Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th March 2011, 15:59   #2061  |  Link
Skinleech
A.K.A Mangoat
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 203
FYI, anyone who is still struggling with bitstreaming DTS-HD MA with Haali, it's easily fixed.

Open Mkvmerge Gui & select Header Editor from the File menu. Open your mkv, and under default duration for the audio track(s) Add Element and enter 10666666. Save the header and you're done. I've done a bunch of my files and they all work fine in Haali now.

I stumbled upon this on a random forum last week (can't recall where now) so it may be old news already.
Skinleech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 16:05   #2062  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
It is. I think Mosu made a change in mkvmerge to fix it automagically.
__________________
HTPC1:W8.1 Pro, I7 3770k, GTX 680, Pioneer Elite SC-65
HTPC2:W8.1 Pro, I5 2400s, GTS 450, Pioneer Elite VX21-THX
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 16:13   #2063  |  Link
robpdotcom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 297
The change in mmg only fixes new files though - to fix one made before the change, the header editor is MUCH faster than remuxing.

BTW: I've had a few THD files that play out of sync with Haali. Adding 833333 to the default duration seemed to fix those.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
automagically.
BTW2: Typo, or play on words?
__________________
Windows 7 x64
i7 870
16GB RAM
AMD 6870

Last edited by robpdotcom; 10th March 2011 at 16:15.
robpdotcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 16:20   #2064  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by robpdotcom View Post
The change in mmg only fixes new files though - to fix one made before the change, the header editor is MUCH faster than remuxing.
Ah, yes, you're right, of course.

Quote:
Originally Posted by robpdotcom View Post
BTW: I've had a few THD files that play out of sync with Haali. Adding 833333 to the default duration seemed to fix those.
Hmm, hadn't seen that one. Neat!

Quote:
Originally Posted by robpdotcom View Post
BTW2: Typo, or play on words?
No typo. I use that word a lot. I'm a software engineer, so, a lot of what I do is magic.
__________________
HTPC1:W8.1 Pro, I7 3770k, GTX 680, Pioneer Elite SC-65
HTPC2:W8.1 Pro, I5 2400s, GTS 450, Pioneer Elite VX21-THX
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 23:06   #2065  |  Link
Skinleech
A.K.A Mangoat
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
It is. I think Mosu made a change in mkvmerge to fix it automagically.
Ah, seems I'm .3 versions out of the latest, so yeah I guess it's fixed. I stopped caring as I stopped using Haali but when I saw the fix thought I'd try.

Guess I should update mmg
Skinleech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 23:08   #2066  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinleech View Post
Ah, seems I'm .3 versions out of the latest, so yeah I guess it's fixed. I stopped caring as I stopped using Haali but when I saw the fix thought I'd try.

Guess I should update mmg
I haven't been using haali lately either. LAVF has gotten to a point now where I find it quite usable. And we know where to find Nev if it breaks. Anyway, yea, you should upgrade mmg.
__________________
HTPC1:W8.1 Pro, I7 3770k, GTX 680, Pioneer Elite SC-65
HTPC2:W8.1 Pro, I5 2400s, GTS 450, Pioneer Elite VX21-THX
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2011, 00:47   #2067  |  Link
robpdotcom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 297
The only reason I use Haali is because I started backing up seamless branching BluRays with ordered chapter mkv's - and so far, only Haali will play them correctly.

Other than that, LAVF is my new splitter of choice.
__________________
Windows 7 x64
i7 870
16GB RAM
AMD 6870
robpdotcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2011, 00:49   #2068  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Maybe Nev will add support for that. He wants to work on BD support next I think. You can always ask.
__________________
HTPC1:W8.1 Pro, I7 3770k, GTX 680, Pioneer Elite SC-65
HTPC2:W8.1 Pro, I5 2400s, GTS 450, Pioneer Elite VX21-THX
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2011, 03:01   #2069  |  Link
robpdotcom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 297
I've mentioned it, and I think he said it's low on the priority list. Understandably so, since I don't hear of many other users messing around with ordered chapters. Although, from what I've read, it does seem to be catching on in the Anime/torrent world.

