Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th November 2009, 05:55   #1  |  Link
MCSmarties
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 26
VirtualDub(Mod) keeps crashing and you can't figure out why? Read this!

This is not a request for help but some information I would like to share with the community.

Lately I have been having serious trouble backing up DVDs to DivX / XviD movies. Anytime VirtualDub or VirtualDubMod would start encoding a video (even just for a compressibility test), it would crash.

No matter whether I used AutoGK, Gordian Knot, VirtualDub or VirtualDubMod, uninstalled and reinstalled the programs, removed all codecs, installed new codecs, old codecs, indivually, as a pack,
encode with DivX and even DivX ;-) 3.11, encode with XviD, encode with x264, turn the AVIFile proxy on or off... nothing I tried would work!

Windows would give one the following error messages:

Code:
"VirtualDubMod has encountered an error and needs to close".

"Instruction at "XXXXXXXXX" has referred to memory at "XXXXXXXXX". Memory can't be "read". Press "OK" to close VirtualDubMod"
Looking through the log files, I would also get different messages. Unfortunately I don't remember all of the messages I'd get (there were at least 3 or 4 different ones), but I do remember the following two:

Code:
"frames.log cannot be found"

"(...).stats file is in use"
Most frustrating of all was that sometimes the movie would start encoding but crash at a random point later.

Despite searching every video help forum I could find and following all kinds of suggestions, nothing would help.

Sounds familiar? I stumbled by chance on the solution, which I haven't found posted anywhere:

The culprit may be Microsoft Visual C++!

I found that I had both Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 and Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 installed. Once I uninstalled the 2005 version - bingo, everything worked again!
I believe that I ended up with two versions of Visual C++ after I installed the (ubiquitous) ffdshow codec.

Hope this may help some other desperate souls.
MCSmarties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2009, 06:19   #2  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCSmarties View Post
I believe that I ended up with two versions of Visual C++ after I installed the (ubiquitous) ffdshow codec.
LOL!

Are you talking about the runtime support?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2009, 00:01   #3  |  Link
MCSmarties
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 26
@neuron2 - yeah, that's what I meant. *rolleyes*

Laugh if you want to - I'm the first to admit that my situation was pretty stupid - but since nothing in my errors pointed at the Visual C++ runtime as being the culprit, it was a really frustrating situation to be in. Just thought it might help some other poor sod in the same situation...
MCSmarties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2009, 00:38   #4  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
I was laughing because usually when people say Visual C++ they refer to the development environment. So I was wondering why ffdshow installed the Visual C++ development environment (GUI, compiler, etc.)

So what were the names of the file(s) you actually deleted?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2009, 17:57   #5  |  Link
MCSmarties
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 26
I simply uninstalled the Visual C++ 2005 runtime from the Add/Remove programs in the XP Control Panel.

I think I vaguely saw C++ being referred to in a forum together with AVI processing (no reference to VirtualDub)
so I guess that's what made me look it up. In the end it was pretty much down to luck.
MCSmarties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2009, 18:31   #6  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,626
Many programs require those runtimes. You should not uninstall the 2005 one because you already have the 2008 one. They are completely independent runtimes. You need the 2005 one for programs compiled with Visual Studio 2005, and the 2008 one for stuff compiled with Visual Studio 2008.

Your problem was likely caused by a damaged installation or a corrupt file.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crash, error, frames.log, virtualdub, visual c++

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.