Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th October 2009, 09:12   #9361  |  Link
Tarnatos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Try to trace my IP ;-)
Posts: 3
timestretch

Hello,

why does eac3to don't maintain the tone pitch when in use the slowdown cmd?

The voices always sounds muffled!

I use Windows XP x64 - current eac3to version and libAv.
__________________
Greetings
-Tarnatos
Tarnatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2009, 09:39   #9362  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,296
eac3to is unable to process the 5.0 AC3 track from the Häxan Criterion Collection.

Here's the log:
Code:
eac3to v3.16
command line: eac3to.exe "f:haxan.ac3" f:\temp\captures\haxan_1922_audio2.m4a -quality=0.40 -normalize -down2
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AC3, 5.0 channels, 0:00:50, 384kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
Removing AC3 dialog normalization...
Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)...
DirectShow reports 5.0 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
Writing WAV...
Creating file "f:\temp\captures\haxan_1922_audio2.m4a.pass1.wav"...
Starting 2nd pass...
Reading WAV...
Reducing depth from 64 to 32 bits...
Encoding AAC <0.40> with NeroAacEnc...
The Nero AAC encoder aborted processing.  <ERROR>
[NeroAacEnc] ERROR: could not open AAC encoder
Aborted at file position 262144.  <ERROR>
Encoding the other two tracks (2.0) works just fine.

Here's a sample: http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=9...db6fb9a8902bda
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2009, 11:06   #9363  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
eac3to is unable to process the 5.0 AC3 track from the Häxan Criterion Collection.
...
Here's a sample: http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=9...db6fb9a8902bda
You don't need samples, is NeroAacEnc the culprit, can't encode 5.0 audio, must be 5.1
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2009, 11:18   #9364  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,296
But why doesn't the down2 parameter work?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2009, 11:20   #9365  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarnatos View Post
why does eac3to don't maintain the tone pitch when in use the slowdown cmd?
The method used don't maintain the pitch.

And madshi say is the correct method to convert the audio previously speedup to put in PAL DVD: recover the original pitch.

But if your audio is recorded with a PAL camera and want slowdown preserving the pitch you need use other method like TimeStretch(tempo=100.1/0.96) in AviSynth
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2009, 11:31   #9366  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
But why doesn't the down2 parameter work?
Sorry, I don't see your -down2 parameter.
Yes this is a eac3to problem, only downmix 5.1 audio.

If you have AviSynth you can try:
NicAc3Source("f:haxan.ac3", Channels=2)

the downmix is Dolby ProLogic, or other downmix options,
with SoundOut, Wavi, BeHappy or MeGUI methods
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2009, 20:51   #9367  |  Link
dchard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 53
eac3to with Arcsoft TMT 3

I am using the latest TotalMedia Theater (v3) platinum on win7 x64, and eac3to continously sais that the Arcsoft decoder is not installed.

Can anyone help me to solve this problem?

Dchard
dchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 03:53   #9368  |  Link
Nnoitra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nnoitra View Post
I notice that in some movies, like Kill Bill 1&2, forced subtitles are not detected. There is one big English subtitle track with all subs, and another much smaller track with just the forced subs, but eac3to does not detect it as forced (nor does any other tool like BDSupToSub). Yet standalone Blu-Ray players somehow figure this out... how?
Nobody knows the answer to this? There must be some flag in the BD structure somewhere that marks these files as forced that eac3to isn't checking.
Nnoitra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 23:06   #9369  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
I have the Criterion Kagemusha and it has 4 channel DTS MA. eac3to is unable to cope with it. It spits out various errors. I'm using Arcsoft. Any ideas? I can upload a sample if someone would be so kind as to describe in detail how to cut it (I'm a movie watching enthusiast, bit a programmer so I'm not familiar with the use of hex editors).
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 01:12   #9370  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,192
With a common tool you can extract the first MB:

VirtualDub -> Tools -> Hex Editor -> File (open the DTS file) -> Edit -> Extract segment -> 0 - 1000000 -> OK
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 01:48   #9371  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
With a common tool you can extract the first MB:

VirtualDub -> Tools -> Hex Editor -> File (open the DTS file) -> Edit -> Extract segment -> 0 - 1000000 -> OK
Thanks tebasuna.

Here's a sample: http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=c...5cbde7375ca78c

I hope someone can make heads or tails of it.

