Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st June 2010, 14:43   #10061  |  Link
Nando1970
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
It is on my to do list - like so many other things I'd like to add to eac3to. I'm currently lacking time, though.
madshi would you consider to open-source eac3to?
There might be people out there willing to contribute development time.

Thank you anyway for your great tool

ciao -- Nando
Nando1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2010, 12:56   #10062  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinTime View Post
A bit more info - I've been looking further into the problem I reported with reducing the bitdepth of 24 bit audio.
Thanks, that's helpful!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nando1970 View Post
madshi would you consider to open-source eac3to?
No.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2010, 12:58   #10063  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
eac3to v3.20 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

Code:
* fixed 3D demuxing (argh)
Stupid bug, was demuxing the left eye stream for both left and right eye.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2010, 03:18   #10064  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
regarding 3d remuxing, wouldnt it be better to have both streams output in seperate .mkv files instead of the raw .h264 streams? i remember you said its better to remux to .mkv instead of demuxing the stream, because then some parameters or other stuff in the chain could get lost or something like that.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2010, 05:07   #10065  |  Link
Frank K Abbott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 69
I'm curious to know, are there even any 3D Blu Ray's in the market?
Frank K Abbott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2010, 07:08   #10066  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,272
@Frank K Abbott

Apparently so:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...11#post1394311
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2010, 08:00   #10067  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
regarding 3d remuxing, wouldnt it be better to have both streams output in seperate .mkv files instead of the raw .h264 streams?
Haali's Matroska Muxer doesn't seem to like the right eye stream, so that's not possible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
i remember you said its better to remux to .mkv instead of demuxing the stream, because then some parameters or other stuff in the chain could get lost or something like that.
Well, muxing to a container is better only if there are overlaps or gaps in the video stream. I've never seen that with Blu-Ray yet. It might happen for broadcasts, especially when there are recording glitches, though.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2010, 11:58   #10068  |  Link
volence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29
I'm sorry if there had been similar question before, since the thread is too long for me to go through.
I want to know can eac3to convert 6.1 and 7.1 ch TrueHD audio to aac? I think I'm using the last free version of Nero AAC, and it tells me Nero doesn't support 6.1ch or higher. Is there any way to encode 6.1 AAC with eac3to (using freeware)?
volence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2010, 23:26   #10069  |  Link
ramicio
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: PA, US
Posts: 684
would a numerical progress indicator be feasible? i have my windows larger with a different font than default so i have no idea how far along the file is.
ramicio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2010, 00:32   #10070  |  Link
Momber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 217
It's prollly just cosmetic, but why does eac3to insist there is a newer version of Haali available, when there really isn't?

Momber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2010, 01:02   #10071  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
Because that's how the website shows it.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2010, 06:41   #10072  |  Link
Momber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 217
But that's where I have it from....
Momber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2010, 06:51   #10073  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
So what are you confused about? File date say one thing, website says another.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2010, 17:18   #10074  |  Link
stasi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by volence View Post
I'm sorry if there had been similar question before, since the thread is too long for me to go through.
I want to know can eac3to convert 6.1 and 7.1 ch TrueHD audio to aac? I think I'm using the last free version of Nero AAC, and it tells me Nero doesn't support 6.1ch or higher. Is there any way to encode 6.1 AAC with eac3to (using freeware)?
If you have more than 6 channels, you have to encode to FLAC. Nero AAC is limited to 6 channels.
stasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2010, 18:58   #10075  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,047
FlaCuda

There is a nice Flac CUDA compression implementation here:

http://cuetools.net/doku.php/flacuda

and source too.

Do you think could be feasible to implement it in the next version?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2010, 19:31   #10076  |  Link
komisar
Registered User
 
komisar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Posts: 235
FlaCuda:
"Bits per sample must be 16."
ChannelCount must be 2.
__________________
..::[I am live here]..::..[My x264 CLI/VFW builds and tools]::..
komisar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2010, 00:40   #10077  |  Link
nibus
Telewhining
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by stasi View Post
If you have more than 6 channels, you have to encode to FLAC. Nero AAC is limited to 6 channels.
I thought AAC supported 7.1 as long as you use the Arcsoft decoder. It doesn't support 6.1 so it doubles the last track.
nibus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2010, 03:10   #10078  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
AAC has nothing to do with ArcSoft's decoder.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2010, 11:10   #10079  |  Link
Laurent
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 35
Hi

When handling HD-DVD, I discovered that the chapter timestamps are wrong. On the first chapters, the timing is ok or almost ok, and then the difference grows up with the next chapters, leading to several seconds on the last chapters. The chapter jump leads to a position before the real position.
Could it be a bug in eac3to ?
Could it be something relative to pulldown removal ? (29.976 to 23.976)
Is there a solution to correct that ?

PS: I have to mention that I notice this problem after producing AVCHD discs with multiAVCHD, so the problem could be either with eac3to or with multiAVCHD. But as I already noticed the same thing with MKV production, I think it could be more in relation with eac3to actions.
Laurent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2010, 12:44   #10080  |  Link
TinTime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurent View Post
Hi

When handling HD-DVD, I discovered that the chapter timestamps are wrong. On the first chapters, the timing is ok or almost ok, and then the difference grows up with the next chapters, leading to several seconds on the last chapters. The chapter jump leads to a position before the real position.
Could it be a bug in eac3to ?
Do the timestamps in the chapter text file produced by eac3to match the timestamps in the HD DVD xml file? If so then the problem isn't with eac3to.
TinTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.