Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th September 2009, 17:23   #1  |  Link
ricoman
Registered User
 
ricoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 105
BD-5 Quality

My buddy has a BD burner but no standalone, I have a BD standalone but no writer. So, he borrowed Casino Royale BD from me to experiment with BDrebuilder. He lent the burned compressed DVD-5 for me to try on my standalone and I was completely blown away by the fantastic quality that he got on a DVD-5. First JD, I'd like to commend you on the great job you did with DVDRB, just awesome. When I examined the disc I noticed it was an iso image of a BD file, so I tried copying it with my regular DVD burner and it worked great, no problems. My question is now, could I get away with just buying a BD reader to rip to my hard drive (I have anydvd), make an iso to burn with my DVD burner, or must I have a BD burner for some reason? I am more than happy with the quality of the DVD-5, it is better than many of the manufactured BD movies that I have bought and 95+% of the quality of of the original Casino Royale BD which is a near reference quality BD disc. Again, thanks for the terrific work you've done on this software, I am positively shocked at how good the DVD-5 looked and how well it played on my standalone BD player. And for the record, I watched it on a 50" Sony display, so if there were any flaws, I would certainly have seen them, I was blown away at the PQ.
JD, I apparently posted this in the wrong thread, I was looking for the BDRebuilder forum. Could you please move it. Sorry.

Last edited by ricoman; 26th September 2009 at 20:42.
ricoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2009, 21:49   #2  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,832
You only need a BD burner if you want to output to BD-25. If your standalone player supports BD-5/9 -- you can do pretty much any disc with just a reader. Most movie-only encodes are fine on a BD-5. But you probably need to do BD-9 for full backups.

The downside to not having a BD burner is that there are other players out there that don't support BD-5/9 -- while BD-25 will work on any/all players.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 26th September 2009 at 21:51.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2009, 21:58   #3  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,690
While BD-RB is great, it's x264 that does the encoding, not BD-RB
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2009, 01:08   #4  |  Link
ricoman
Registered User
 
ricoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
While BD-RB is great, it's x264 that does the encoding, not BD-RB
Yes, and a great job to you too. It's kinda like an academy awards speach, I don't want to leave anyone out. Great job by all. Thanks.
ricoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2009, 20:39   #5  |  Link
denret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49
BD rebuilder

Yes, I too agree that BD Rebuilder is a break-though.

I'd like to ask a question of the experts: If I go with a BD9 rather than BD5 for a "Movie Only" version, will it speed up the rebuilding time?
denret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2009, 22:05   #6  |  Link
nurbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,455
No. Higher bitrate leads to longer encoding times.
nurbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2009, 23:14   #7  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,690
Of course, at higher bitrates, you can get away with faster encoding settings...
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2009, 00:29   #8  |  Link
denret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49
BD rebuilder

This reason I asked is that when I rebuild a BD 25, it completes in about 1.5 hrs, and when I do a BD5, its way out there....something in excess of 12 hrs....I thought maybe if isn't compressed so much, it might run faster.
denret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2009, 03:11   #9  |  Link
writersblock29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 609
@Denret

1.5 hours? It sounds like your source is already a BD-25. BDRB doesn't re-encode if the source already fits the target (unless you have it re-encoding audio tracks, but the video to my understanding is left alone*). Considering that my own system takes anywhere from 30-60 minutes to rip the original to my hard drive via AnyDVDHD, it sounds reasonable for BDRB to take an hour and a half to extract streams, re-encode audio, and piece it all back together.

*As always, if I've said something inaccurate, please correct me.
__________________
Isn't it a bit unnerving that doctors call what they do "practice?"
--George Carlin
writersblock29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2009, 14:30   #10  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by writersblock29 View Post
@Denret

1.5 hours? It sounds like your source is already a BD-25. BDRB doesn't re-encode if the source already fits the target (unless you have it re-encoding audio tracks, but the video to my understanding is left alone*). Considering that my own system takes anywhere from 30-60 minutes to rip the original to my hard drive via AnyDVDHD, it sounds reasonable for BDRB to take an hour and a half to extract streams, re-encode audio, and piece it all back together.

*As always, if I've said something inaccurate, please correct me.
I think he must be speaking of an encode "after" it is ripped to disc. My system isn't that incredible, and it will do a BD-25 (using the "High Speed (BD-25)" option) movie-only in a couple of hours.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 03:04   #11  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
My I7 920, 2.67GHz, with BD Rebuilder v0.30.02 (beta), just encoded a 1:40:00 movie only to BD5 with High Quality (Default) setting, in 3:50. Since I think the quality looks great and finished file size is almost always 4.25GB to 4.29GB , I am convinced to use this setting.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 15:35   #12  |  Link
denret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49
BD Rebuilder

It would seem that BD Rebuilder has some real variables from machine to machine.

On my notebook with Vista/64, I didn't install ffdshow or Matroska, and it still seems to rebuild fine, albeit kind of slow. On my desktop Vista/32 I can't get past the extracting sequence. I get an "encoder failure" and abort every time.

Anyone have any suggestions about the Vista/32????
denret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 16:00   #13  |  Link
GaPony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 496
I'm not sure how you're getting much done without the applications that BD-Rebuilder requires be installed... They are listed as required for a reason.
GaPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 17:17   #14  |  Link
Groucho2004
ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 3,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by denret View Post
On my notebook with Vista/64, I didn't install ffdshow or Matroska, and it still seems to rebuild fine
Some magic at work here...
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 17:33   #15  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by denret View Post
It would seem that BD Rebuilder has some real variables from machine to machine.

On my notebook with Vista/64, I didn't install ffdshow or Matroska, and it still seems to rebuild fine, albeit kind of slow. On my desktop Vista/32 I can't get past the extracting sequence. I get an "encoder failure" and abort every time.

Anyone have any suggestions about the Vista/32????
That just means some other software you have installed has already installed FFDSHOW and Matroska. It's also possible that some other CODEC/Media splitter combination has been installed. But BD-RB won't work without something to interpret and/or decode AVC, MPEG-2, and VC-1.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 20:50   #16  |  Link
denret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49
BD rebuilder

JDobbs

Thanks for the response. A little more info since my last post...I in fact can use BD RB and decode in the BD-25 mode on the Desktop Vista/32. I worked a BD-25 from beginning to end. Went smooth without Matroska or ffdshow installed. Its just the BD-5 that goes into abort.

I'll install the other two pieces of software now and let you know the results.

The laptop Vista/64 does both BD-5's and BD-25's end to end and the disks play beautifully with only AVIsynth installed.
denret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 15:48   #17  |  Link
denret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49
BD Rebuilder

Follow up.........I installed Matroska and ffdshow, and followed the instructions verbatim. Still no success trying to rebuild BD5 or BD9's on a Vista 32 system. BD25 rebuildign works great.

BD5 goes through extraction process, but always aborts on encoding function.
denret is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.