Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th April 2011, 11:28   #441  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
Quote:
Does it mean that Avisynth would be included in the exe, or it would be downloaded if selected ?
Nope, the installer wouldn't install Avisynth at all, it just would let the user select if the 32bit or the 64 bit avsInfo.exe should be installed.

Quote:
The only issue is of course the user would end up redownloading all packages to update potentially 1 single package.
Yup, that's the main downside. There would be just one larger package for all Windows versions.
(the Hybrid binary only downloads will still exist, so this is only an issue with package downloads)

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2011, 16:09   #442  |  Link
Brazil2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 476
I always prefer to use a ZIP package myself, maybe because I like to understand how things are working and what is happening on my system, although I understand that people may like an installer.

But since you are using file hosting sites it shouldn't be a problem to provide both files (7)ZIP and installer because the installer will be made from files that you just have to ZIP
Brazil2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2011, 16:25   #443  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
I would prefer to only provide the packages as separate zip files or the installer, not both (to simplify the stuff that needs to be done when releasing a new version).
But since I suspected some users might prefer the packages I asked for opinions.

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2011, 00:23   #444  |  Link
illogan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
i think, the main advantage of an installer will be, that the decision will be taken off from the User, and he dont have to think about "what OS do i have" and "what processor architecture version will be the best for my system" and "what do i have to download to make Hybrid to work at all".

a couple of MB more or less isnt the problem, in my opinion. the difference will be minimal...

bye
illogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2011, 06:43   #445  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
Quote:
a couple of MB more or less isnt the problem, in my opinion. the difference will be minimal...
Not so minimal,.. around 10 to 15 MB for Win32 and Win2k users.
Installer (with all versions) ~50MB, Win32package ~35MB, Win32package+Win2k additions ~40MB, Win32package+Win64 addition ~ 50MB.
But I think at least for the first few releases I'll provide installer and packages,..

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2011, 11:42   #446  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
Hybrid got it's own homepage and a small forum: http://www.selur.de

Hybrid rev 2011.04.17.1

*added*
- "Use '--fullraw' when extracting with mkvextract" option, which allows to use '--fullraw' instead of '--raw' when using mkvextract
- first Mac OS X release (experimental -> need feedback)

*cosmetics*
- windows: added version info to .exe description

*adjusted*
- to alternative mplayer identify infos
- x264: add '--bluray-compat' when blu-ray compliance is activated
- x264: removed '--open gop' sub options

*fixed*
- accidentally permanently deactivated DebugOutput
- handling mp4 files: not using MP4Box but ffmpeg for stream extractions
- crash when using 'Postpone' was called on a job which hadn't been assigned to a client yet.

*requirements*
- x264: needs to be rev1936 or newer now

*updated*
- windows packages: updated tools, added Windows installer, switched to 7z archives

-> downloads: http://www.selur.de/downloads
(please report if you get slow downloads, I'll then additionally upload the files to MultiUpload)

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage

Last edited by Selur; 17th April 2011 at 15:35.
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2011, 11:57   #447  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
Hybrid rev 2011.05.03.1:
*cosmetics*
  • added Hybrid type (windows32/windows64/linux32/linux64/macosx64) to debug output
  • tweaked autocrop to only scan the first frame rate of I-frames
  • moved 'Configuration' selection below tabs in video configuration tabs
  • image- instead of text-buttons in Jobs-register and small redesign, thanks to Faust
  • some small rearrangements here and there
*changed*
  • x264: on separate '2pass - 1st pass', call x264 with '--output NUL'
  • jobs get now saved on Hybrid close and automatically loaded on Hybrid start
*added*
  • option to let Hybrid auto select a audio/subtitle stream with a specific language
*fixed*
  • a crash with autoloading audio for raw video
  • initialization of tools for loaded jobs
  • 'set absolute path' (only replace first occurrence of toReplace term)
  • a bunch of problems related to separate 2pass 1st and 2pass 2nd pass encoding
*updated*
  • windows packages/installer

-> downloads: http://www.selur.de/downloads

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2011, 12:21   #448  |  Link
flebber
Practising Schemer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 791
Thanks..

