Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th December 2010, 17:10   #8861  |  Link
Plugged Up
DOA
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
What about me. Anyone have an idea what I am doing wrong to make a great MKV encode stop short?
Plugged Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2010, 18:16   #8862  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilex View Post
Hi just had a quick question....sorry if im derailing =/ Was wondering why my fps when encoding starts out strong at about 30fps+ but slowly gets lower and lower and ends up around 10-12fps by the end of the encode. Only thing i really like about handbrake is that it stays at about 25+fps for me at all times. Bad thing is my output mp4's never work for some reason so i just stick with ripbot. Any ideas? I use the default hd 4.0 format converting to mp4, running an i7-920 at 3.8ghz just fyi. Thanks to anyone who responds.
in 2 pass mode the fps will be higher in the first pass because it's kinda just doing a test run to get an idea of the movie before it does the actual encode (pass2).

in either mode (cq / 2 pass) it will start out a little faster for a couple of reasons. it hasn't done enough processing to give an accurate, overall, average fps, and the first part of most movies is opening credits / less intense video. so it will be able to process that faster than the latter parts.
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 02:44   #8863  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
-Plugged Up
your encode stops at 12.57%?
is the drive where your ripbot temp folder resides almost full? if it runs out of space it'll just stop encoding
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 04:23   #8864  |  Link
Plugged Up
DOA
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
I have a few hundred gig still available. It just stops with a perfect encode at 12.57 time. The movie is shutter island and handbreak which seems to work oKay with most stuff is crashing when encoding so it might be the source file. I am going to try some other files now and let you know what happens.


Quote:
Originally Posted by pacaveli211 View Post
-Plugged Up
your encode stops at 12.57%?
is the drive where your ripbot temp folder resides almost full? if it runs out of space it'll just stop encoding
Plugged Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 04:59   #8865  |  Link
Rorix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
I'm having trouble encoding any video. The resultant file plays but the video is always full black but the audio plays fine. This is the case for all videos I've tried. Anyone know what the problem could be?

Last edited by Rorix; 15th December 2010 at 06:45.
Rorix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 06:51   #8866  |  Link
zazon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 64
Can anyone tell me what the resolution is for a 4:3 and 1.66:1 films when I'm doing the auto cropping? I tried doing 1440x1080 for the 4:3, film, but it looks wider than it should be. Thanks for any help.
zazon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 09:27   #8867  |  Link
Lighto
The Black Reaper
 
Lighto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 320
Hey Atak, I was wondering if it would be possible to add in an "All files (*.*)" option in the drop down list when selecting for files to be encoded in the next version.

The current RipBot only allow files with supported extension to be selected.


The reason why I am suggesting this is so that advanced users can actually use RipBot to encode files that are not officially supported yet.
For example .m4v and .3gp.

For unsupported format, RipBot doesn't extract the audio stream.
Advanced users can then select the audio stream they extracted themselves.

I believe as a programmer, some of the concerns will be that it might lead to unexpected exceptions to happen.

However, I hope that you consider this feature request and tell me what are your thoughts about it.
Lighto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 10:09   #8868  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,242
@lighto
change extension to .mp4

Quote:
I tried doing 1440x1080 for the 4:3, film, but it looks wider than it should be.
don't crop black borders because ripbot will always flag 1440x1080 (and also 1280x1080) as 16:9!
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 10:55   #8869  |  Link
Lighto
The Black Reaper
 
Lighto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 320
@Atak
Why didn't I think of that?
Thanks!
Lighto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2010, 03:29   #8870  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 506
I'm encoding early 1990s cartoons, flat colors, very little shading, thin line drawings.

A few years ago, Megui had a profile for cartoons, but RipBot264 doesn't seem to have any different options except which level.

I think psyrd should be off for cartoons, but it is enabled. I'm using 3.0 SD/CQ20, IVTC, Decimate to 23.96, and color correction from the gui.

Is RipBot264 okay for this encoding? Are there other profiles that would work better? I'm not well versed in x264 options, and have to rely on those better informed. Thanks for the help.

Code:
cabac=1 / ref=3 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x1:0x131 / me=umh / subme=7 / psy=1 /
psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 /
8x8dct=0 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 /
threads=6 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / constrained_intra=0 /
bframes=3 / b_pyramid=0 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / weightb=1 /
open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=240 / keyint_min=24 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 /
rc_lookahead=40 / rc=crf / mbtree=1 / crf=20.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 /
qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / vbv_maxrate=10000 / vbv_bufsize=10000 /
crf_max=0.0 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00 / nal_hrd=vbr
73ChargerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2010, 03:42   #8871  |  Link
Mr. Monte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 350
Is there a way to add avisynth filters to a RipBot folder and make them available when encoding...that will show up in preview?
Mr. Monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2010, 04:00   #8872  |  Link
Usedocne
lurkster
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: D9|D10
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73ChargerFan View Post
I'm encoding early 1990s cartoons, flat colors, very little shading, thin line drawings.

