Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th January 2010, 00:45   #1  |  Link
mrwhitethc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 96
Another PAL - NTSC

Hey guys, been doing a lot of these lately so I can watch them on my bluray player since it only likes NTSC dvd's. Anyway I've been able to do most of them with the DGPulldown trick but this one has me stumped.

Here's the sample:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/7x9cz4

It has a few, maybe 12 frames interlaced and then about 12 frames progressive. Anyone ever seen this before?

Thanks in advance.
mrwhitethc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2010, 02:01   #2  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
It's the hard telecined equivalent of DGPulldown, i.e., film rate is pulled down to PAL using field duplication twice per second.

Try this:

assumebff()
telecide()
decimate(25)
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2010, 03:29   #3  |  Link
mrwhitethc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 96
Thanks Neuron2,

Question, for some reason when I use telecide() I get a flickering green bar at the bottom of the screen. However if I use this:

TFM(d2v="pal.d2v")
Tdecimate(rate=25)
crop( 12, 4, -12, 0)
Spline36Resize(720,480)

It works, and gives me the same framecount/length in VirtualDub no green line. So I encode this, which is at 24fps, not 23.976fps, and then us DGPulldown in 24fps -> 29.976 mode and then mux in the original ac3 no stretching needed, is that correct?
mrwhitethc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2010, 04:14   #4  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwhitethc View Post
Question, for some reason when I use telecide() I get a flickering green bar at the bottom of the screen.
I don't. Perhaps it has to do with your crop/resize and their place in the script. Plus, your crop and resize mess up the aspect ratio. Try this:

assumebff()#make sure when using the whole movie, it's also really BFF
telecide()
decimate(25)
crop( 10, 4, -12, 0)
Spline36Resize(704,480)
AddBorders(8,0,8,0)

When you use this:

TFM(d2v="pal.d2v")
Tdecimate(rate=25)

don't you get 20fps? If you want to use TIVTC, try this:

TFM(d2v="pal.d2v")
TDecimate(Mode=0,Cycle=25,CycleR=1)

Also, that source has horribly crushed blacks and blown whites which I would try and fix. Your use of DGPulldown and not stretching the audio is correct.
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2010, 04:45   #5  |  Link
mrwhitethc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 96
Thanks for the aspect ratio tip manono, weird if I use:

TFM(d2v="pal.d2v")
Tdecimate(rate=25)

with the clip I posted it is 20fps but if I use it with the whole film it's 24fps. No sure how to go about fixing the color problems. The greenbar could be something with my windows 7 install, I won't be able to get to an xp machine until tomorrow.
mrwhitethc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.