Downloads on your site are returning page not found.

win64 package.

http://www.selur.de/sites/default/fi...bit_1100503.7z

Last edited by flebber; 3rd May 2011 at 12:23.
flebber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2011, 19:06   #449  |  Link
illogan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
now its working.
illogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2011, 19:08   #450  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
yup accidentally added an additional 0
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2011, 19:07   #451  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
Hybrid rev 2011.05.05.1:

*fixed*
error when detecting if Hybrid homePath is writeable

*updated*
windows packages: mp4box, frameCounter and x264

-> downloads: http://www.selur.de/downloads

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2011, 01:03   #452  |  Link
flebber
Practising Schemer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 791
Love the update only 1 request, would it be possible to have spline36resize or blackman as available option?
flebber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2011, 04:54   #453  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
If mencoder or ffmpeg have them: yes (not sure if they do nowadays)
otherwise: no, since Hybrid doesn't create avisynth files,...
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2011, 19:22   #454  |  Link
devaster
Duke is my hero
 
devaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 79
are u plannig for use of GPU decode on single/multiple GPUs ?
i have 3 GPUs and it would be nice one used for decoding and one for encoding ....
__________________
NVIDIA CUDA(5.0 RC) on 460M
devaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2011, 19:28   #455  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
Don't think that will happen in the near future since mencoder&ffmpeg which are mainly used don't have gpu decoding and I probably won't have the time to read-up and write a decoder (which would need to be able to output raw yv12 via std:ut) myself.
And since DGDecNV is avisynth only and doesn't have the ability to output via std:ut that's probably also not gonna happen anytime soon.
That said if someone writes a command line decoder I would add support for it inside Hybrid.

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2011, 09:35   #456  |  Link
devaster
Duke is my hero
 
devaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 79
okay, can u send me some specs what must decoder meet , ill try to write one ...
__________________
NVIDIA CUDA(5.0 RC) on 460M
devaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2011, 10:09   #457  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
these would be needed features:
1. it should be able to open raw h.264 files
2. output to pipe (std:ut) and file
3. everything that's not file output should go to std:err not std:ut
4. output file format should be something x264/ffmpeg/mencoder supports (i.e. NV12/Yv12)
these would be nice features:
1. being able to open raw mpeg-2/vc-1 files or everything else the decoder can handle
2. accept input via pipe, so one could use i.e. mencoder/ffmpeg to open a container and pipe the content to the decoder and from the decoder to i.e. x264
3. progress indication to std::err
4. deinterlacing support
these would be too good to be true features:
1. ability to read stream that are still inside a container (so one would have a basic DGDecNV replacement)
2. combine it the cuda encoder Hybrid uses (I share the the code, which is mainly a Qt port of the cuda encoder example from the cuda sdk)
3. additional filtering through the decoder (cropping, denoise, whatever is possible)

about license: don't care as long as it's free to use for personal purposes and I get no trouble if I add it to the Hybrid packages/installer
open source: would be nice, but not a needs-to-be

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2011, 10:14   #458  |  Link
devaster
Duke is my hero
 
devaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 79
why is encoding on gpu so slow when i use filters ? - it uses the gpu only on ~25%. when i switch off the filtering it is used for ~100% (dvd source)...
btw mencoder is using only one core ???
__________________
NVIDIA CUDA(5.0 RC) on 460M
devaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2011, 10:24   #459  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
Quote:
why is encoding on gpu so slow when i use filters ?
currently the dvd source will be opened and decoded with mencoder (which is probably the bottleneck when decoding)
Quote:
btw mencoder is using only one core ???
What does '-lavdopts threads=X' in the decoder part of the call say ?
(on linux threads=1 is forced since multi-threaded mpeg decoding seems to be broken there from time to time, but on windows X should be number of cpu core iirc.)
Depending on your filtering, it might also be that one of the filters used doesn't support multi-threading.

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2011, 10:29   #460  |  Link
devaster
Duke is my hero
 
devaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 79
it is setted to 8 threads and i am using sharpen and denoise - hqdn3d ....
__________________
NVIDIA CUDA(5.0 RC) on 460M
devaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.