Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st September 2009, 11:24   #1  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,182
x264 devices settings

Ok,

This thread is a new start to sum up all informations about devices settings for x264. If you have some extra infos, please share them. Hence, we can have a better spot and optimize our presets...

Spreadsheet is available here. Not complete yet. I'll update as soon as I can.

Comments & discussion are welcome.


Last edited by Kurtnoise; 21st September 2009 at 11:27.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 11:59   #2  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,059
The iPhone and the Apple TV does not support high profile (8x8dct = no)

The Archos 605 supports CABAC, and at least 3 b-frames, all partitions. Maximum resolution is 720x576

The Archos 5 supports CABAC, 5 b-frames, 8 ref frame, all partition, and b-pyramid. Maximum resolution is 720x576

The Archos 5 Android can have a much higher VBV. I would estimate at least 10000 for 1280x720 (max resolution).

The level tag doesn't matter for Archos units, it will play all levels, including 5.1.

Preliminary test shows it supports at least 3 b and ref frames, all partition, and b-pyramid. I'll do a much more thorough test when I get the unit.

The PSP can support 16 b-frames, but only 3 ref frames. No b-pyramid.

Why is trellis in there? It doesn't affect decoding...

Last edited by Chengbin; 21st September 2009 at 12:16. Reason: Forgot to write no b-pyramid for PSP, add level info for devices
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 12:02   #3  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chengbin View Post
The iPhone and the Apple TV does not support high profile (8x8dct = no)
First half wrong, second totally wrong.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 12:04   #4  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,059
The iPhone supports high profile?? That's unheard of.

I was pretty damn shocked when I heard it supported CABAC and b-frames.
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 12:05   #5  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chengbin View Post
The iPhone supports high profile?? That's unheard of.
3GS plays High L4.1, but only if you bypass iTunes.

Apple TV plays High Profile just fine.

Also, every piece of information involving b-pyramid is inherently wrong because b-pyramid is going to be completely overhauled anyways.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 12:07   #6  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
Also, every piece of information involving b-pyramid is inherently wrong because b-pyramid is going to be completely overhauled anyways.
So this new b-pyramid will render all hardware decoder useless?
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 12:09   #7  |  Link
Sagittaire
Testeur de codecs
 
Sagittaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France
Posts: 2,411
Bluray have really many profil: I will make exhaustive list.
__________________
Le Sagittaire ... ;-)

1- Ateme AVC or x264
2- VP7 or RV10 only for anime
3- XviD, DivX or WMV9

Last edited by Sagittaire; 21st September 2009 at 21:55.
Sagittaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 12:10   #8  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chengbin View Post
So this new b-pyramid will render all hardware decoder useless?
In the same way that a new brand of car renders all the roads useless, yes.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 12:26   #9  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
Also, every piece of information involving b-pyramid is inherently wrong because b-pyramid is going to be completely overhauled anyways.
So what does "inherently wrong" mean in this context?
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 12:27   #10  |  Link
kieranrk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 713
PS3 can do Level 4.2.

Apple TV has a maximum framerate of 24fps and a maximum resolution of 1280x720.
kieranrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 13:05   #11  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,426
@Kurtnoise, bluray alow max 3 bframes not 5 i guess you made a typo, aslo partitions all is alowed too.
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 21:54   #12  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,059
@Kurtnoise

The Archos 5's VBV should be 5000, not 10000.

Zune HD doesn't support main profile, only baseline + b frames.

Also, can you make the spreadsheet a little narrower by removing blank columns? Even on my 22'' monitor I have to scroll sideways. Many of the cells can be smaller too.

Last edited by Chengbin; 21st September 2009 at 22:02.
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 22:36   #13  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,059
Am I missing something?

I don't see the word "main"
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 23:15   #14  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,182
indeed, I need glasses.

/confused by the code...
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 23:54   #15  |  Link
me7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 216
baseline + b-frames? Is it possible to use b-frames with x264 when you limit the profile to baseline?
me7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 04:04   #16  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,059
Does partitions affect decoding? Even an iPod Touch can play all partitions.
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 09:59   #17  |  Link
zinga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 31
For PSP resolutions:
>=firmware 3.30
- arbitrary resolutions up to 480x272
- also supports 720x480 and 352x480
>=firmware 5.00
- adds support for 640x480
>=firmware 5.50
- support for 720x576 added (though not officially stated)

--partitions all supported. Can't remember VBV - I believe Sony has put a restriction on this as there was a hack to raise the maximum bitrate to 16384kbps (but still don't know the VBV params).
I think baseline@L2.1 is also supported, but haven't verified.
zinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 10:42   #18  |  Link
Wishbringer
Silent Reader
 
Wishbringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 267
For PS3 lowres encodes (720x576p25 - DVD conversion to mp4) 8 refs and 16 bframes are playable. I tried with 9 refs too and got picture freezes
Wishbringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 11:17   #19  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by me7 View Post
baseline + b-frames? Is it possible to use b-frames with x264 when you limit the profile to baseline?
No, so don't tell x264 to use baseline. Disable the high and main profile features except for B-frames.
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2009, 20:20   #20  |  Link
Boolsheet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 69
What about the GOP length? It came up in the Blu-ray thread.
Has anyone ever tested longer GOPs on hardware players?
__________________
My nightmares are horrifying, they're all interlaced!
Boolsheet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.