It's a sample of the entire m2ts BTW. If I need to upload just the DTS MA file I can do that too.
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 12:16   #9372  |  Link
TinTime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 403
Just tried your sample and it seems ok here. I decoded the DTS-MA to wav and all seems correct - 4 channels, correct channel mask.

What errors are you getting?
TinTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 13:39   #9373  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinTime View Post
Just tried your sample and it seems ok here. I decoded the DTS-MA to wav and all seems correct - 4 channels, correct channel mask.

What errors are you getting?
I cam decode to WAV also. Or at least I got eac3to to produce a WAV. I can't encode to AC3. Is AC3 only 2 and 6 channels? What other format can I use then?
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 14:02   #9374  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,192
You need use the external encoder Aften with the sintax, if the audio track is the second:
eac3to input.m2ts 2: stdout.wav | Aften -readtoeof 1 - output.ac3
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 14:49   #9375  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
You need use the external encoder Aften with the sintax, if the audio track is the second:
eac3to input.m2ts 2: stdout.wav | Aften -readtoeof 1 - output.ac3
Thanks tebasuna. But I can't seem to get it to work.

Code:
G:\the hive\software\video tools\eac3to\eac3to.exe F:\KAGEMUSHA 2: stdout.wav "C:\Program Files (x86)\megui\tools\aften\Aften.exe" -readtoeof 1 - F:\KAGEMUSHA\test.ac3
Nothing happens. What am I doing wrong?
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 15:04   #9376  |  Link
TinTime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 403
You haven't copied tebasuna51's command exactly (missing pipe), and you need quotes around paths / filenames containing spaces. Try...

Code:
"G:\the hive\software\video tools\eac3to\eac3to.exe" F:\KAGEMUSHA 2: stdout.wav | "C:\Program Files (x86)\megui\tools\aften\Aften.exe" -readtoeof 1 - F:\KAGEMUSHA\test.ac3
TinTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 15:55   #9377  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
OK. Making some progress here. Now I get this:

Code:
"G:\the hive\software\video tools\eac3to\eac3to.exe" F:\KAGEMUSH
A 2: stdout.wav | "C:\Program Files (x86)\megui\tools\aften\Aften.exe" -readtoeo
f 1 - F:\KAGEMUSHA\test.ac3

Aften: A/52 audio encoder
Version SVN
(c) 2006-2007 Justin Ruggles, Prakash Punnoor, et al.

input format: Raw PCM Signed 16-bit little-endian 48000 Hz mono
output format: 48000 Hz mono (1/0)

SIMD usage: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3
Threads: 4

progress: 100% | q: 532.0 | bw: 38.0 | bitrate: 96.0 kbps
And nothing else. That all happened right away. It immediately said progress 100%. So I'm assuming there's an error, or I did something wrong. The resulting ac3 is 384 bytes. Nothing is happening for over 20 minutes now. Are there some additional Aften parameters or something?

Thanks for all of the help tebasuna and TinTime.
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 19:54   #9378  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by saint-francis View Post
OK. Making some progress here. Now I get this:...

And nothing else....
But your input file is a folder: F:\KAGEMUSHA
and you say me is a m2ts.
If you have a complete BD structure please put the log of this command line:

"G:\the hive\software\video tools\eac3to\eac3to.exe" F:\KAGEMUSHA
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 20:40   #9379  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
Right, right. Stupid error.

Code:
"G:\the hive\software\video tools\eac3to\eac3to.exe" F:\KAGEMUSH
A
1) 00001.mpls, 00257.m2ts, 3:00:37
   - Chapters, 31 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
   - AC3, English, stereo, 48khz
   - DTS Master Audio, Japanese, multi-channel, 48khz

2) 00752.mpls, 00260.m2ts, 0:43:45
   - Chapters, 20 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080i60 /1.001 (16:9)
   - AC3, Japanese, stereo, 48khz

3) 00751.mpls, 00259.m2ts, 0:41:01
   - Chapters, 7 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080i60 /1.001 (16:9)
   - AC3, Japanese, stereo, 48khz

4) 00795.mpls, 00267.m2ts, 0:19:21
   - h264/AVC, 1080i60 /1.001 (16:9)
   - AC3, English, mono, 48khz
It's 00001.mpls

EDIT:
I think I got it now.

Last edited by saint-francis; 9th October 2009 at 20:43.
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 20:49   #9380  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,192
Your DTS-MA is the track 2?
Please run this before:

"G:\the hive\software\video tools\eac3to\eac3to.exe" F:\KAGEMUSHA 1)
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.