Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st May 2011, 17:41   #2221  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,777
DTS-HD MA not working. Flashing between DTS-HD MA and PCM on the receiver. No audio.
__________________
HTPC1:W10 Creator Edition, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Panasonic 65" 1080p Plasma
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 17:41   #2222  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,853
DD+ is just broken in ffdshow, there is no hardware limitation.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
DTS-HD MA not working. Flashing between DTS-HD MA and PCM on the receiver. No audio.
Does DTS itself work, from the same stream?
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 17:43   #2223  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
DD+ is just broken in ffdshow, there is no hardware limitation.
Someone told us that on the ffdshow hd audio thread, but, we were skeptical. However, this proves it. VERY VERY kuel!

Quote:
Does DTS itself work, from the same stream?
Will check in a minute. I went to play a TrueHD file after that and it crashed my machine. Rebooting now. Retesting momentarily.
__________________
HTPC1:W10 Creator Edition, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Panasonic 65" 1080p Plasma
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 17:46   #2224  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,777
TrueHD works fine. DTS core works, as well from the same file that wasn't working with DTS-HD MA. So it's just DTS-HD MA that has the problem.
__________________
HTPC1:W10 Creator Edition, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Panasonic 65" 1080p Plasma
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:04   #2225  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,777
Nice to see the forum back. sigh. Anything I can do to help with the DTS-HD MA bitstreaming issue?
__________________
HTPC1:W10 Creator Edition, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Panasonic 65" 1080p Plasma
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:05   #2226  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,853
DTS-HD MA works fine for me. Does it no work on any disc?

I tried, for example, on the m2ts version of this:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1330124
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:07   #2227  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,853
Also, as before, attach debugger on a debug build.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:09   #2228  |  Link
noee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 521
This is cool. Very cool. But, for bitstreaming these compressed formats, don't you have to run your monitor at the exact (or exact multiple) of the movie fps?
noee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:12   #2229  |  Link
VipZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London
Posts: 373
Awesome Nev

Here are my findings, with Direct Sound renderer

MKV, DTS/DTSHD: Only work with AVI<->AC3/DTS between LAV Splitter and Audio
MKV, DTS-ES Matrix: 1st time I see this on AVR
Bluray (Eagle Eye), TrueHD,: Cant connect to audio renderer
M2TS (Sample posted earlier), TrueHD: Works fine
MKV,DD: Working fine.
MPEG-TS,DD: Most crash on start when bitstreaming, normal decoding ok.

If you need me to test anything let me know
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, CPU: Core i7 6700K, GPU: GeForce GTX 980 /w 355.60, Audio: HDMI to Yamaha RX-A3010 (5.1)
VipZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:12   #2230  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by noee View Post
This is cool. Very cool. But, for bitstreaming these compressed formats, don't you have to run your monitor at the exact (or exact multiple) of the movie fps?
Thats not important. The only thing you CANNOT do when bitstreaming is let ReClock adjust the video speed to match refres rate, because then it goes out of sync. So with perfect bitstreaming, you'll end up with not 100% perfect video, because it could drop or repeat frames to match the refresh rate.

So, i guess, yes. For 100% perfect audio and video, with bitstreaming, it needs to be a exact multiple of the fps.


Quote:
Originally Posted by VipZ View Post
MKV, DTS/DTSHD: Only work with AVI<->AC3/DTS between LAV Splitter and Audio
That doesn't make any sense, the connection between LAV Splitter and LAV Audio should always work - unless you turned one of the formats off in the config.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:13   #2231  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,777
Gonna build it now. It works for nVidia, not AMD. Need to try something first to see if makes any difference. Nope...I took ReClock out of the mix. Same deal. Ok, building a debug version.
__________________
HTPC1:W10 Creator Edition, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Panasonic 65" 1080p Plasma
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:16   #2232  |  Link
VipZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
That doesn't make any sense, the connection between LAV Splitter and LAV Audio should always work - unless you turned one of the formats off in the config.
If I bitstream, that filter gets put in the chain automatically, if I decode, it doesn't.

XForm In
Code:
Filter : AVI<->AC3/DTS - CLSID : {93230DD0-7B3C-4EFB-AFBB-DC380FEC9E6B}

- Connected to:

CLSID: {171252A0-8820-4AFE-9DF8-5C92B2D66B04}
Filter: LAV Splitter
Pin: Audio

- Connection media type:

Audio: DTS 48000Hz 6ch 1536kbps

AM_MEDIA_TYPE: 
majortype: MEDIATYPE_Audio {73647561-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
subtype: MEDIASUBTYPE_DTS {E06D8033-DB46-11CF-B4D1-00805F6CBBEA}
formattype: FORMAT_WaveFormatEx {05589F81-C356-11CE-BF01-00AA0055595A}
bFixedSizeSamples: 1
bTemporalCompression: 0
lSampleSize: 256000
cbFormat: 18

