Media Type\Extensions\.wmv]
"Source Filter"="{B98D13E7-55DB-4385-A33D-09FD1BA26338}"
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2011, 13:59   #13779  |  Link
wOxxOm
Oz of the zOo
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 205
is it known that AVC/m2ts terribly lags with newer builds?
Older builds still work correctly in the same environment.

builds pre-3892: OK
builds post-3904: FAIL

Last edited by wOxxOm; 9th July 2011 at 14:24.
wOxxOm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2011, 15:06   #13780  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,626
You are the first to mention such problems.

What exactly do you mean with lag? A sync delay? Stuttering?
Does the problem go away if you adjust the number of decoding threads in the decoder options?
Does it only happen with M2TS? MKV and MP4 are fine?
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.