I think when someone starts to work on menus for Matrsoska people will start to utilize the ordered chapters a bit more. Imagine being able to back up an entire Bluray such as Avatar, with the director's cut, extended, and theatrical version, and have full menu support - all in one mkv file that is much smaller than what would be needed if you saved each version separately. Imo, that should be one of the ultimate goals.

Anyway, don't want to drive this topic any further off topic.

And btw, thanks for my new favorite word: Automagically
__________________
Windows 7 x64
i7 870
16GB RAM
AMD 6870
robpdotcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 09:33   #2070  |  Link
ontherocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
What needs to be fixed or improved :
- Dolby Digital Plus bitstream on ATI 5xxx : this is likely due to a driver issue (ATI drivers don't support DD+ yet)
Any updates on this?
ATI Catalyst version 10 and above, does support bitstreaming Dolby Digital Plus. Have successfully tested it with Splash Player Pro.
ontherocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 13:39   #2071  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by ontherocks View Post
Any updates on this?
ATI Catalyst version 10 and above, does support bitstreaming Dolby Digital Plus. Have successfully tested it with Splash Player Pro.
I haven't seen ANY player that is able to bitstream DD+ on an AMD card, regardless of what the driver claims to support. IMO, it lies. You're absolutely positive you're getting DD+ with SPP?
__________________
HTPC1:W8.1 Pro, I7 3770k, GTX 680, Pioneer Elite SC-65
HTPC2:W8.1 Pro, I5 2400s, GTS 450, Pioneer Elite VX21-THX
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2011, 21:26   #2072  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
Just installed the trial of SP Pro, and no workie. TrueHD yes, DD+ no. From m2ts from the Dolby demo bluray. 5770 with both Realtek 2.55 and the one that comes with Cat 11.3
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2011, 21:38   #2073  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Yea I haven't seen any REAL reports of DD+ working on an AMD card. I've seen PDVD's unique bug where it displays DD+ but it's not really.
__________________
HTPC1:W8.1 Pro, I7 3770k, GTX 680, Pioneer Elite SC-65
HTPC2:W8.1 Pro, I5 2400s, GTS 450, Pioneer Elite VX21-THX
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2011, 21:42   #2074  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
Well luckily no REAL blu-rays have DD+!
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2011, 21:48   #2075  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Not so lucky is that the broadcast industry is moving to the DD+ standard "someday".
__________________
HTPC1:W8.1 Pro, I7 3770k, GTX 680, Pioneer Elite SC-65
HTPC2:W8.1 Pro, I5 2400s, GTS 450, Pioneer Elite VX21-THX
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2011, 21:51   #2076  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
Yeah, but unless they support 7.1, I don't think I'll mind just doing regular DD.
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2011, 21:54   #2077  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
That's an interesting question. I don't know what the plans are for their rollout of DD+. I suspect they'll want it for VOD and that type of stuff. Netflix and Vudu are already doing DD+ but I'm not sure about 7.1.
__________________
HTPC1:W8.1 Pro, I7 3770k, GTX 680, Pioneer Elite SC-65
HTPC2:W8.1 Pro, I5 2400s, GTS 450, Pioneer Elite VX21-THX
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2011, 22:00   #2078  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
Do you know any Netflix movies that have DD+? I haven't run into any and I wanna check it out.

I don't watch movies on NF instant though... quality sucks sucks sucks. Especially those starz movies.
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2011, 22:02   #2079  |  Link
dbone1026
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 211
I am having issues with my 5670 GPU.... oh wait, sorry, saw you guys and I thought this was the 'ATI HD 5000 Series Known Problems' thread on AVS
__________________
Cheers,
Damian

Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net
dbone1026 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2011, 22:06   #2080  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post
Do you know any Netflix movies that have DD+? I haven't run into any and I wanna check it out.

I don't watch movies on NF instant though... quality sucks sucks sucks. Especially those starz movies.
These were instant view. And through my PS3 the quality is good good good. But NOT the same on the 360 or PC streaming. Whatever they're doing on the PS3 client the quality is much higher than anywhere else. I can look later if I have time and try to find one that has DD+.
__________________
HTPC1:W8.1 Pro, I7 3770k, GTX 680, Pioneer Elite SC-65
HTPC2:W8.1 Pro, I5 2400s, GTS 450, Pioneer Elite VX21-THX
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.