WAVEFORMATEX:
wFormatTag: 0x0008
nChannels: 6
nSamplesPerSec: 48000
nAvgBytesPerSec: 192000
nBlockAlign: 12
wBitsPerSample: 16
cbSize: 0 (extra bytes)

pbFormat:
0000: 08 00 06 00 80 bb 00 00 00 ee 02 00 0c 00 10 00 .............
0010: 00 00                                           ..
XForm Out
Code:
Filter : AVI<->AC3/DTS - CLSID : {93230DD0-7B3C-4EFB-AFBB-DC380FEC9E6B}

- Connected to:

CLSID: {E8E73B6B-4CB3-44A4-BE99-4F7BCB96E491}
Filter: LAV Audio Decoder
Pin: XForm In

- Connection media type:

Audio: DTS 48000Hz stereo 1536kbps

AM_MEDIA_TYPE: 
majortype: MEDIATYPE_Audio {73647561-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
subtype: Unknown GUID Name {00002001-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
formattype: FORMAT_WaveFormatEx {05589F81-C356-11CE-BF01-00AA0055595A}
bFixedSizeSamples: 1
bTemporalCompression: 0
lSampleSize: 1
cbFormat: 18

WAVEFORMATEX:
wFormatTag: 0x2001
nChannels: 2
nSamplesPerSec: 48000
nAvgBytesPerSec: 192000
nBlockAlign: 1
wBitsPerSample: 16
cbSize: 18 (extra bytes)

pbFormat:
0000: 01 20 02 00 80 bb 00 00 00 ee 02 00 01 00 10 00 . ...........
0010: 12 00                                           ..

- Enumerated media type 0:

Set as the current media type
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, CPU: Core i7 6700K, GPU: GeForce GTX 980 /w 355.60, Audio: HDMI to Yamaha RX-A3010 (5.1)

Last edited by VipZ; 1st May 2011 at 18:19.
VipZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:21   #2233  |  Link
hoborg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
@nevcairiel:
Any chance to add support in LAVF audio decoder to be able to connect with MS DVD navigator ?
__________________
Working machine: Win10x64 + Intel Skull Canyon
My HTPC.

How to start with Bitcoin
hoborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:22   #2234  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoborg View Post
@nevcairiel:
Any chance to add support in LAVF audio decoder to be able to connect with MS DVD navigator ?
Is that why I can't select it for DVD's in MC16?
__________________
HTPC1:W10 Creator Edition, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Panasonic 65" 1080p Plasma
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:27   #2235  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by VipZ View Post
If I bitstream, that filter gets put in the chain automatically, if I decode, it doesn't.
That media type looks just perfect, i wouldn't know why it adds that weird filter there. o.O
The only thing that would make it break would be a sample rate of 0 in the media type.

Especially the only when bitstreaming .. that doesn't make any sense. I also cannot reproduce it here.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 1st May 2011 at 18:31.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:31   #2236  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,777
Uhhhhh, Nev? This seems bad man. So, I fully removed ReClock from the chain this time (forgot I had it set to always load...sigh). On my AMD equipment, LAV Audio is no longer used for DTS at ALL unless I uncheck the DTS-HD MA bitstreaming checkbox. Then it'll do DTS bitstreaming. If I leave DTS-HD MA checked, it falls back to other decoders. Hell, I uninstalled ffdshow completely, unregistered the ArcSoft audio decoder, and it fell back to the microsoft decoder for DTS! So, something's wrong.
__________________
HTPC1:W10 Creator Edition, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Panasonic 65" 1080p Plasma
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:32   #2237  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,853
It doesn't even work anymore if you disable bitstreaming at all?

Also, please post the output media type of ffdshow while bitstreaming DTS-HD MA.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:35   #2238  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,777
Oh sure now that I uninstalled ffdshow. Give me a few minutes as I just got the debug version built and installed. I'm saying that if I uncheck the DTS-HD MA bitstream option, then LAV Audio accepts the connection, however. Even if I leave the core DTS bitstream option checked. I'm saying that if I have the DTS-HD MA bitstream option checked, LAV Audio refuses the connection and it goes to another decoder instead. How whacked is that?
__________________
HTPC1:W10 Creator Edition, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Panasonic 65" 1080p Plasma
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:36   #2239  |  Link
VipZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
On my AMD equipment, LAV Audio is no longer used for DTS at ALL unless I uncheck the DTS-HD MA bitstreaming checkbox.
This is exactly my issue, the AVI<->AC3/DTS filter doesn't appear if I deselect DTS-HD decoding. So I assume yours isn't working because AVI<->AC3/DTS isn't getting loaded.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, CPU: Core i7 6700K, GPU: GeForce GTX 980 /w 355.60, Audio: HDMI to Yamaha RX-A3010 (5.1)
VipZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 18:37   #2240  |  Link
hoborg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
May be stupid, but can be this caused by registry prefered decoder selection under Win7?
__________________
Working machine: Win10x64 + Intel Skull Canyon
My HTPC.

How to start with Bitcoin
hoborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.