A few years ago, Megui had a profile for cartoons, but RipBot264 doesn't seem to have any different options except which level.

I think psyrd should be off for cartoons, but it is enabled. I'm using 3.0 SD/CQ20, IVTC, Decimate to 23.96, and color correction from the gui.

Is RipBot264 okay for this encoding? Are there other profiles that would work better? I'm not well versed in x264 options, and have to rely on those better informed. Thanks for the help.
Why not use --tune animation; Also, you can read up on x264 settings here.
Usedocne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2010, 01:14   #8873  |  Link
benjyv
Registered User
 
benjyv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 212
I wish you



benjyv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2010, 15:33   #8874  |  Link
legend63
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Hello, what 's the best Profile and/or settings to encode a blue ray to mkv about 9000 kb ?
Thanks.
legend63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2010, 17:28   #8875  |  Link
benjyv
Registered User
 
benjyv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 212
I've made up my mind to check for the first time the option " poster ".
In this case I've upped there a cover....
My question is : the poster option can be viewed ??? and in what circumstances or with what software??
benjyv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2010, 17:38   #8876  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by legend63 View Post
Hello, what 's the best Profile and/or settings to encode a blue ray to mkv about 9000 kb ?
Thanks.
they're blu-rays, not "blue ray". if you're looking to hit a target bitrate you should use 2-pass mode and set the bitrate.

if you mean 9000MB you'll want to use 2-pass mode and set that as the locked size.

if you don't really need to hit a target size / bitrate you should consider using the CQ mode (set at maybe 20 or so, you'll have to decide which setting works best for you. the lower the number the larger the encode / bitrate) and let x264 decide which is best for the movie.

Last edited by pacaveli211; 19th December 2010 at 18:05.
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2010, 18:18   #8877  |  Link
legend63
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacaveli211 View Post
they're blu-rays, not "blue ray". if you're looking to hit a target bitrate you should use 2-pass mode and set the bitrate.

if you mean 9000MB you'll want to use 2-pass mode and set that as the locked size.

if you don't really need to hit a target size / bitrate you should consider using the CQ mode (set at maybe 20 or so, you'll have to decide which setting works best for you. the lower the number the larger the encode / bitrate) and let x264 decide which is best for the movie.
opps meant as bitrate 9000.I normally use 2 pass bitrate to 9000 for 1080P and 5000 for the 720
i don't undestrand how to work the CQ and better if the double pass
many thanks.
legend63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2010, 23:36   #8878  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
the CQ is just a constant quality thing. in your situation it sounds like it'd be better.
some movies will need a higher bitrate to retain the same quality while a lower bitrate will suffice for other movies
so setting 9000kbps might limit it too much for some movies. the CQ mode will be able to determine when higher / lower bitrates are needed
it will also encode faster as it only needs to make 1 pass instead of two.
as for the profile itself the 4.0 profile will work fine for encoding bluray stuff to MKV
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2010, 02:51   #8879  |  Link
awake33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Oh well. . . .

You may as well give up
While I completely agree, and in fact use the same method as you and many others. I believe that Atak will never do this based solely on principle based on his personal dislike of the format. Why else would someone tout the more efficient FLAC, noting smaller file sizes as one of the perks. . .
and then immediately steer someone towards decompressing DTSHD into PCM or W64 files rather than just leave it be and save space!

His personal opinion seems to over-ride sensibility here IMO. I personally need this format because my media streamers do not play multi-channel flac/wavs in MKV or M2TS files.

The funny part is, I'm pretty sure it requires less coding within the GUI backend to allow the stream to be extracted as is than to convert it to another format.

So demuxing with Tsmuxer and remuxing with the final encodes is our only choice if we want to use his superior software package.

Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidskin76 View Post
@Atak,

I know you are against using TrueHD/DTS-HD, and go the route of flac, however i thought i would beg again!

Please would you reconsider, and add support for retaining TrueHD/DTS-HD audio? I'm sure there are plenty of users out there who have to go the long route of encoding video with RipBot, demuxing TrueHD/DTS-HD, remuxing the lot to MKV.

Of course, there are other video encoding tools out there that can do this, however as a compliment to you, i'm only interested in using RipBot!

You could save people a stack of time! Surely this is a legit feature request and would be well served?

Many thanks
awake33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2010, 07:11   #8880  |  Link
benjyv
Registered User
 
benjyv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 212
How the " poster " option can be viewed ??? and in what circumstances or with what software??
benjyv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
264, 265, appletv, avchd, bluray, gui, iphone, ipod, ps3, psp, ripbot264, x264 2-pass, x264 gui, x264_64, x265, xbox360

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.