Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd August 2010, 19:39   #121  |  Link
Underground78
Registered User
 
Underground78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: France
Posts: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
Thanks for the information. When playing a file in MPC-HC how can I verify that the LAVFSplitter is being used?
Right click during playback, then go into Filters submenu and find the lastest entry, click on Properties, if it starts by "Filter : lavf dshow source filter" then it is really LAVFSplitter which is used.
Underground78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2010, 20:42   #122  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,743
LAVFSplitter 0.6
- Added support for E-AC3
- Fixed MPEG2 Media Types
- Added support for RealVideo in MKV
- Set proper aspect ratio in media type
- Fixed memory leaks in packet handling code
- Unicode support for stream names
- Threading changes for more fluid playback at startup
- Changed Flushing behaviour that solves a conflict with the MS DTV-DVD Decoder
- Better support for Vorbis audio
- Registers for the OGG Container Format

Download: 32-bit & 64-bit

Note: The filename of the filter has changed, so you'll need to re-register it. This will also register it for the OGG format, which seems to work pretty good so far.

Please test! The stuttering on startup should be much better now, and hopefully some of the crash issues fixed.

Additionally i patched MPC-HC to properly forward Media Type changes on subtitles to downstream filters, this will require at least MPC-HC rev. 2298 to work properly if you use ffdshow for subtitles.
ffdshow was also updated to properly handle UTF-8 subtitles send by LAVFSplitter, this is in ffdshow rev. 3537. Please make sure to have both these components updated to at least these revisions before reporting subtitle related issues, thanks!
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2010, 20:43   #123  |  Link
Underground78
Registered User
 
Underground78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: France
Posts: 539
Thanks !

I have been playing with the code today and I wonder why you choose to use avg_frame_rate rather than r_frame_rate ?

I have few samples (TS File mostly) whose frame rate was incorrectly detected by LAVFSplitter but not by VLC and mplayer. I saw that r_frame_rate was correct so I had a look to VLC and mplayer source code and they do use r_frame_rate rather than avg_frame_rate. I modified a bit the code to do more testing and so far all the samples I have tested have worked.

Also I have been tracking down a bug with incorrect aspect ratio with some TS file but it is highly strange, ffprobe does detect the AR correctly but using a debug build of LAVFSplitter I see that the aspect ratio is not detected. I use ffprobe compiled at the same time than the libs used by the splitter and looking at ffprobe code I can't see why it does not work.

Last edited by Underground78; 22nd August 2010 at 20:48.
Underground78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2010, 20:50   #124  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,743
r_frame_rate was set to 24.000 fps on some 23.976 movies, which seemed a bit weird, and avg_frame_rate contained the proper rates.
I can change it back if avg_frame_rate is broken in many cases.
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2010, 21:21   #125  |  Link
Underground78
Registered User
 
Underground78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: France
Posts: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
r_frame_rate was always set to 24.000 fps on 23.976 movies, which seemed a bit weird, and avg_frame_rate contained the proper rates.
I can change it back if avg_frame_rate is broken in many cases.
I tried some 23.976 movies and it works so I don't know what is best ...

About the aspect ratio problem, looking at VLC and mplayer, it seems something like this could make sense :

Code:
diff --git a/src/Demuxers/LAVFGuidHelper.cpp b/src/Demuxers/LAVFGuidHelper.cpp
index 06dae3d..ddfa505 100644
--- a/src/Demuxers/LAVFGuidHelper.cpp
+++ b/src/Demuxers/LAVFGuidHelper.cpp
@@ -311,11 +311,17 @@ VIDEOINFOHEADER2 *CLAVFGuidHelper::CreateVIH2(const AVStream* avstream, ULONG *s
 
   // Calculate aspect ratio
   AVRational r = avstream->sample_aspect_ratio;
+  AVRational rc = avstream->codec->sample_aspect_ratio;
   if (r.den > 0 && r.num > 0 && (r.den > 1 || r.num > 1)) {
     int num = 0, den = 0;
     av_reduce(&num, &den, (int64_t)r.num * vih->bmiHeader.biWidth, (int64_t)r.den * vih->bmiHeader.biHeight, 255);
     vih2->dwPictAspectRatioX = num;
     vih2->dwPictAspectRatioY = den;
+  } else if (rc.den > 0 && rc.num > 0 && (rc.den > 1 || rc.num > 1)) {
+    int num = 0, den = 0;
+    av_reduce(&num, &den, (int64_t)rc.num * vih->bmiHeader.biWidth, (int64_t)rc.den * vih->bmiHeader.biHeight, 255);
+    vih2->dwPictAspectRatioX = num;
+    vih2->dwPictAspectRatioY = den;
   } else {
     vih2->dwPictAspectRatioX = vih->bmiHeader.biWidth;
     vih2->dwPictAspectRatioY = vih->bmiHeader.biHeight;
VLC always uses codec->sample_aspect_ratio and mplayer uses it as a fall-back if sample_aspect_ratio fails. It fixes some of the aspect ratio problems I have.
Underground78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2010, 21:25   #126  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,743
As a fallback looks good, i can surely add this.

