Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th January 2010, 21:14   #10261  |  Link
Elbart_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tal.aloni View Post
it will again with 3195+
Yes, with 3200, ffmpeg-mt works again. Thanks to devs and helpers!
Elbart_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2010, 21:23   #10262  |  Link
deets
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: london, england
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by CiNcH View Post
Seems both, H.264 and VC-1 DXVA decoders, have no NALU/Access Unit parser, so they expect the source/splitter/demuxer filter to deliver exactly one NALU/Access Unit per MediaSample.
this being the same reason we cant use MPC DXVA for live streams either?
deets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2010, 23:04   #10263  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,655
The normal ffdshow decoder is also lacking a full parser for access units.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2010, 23:28   #10264  |  Link
Ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 192
Perhaps, but whatever haruhiko added in 2008 when he worked with CiNcH & co was enough to make the ffdshow software decoder work well with live DVB streams.

We (DVB users) have been hoping that Casimir would add this to the MPC-HC DXVA decoder for a while, like haruhiko did for the ffdshow software part. But if albain could add this to ffdshow's DXVA decoder (would be very much appreciated) then I think it would be possible to use ffdshow for most/all DVB channels/streams. At least for video.

For audio (separate issue) I don't think LATM encapsulated HE-AAC is suported in ffdshow. Not the most common format in DVB streams, but it's used in some countries like Norway and New Zealand. ffdshow doesn't show up as an option for AAC decoder in DVBViewer, and neither the Haali nor the Gabest/MPC-HC TS splitter seems to ID the audio track correctly. Monogram AAC decoder + DVBViewer works fine, as does VLC. I can provide a sample TS recording AVC + LATM/HE-AAC from Norwegian DVB-T if anyone wants to look into it, but I think the TS splitters must be worked on first.
Ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 00:08   #10265  |  Link
crlorentzen
Audio Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: East Coast, USA.
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiFa View Post
I tried newest revision (3200), and everything works! I have no problems with AC3 or DTS passthrough or AC3 encoder.
Thanks to everyone who works with ffdshow and got these problems solved.
agreed, 3200 works perfectly. I don't even need to use the Connect as PCM first check box and all acs/dts pass-through works perfectly. Thanks to all especially you albain.
crlorentzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 05:26   #10266  |  Link
iron2000
Questioning User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 163
3200 works ok here too but with DXVA the picture slows down and explodes to artifacts on seek.
Happens on both 32-bit and 64-bit versions.
__________________
8 Pro x64 | i5-3470 | 8GB ram | GT430 | Xonar DX | MPC-HC x86

Last edited by iron2000; 13th January 2010 at 05:48.
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 06:09   #10267  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by iron2000 View Post
3200 works ok here too but with DXVA the picture slows down and explodes to artifacts on seek.
Happens on both 32-bit and 64-bit versions.
If you open ffdshow video decoder, decoder options.
Then uncheck these two boxes: Detect soft telecine, Drop frame on delay.
Then try out your test clip where the picture goes funny, is the picture still garbled?

__________________
When I get tired during work with dvd stuff i think of River Tamm (Summer Glau's character). And the beauty that is Serenity.
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 09:33   #10268  |  Link
CiNcH
Registered User
 
CiNcH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 567
Quote:
The normal ffdshow decoder is also lacking a full parser for access units.
True for VC-1, not for H.264.
__________________
Bye
CiNcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 12:26   #10269  |  Link
iron2000
Questioning User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Duncan View Post
If you open ffdshow video decoder, decoder options.
Then uncheck these two boxes: Detect soft telecine, Drop frame on delay.
Then try out your test clip where the picture goes funny, is the picture still garbled?
Thanks but the problem only happens with the DXVA decoder.
Will changing the settings in the non-DXVA decoder affect it?
Even if I wanted to change the settings, the profile that calls the DXVA decoder doesn't have the decoder options.

I've set ffdshow such that it plays video with resolution equals of larger than my desktop resolution with the DXVA decoder.
Playback is very nice as always with the non-DXVA decoder.
__________________
8 Pro x64 | i5-3470 | 8GB ram | GT430 | Xonar DX | MPC-HC x86
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 12:53   #10270  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
That's right, the decoder options are not available in DXVA decoder but I don't know if they are used or usable : the options are not accessible but the settings are present (they are set to default).
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 14:44   #10271  |  Link
Elbart_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Hm, weird.
After rebooting because of the Windows-update, I tried to play an AVC-video, and ffmpeg-mt again wasn't working (libavcodec did), although it did before the reboot. After reinstalling 3200, it worked again. I wonder, why it's only ffmpeg-mt which has these problems?
Elbart_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 15:08   #10272  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Can we remove the following option in FFDShow audio output section ?

