Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th November 2009, 23:14   #9181  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
I can't connect ffdshow to MPC audio renderer.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 01:02   #9182  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Flowerday View Post
Bitstreaming won't work with your iGPU, if that is what you are trying to do? You would need the new 5 series ATI or Xonar HDAV 1.3.
Someone here says he's got DD+ bitstreaming working with an Nvidia GT220 card, which should have the same HDMI device as the 8200/8300 and 9300/9400. Anyone else got DD+ working? I haven't seen it mentioned here, maybe I missed it.
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 01:03   #9183  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post
Someone here says he's got DD+ bitstreaming working with an Nvidia GT220 card, which should have the same HDMI device as the 8200/8300 and 9300/9400. Anyone else got DD+ working? I haven't seen it mentioned here, maybe I missed it.
I've mentioned several times that DD+ crashes MPC-HC and GraphStudio for me. Awesome. So no, I haven't gotten that to work.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 12:16   #9184  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post
Someone here says he's got DD+ bitstreaming working with an Nvidia GT220 card
No, he did not. He's got DD bitstreaming working.

I still don't think that DTS-HD, TrueHD and E-AC3 bitstreaming will ever work on anything other than ATI 5xxx and Xonar (and maybe next year's new NVidia generation), but I'll be happy enough if albain proves me wrong...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 16:01   #9185  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
No, he did not. He's got DD bitstreaming working.

I still don't think that DTS-HD, TrueHD and E-AC3 bitstreaming will ever work on anything other than ATI 5xxx and Xonar (and maybe next year's new NVidia generation), but I'll be happy enough if albain proves me wrong...
Have faith.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 17:35   #9186  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
I've mentioned several times that DD+ crashes MPC-HC and GraphStudio for me. Awesome. So no, I haven't gotten that to work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
No, he did not. He's got DD bitstreaming working.

I still don't think that DTS-HD, TrueHD and E-AC3 bitstreaming will ever work on anything other than ATI 5xxx and Xonar (and maybe next year's new NVidia generation), but I'll be happy enough if albain proves me wrong...
Yeah, someone pointed that out at that thread. I had the HD-DVD version of Corpse Bride in my head, so I didn't notice the context menu languages/formats.
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 17:37   #9187  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Yup. No DD+ on that one. DD/DTS bitstreaming has been working for a while now (well, until the latest renderer change anyway). I'm hoping albain has some good ideas on how to fix the renderer so we can get bitstreaming working for HD codecs soon.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 19:31   #9188  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
There was some confusion on that thread, on my part as well. Trailergod first said he could get DD+ (right now waiting for his reply) and then I asked him what card he was using, then Nimo made that post I linked above in reply, in which he didn't mean DD+, just DD.
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 20:03   #9189  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Hi,

I am in a situation when the old renderer worked (with audio gaps/jitter) at least for AC3 and not the new one and I don't know why (luckily I have both sources):
http://damienbt.free.fr/MpcAudioRend...old_working.ax

Maybe you can try bitstream with the latest ffdshow I posted, otherwise you could try reclock too

Thanks

Last edited by albain; 14th November 2009 at 20:09.
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 20:27   #9190  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Didn't we already try the old renderer and we got no sound? And ReClock won't accept the bitstream formats. So, we're at an impasse.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 20:47   #9191  |  Link
mrcorbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 161
Yeah, this is something I can test....

Going back to the renderer that was in the beta 20 pack, I can get ac3 to bitstream with audio gaps and jitter, but only when DebugView is running. As before, this behavior is repeatable. Obviously, this is odd behavior. Maybe it's timing related?

My experience with the WASAPI+exclusive implementations of J. River Media Center, Foobar and ReClock show that WASAPI+exclusive is very sensitive to buffer size. To the degree that a buffer that is 1 ms too large can break it in J. River's implementation.
mrcorbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 20:48   #9192  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
James said the same thing in relation to ReClock, so, that's very possible as to what's going on.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 20:53   #9193  |  Link
mrcorbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 161
BTW - This last "old" renderer skips much worse than the beta 20 one. It still only bitstreams when DebugView is running, though.
mrcorbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 21:49   #9194  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
Hi,

I am in a situation when the old renderer worked (with audio gaps/jitter) at least for AC3 and not the new one and I don't know why (luckily I have both sources):
http://damienbt.free.fr/MpcAudioRend...old_working.ax

Maybe you can try bitstream with the latest ffdshow I posted, otherwise you could try reclock too

Thanks
I'm really confused.
Why do i try non-working renderers again?
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 00:17   #9195  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rica View Post
I'm really confused.
Why do i try non-working renderers again?
Well because FFDShow is now fixed : TMT and ffdshow streams are identical. We just miss a working renderer.

But now I remember that the old renderer was not able to dynamically change of media type.

James from Slysoft already gave me some tips. I also have a working sample app (but which does not use directshow)

Also if someone has hints/sample code I take it

Meanwhile I will go on trying different things until a clear sound comes out
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 00:21   #9196  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Hopefully you're able to figure it out soon.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 00:30   #9197  |  Link
mark0077
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,047
Hi thanks all for working so hard

it just strikes me though that should it be so tricky to get all of this working. What I mean is there not any specs available. Is this the reason why it is down to trial and error.

Keep up the good work albain
mark0077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 00:32   #9198  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
The fact that he got the bitstreaming support done is remarkable. It's just now how to pass through the bitstream to the receiver. For that you need a WASAPI audio renderer. That's easier said than done. He's working on it. Quite simply, what albain has accomplished so far is nothing short of amazing.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 01:30   #9199  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Nobody is helping albain but madhsi and james gives support to him.
So we are waiting as passive testers for the time being.

Last edited by rica; 15th November 2009 at 01:42.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 01:32   #9200  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Unfortunately I don't know anything about this kind of code. Madshi, James, and albain are the experts here. So yes, we're just waiting unfortunately. Wish I had the time to learn this code.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.