Edit: Commited to Git

Last edited by nevcairiel; 22nd August 2010 at 21:32.
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2010, 21:49   #127  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,523
MPC-HC_r2300
ffdshow_rev3540
LAVFSplitter 0.6
madVR 0.27

If I right click and select filters it shows:

Default DirectSound Device
madVR Renderer
ffdshow Audio Decoder
Audio - AC3, 5.1, 48000 Hz (libavcodec)
ffdshow Video Decoder
English (ac3, 48000 Hz, 5.1, s16, 640 kb/s)
Any idea why the Video Decoder is being listed as such?
rack04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2010, 21:50   #128  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,743
Thats ffdshow being funny. Don't ask me why they show it there, but well, they just do.
I never understood why, and last time i asked i just got yelled at, go try your luck

As a quick note, don't use the ffdshow menu to change streams, it somehow makes everything break with the splitter.
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2010, 21:50   #129  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
Some limited testing with 0.6:

- MKVs with TrueHD tracks freeze, but the timer goes on.
- MKVs with subs start like before in the No subs option. However, if you turn them on, they'll be displayed ~5-15 secs, or even more, after they should. Seeking fixes the delay. You can see it with the Avatar sample I posted earlier, but it's a bit short.
- E-AC3 works fine.
- Stuttering at startup seems fixed
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2010, 21:57   #130  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
- MKVs with subs start like before in the No subs option. However, if you turn them on, they'll be displayed ~5-15 secs, or even more, after they should. Seeking fixes the delay. You can see it with the Avatar sample I posted earlier, but it's a bit short.
I noticed the delay too, but i thought i only saw it with the MPC-HC internal renderer. Anyhow, not sure what is causing this, will try to debug it later.
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2010, 00:02   #131  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
These two issues didn't happen with 0.5, so it has to be something in between the two versions.
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2010, 07:13   #132  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
These two issues didn't happen with 0.5, so it has to be something in between the two versions.
Thanks, i have an idea what to look for then.

Last edited by nevcairiel; 23rd August 2010 at 09:52.
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2010, 12:58   #133  |  Link
hoborg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
Looks like 0.6 fixed a lot of issues, good work!

This time i tested some simple audio formats - *.MP3, *.FLAC, *.DTS, *.OGG, and various audio in MKV kontainer (*.MKA). All formats create correct graph, but if i hit play, Graphstudio crash (all formats).
__________________
Working machine: Win10x64 + Intel Skull Canyon
My HTPC.

How to start with Bitcoin

Last edited by hoborg; 23rd August 2010 at 13:02.
hoborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2010, 13:00   #134  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,743
Files without video?

I'm not sure i fixed playing files without a video stream yet, i'll put it on the list, thanks for testing =)
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2010, 13:01   #135  |  Link
hoborg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Files without video?
Yes, audio only.
__________________
Working machine: Win10x64 + Intel Skull Canyon
My HTPC.

How to start with Bitcoin
hoborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2010, 13:06   #136  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,743
I suppose i can add their media types as well when i fixed that, eh.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2010, 16:17   #137  |  Link
hubblec4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 660
i miss a trayicon in the toolbar to change the audio,- or subtitlestreams like in the haali splitter.

is it possible to get this feature in future?
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2010, 16:25   #138  |  Link
liquidskin76
Registered User
 
liquidskin76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
- MKVs with TrueHD tracks freeze, but the timer goes on.
I see something similar, in that TrueHD movies stutter like mad.

The good news is that the stuttering at the start of other vids has gone!

Thanks nev for your hard work.
liquidskin76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2010, 16:41   #139  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,743
Yeah, i see that TrueHD issue. Not sure whats up with that. The other splitters i looked at just treat it as normal AC3 and it works just fine. I'll debug more.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2010, 17:17   #140  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,743
I fixed a bug that caused my TrueHD sample to not play at all (and probably some other streams as well), but turns out the bitstream must be broken somehow, when decoded its full of artifacts.
Mine was from a retail bluray, so it could just be the TS demuxer being broken again. I should remux a short sample into mkv or find one to test with.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.