"Don't use WAVEFORMATEXTENSIBLE header when not needed"

I don't see the interest of keeping it, this doesn't mean anything by the way
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 15:39   #10273  |  Link
tal.aloni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 496
Intel has recently posted an article about copying DXVA decoded frame from the portion of the memory that belongs to the GPU back to the system RAM.

this could mean we will be able to apply all post processing filters after utilizing DXVA decoding. (except maybe the resize filter)
we're still not sure if this could be applied for DXVA 1.0 as well, we do have some interesting ideas.

albain has volunteered (again) to try and implement it.

link:
http://software.intel.com/en-us/arti...frame-buffers/

p.s.
the memory bandwidth required to process 1080p24 that way seems easily obtainable.

Last edited by tal.aloni; 13th January 2010 at 15:45.
tal.aloni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 16:07   #10274  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
Yay!
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 16:25   #10275  |  Link
iron2000
Questioning User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Duncan View Post
If you open ffdshow video decoder, decoder options.
Then uncheck these two boxes: Detect soft telecine, Drop frame on delay.
Then try out your test clip where the picture goes funny, is the picture still garbled?
I disabled both options from the DXVA profile through the registry but the artifects on seek is still there.
__________________
8 Pro x64 | i5-3470 | 8GB ram | GT430 | Xonar DX | MPC-HC x86
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 17:08   #10276  |  Link
tal.aloni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 496
H.264 DXVA seeking artifacts happens for me too, probably the decoder does not wait for an I frame. I'll have a look.
tal.aloni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 17:13   #10277  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
How's seeking speed compared to software decoding and MPC's DXVA, specially if you seek to B frames? My PC has been on repairs for quite some time and I haven't tested ffdshow's DXVA yet.
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 17:23   #10278  |  Link
tetsuo55
MPC-HC Project Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by tal.aloni View Post
Intel has recently posted an article about copying DXVA decoded frame from the portion of the memory that belongs to the GPU back to the system RAM.

this could mean we will be able to apply all post processing filters after utilizing DXVA decoding. (except maybe the resize filter)
we're still not sure if this could be applied for DXVA 1.0 as well, we do have some interesting ideas.

albain has volunteered (again) to try and implement it.

link:
http://software.intel.com/en-us/arti...frame-buffers/

p.s.
the memory bandwidth required to process 1080p24 that way seems easily obtainable.
keep in mind this only works for DXVA2 and thus vista and higher, so DXVA1 will not work.(although some things could be done in shaders)
__________________
MPC-HC, an open source project everyone can improve. Want to help? Test Nightly Builds, submit patches or bugs and chat on IRC
tetsuo55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 17:37   #10279  |  Link
tal.aloni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 496
I have no reason to think it would not work on DXVA1,
according to MSDN, we can use DXVA 1.0's GetBuffer() with 0xFFFFFFFF to get the pointer to the decoded buffer, copy to RAM (using the above method), apply post processing (except resize of course) and the question remains if we can copy it back to the GPU memory.
(as alternative to the last stage, we can also use VMR9's AllocatorPresenter to override the original image completely)

Last edited by tal.aloni; 13th January 2010 at 17:48.
tal.aloni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 18:32   #10280  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
That's right, the decoder options are not available in DXVA decoder but I don't know if they are used or usable : the options are not accessible but the settings are present (they are set to default).
It would be intersting if you made a build with both video decoders: dxva and regular video decoder, use the settings I recommended where you uncheck those options.

That way there would be no mistake that this would help or not.

I have updated the ffdshow wiki in the sw section. I showed how visual studio basic, the free version, can make ffdshow.ax. I showed how to fix the error "'atlbase.h': No such file or directory" when using the free visual studio, and I built a ffdshow installer to verify that you can.

So if somebody wants to learn how it won't cost them anything.

link
__________________
When I get tired during work with dvd stuff i think of River Tamm (Summer Glau's character). And the beauty that is Serenity.
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.