Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th September 2009, 09:07   #8061  |  Link
XhmikosR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hellas (Greece)
Posts: 543
@alexins: Yes, I know. I created a patch to revert this change because I'm using komisar's MinGW for the 64bit version. Everything is fine now.

PS. If you read some posts before, you'll see that Mercury_22 is not the only one who's having issues with ICL 11.1.038 builds while 11.0.072 works as expected. Maybe you should change your ICL version to 11.0.072. (If you don't have it, send me a PM).
XhmikosR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2009, 10:45   #8062  |  Link
_xxl
ffdshow user
 
_xxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 818
I use this version:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ming...1.zip/download
Using latest builds I can't compile pthreads for win64.
_xxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2009, 10:57   #8063  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Porsche_fan View Post
I'd just like the ability to apply postprocessing deblocking to both wmv9 and libavcodec for all types of wmv files.
I don't know if this could help, but have you tryed using the "WMV PowerToy"?
It's a little program that lets you set some parameters in Microsoft's WMV encoder and decoder.
You can get it here.
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2009, 11:06   #8064  |  Link
alexins
MPC-BE DEV
 
alexins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenija
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxl View Post
Using latest builds I can't compile pthreads for win64.
Pthreads-w32 (CVS code) + w64sup.patch = Successful build!
__________________
Win10 x64, i7 7700K 5.2Ghz, ASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO, HyperX Fury 16GB (2x8GB) 3000MHz, ASUS GTX1060-6G,TV Philips 40PFS6909/12, MED1000X3D
Media Player Classic - BE x86/x64. Team of developers.
alexins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2009, 12:39   #8065  |  Link
_xxl
ffdshow user
 
_xxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 818
I have updated pthreads to latest 2.9.0 + all patches for win64 and other bugs. I can't compile pthreads with latest MinGw64. They are broken.
_xxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2009, 13:20   #8066  |  Link
alexins
MPC-BE DEV
 
alexins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenija
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxl View Post
I have updated pthreads to latest 2.9.0 + all patches for win64 and other bugs. I can't compile pthreads with latest MinGw64. They are broken.
… strange… in me build is passed without the problems,...
Code:
make CROSS=x86_64-w64-mingw32- clean GC-static
make CROSS=x86_64-w64-mingw32- clean GC-inlined
... truth I do not use assemblies of mingw-w64. I use my constructions of mingw gcc x86/x64, for these constructions I took scripts written Komisar and introduced in them my changes.
__________________
Win10 x64, i7 7700K 5.2Ghz, ASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO, HyperX Fury 16GB (2x8GB) 3000MHz, ASUS GTX1060-6G,TV Philips 40PFS6909/12, MED1000X3D
Media Player Classic - BE x86/x64. Team of developers.

Last edited by alexins; 16th September 2009 at 13:40.
alexins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2009, 13:41   #8067  |  Link
tetsuo55
MPC-HC Project Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexins View Post
Pthreads-w32 (CVS code) + w64sup.patch = Successful build!
Does this apply to MPC-HC too? the 64bit build has many bugs that are not in the 32bit build, mostly related to libavcodec.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexins View Post
… strange… in me build is passed without the problems,...
Code:
make CROSS=x86_64-w64-mingw32- clean GC-static
make CROSS=x86_64-w64-mingw32- clean GC-inlined
... truth I do not use assemblies of mingw-w64. I use my constructions of mingw gcc x86/x64, for these constructions I took scripts written Komisar and introduced in them my changes.

Maybe you could share exactly how you made your build environment, i think many will want to install it like you do (i know i do)
__________________
MPC-HC, an open source project everyone can improve. Want to help? Test Nightly Builds, submit patches or bugs and chat on IRC
tetsuo55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2009, 16:27   #8068  |  Link
_xxl
ffdshow user
 
_xxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 818
Quote:
… strange… in me build is passed without the problems,...

That is my problem with latest MinGW64.
_xxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2009, 16:57   #8069  |  Link
alexins
MPC-BE DEV
 
alexins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenija
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxl View Post
That is my problem with latest MinGW64.
Try like this:
Code:
make CROSS=i686-w64-mingw32- clean GC-static

Quote:
Originally Posted by tetsuo55 View Post
Does this apply to MPC-HC too? the 64bit build has many bugs that are not in the 32bit build, mostly related to libavcodec.
No, this does not affect the mpc-hc …
Quote:
Originally Posted by tetsuo55 View Post
Maybe you could share exactly how you made your build environment, i think many will want to install it like you do (i know i do)
In the next few days, I will try to post for download scripts (build components mingw), and issue the finished building based on gcc 4.4.2 (prerelease) and GCC 4.5.0 (experimental).
Quote:
Originally Posted by XhmikosR View Post
@alexins: Yes, I know. I created a patch to revert this change because I'm using komisar's MinGW for the 64bit version. Everything is fine now.
PS. If you read some posts before, you'll see that Mercury_22 is not the only one who's having issues with ICL 11.1.038 builds while 11.0.072 works as expected. Maybe you should change your ICL version to 11.0.072. (If you don't have it, send me a PM).
I have all versions of ICL 11.*.*. I'm still going to monitor the situation, it is necessary to gather more information for decision.
__________________
Win10 x64, i7 7700K 5.2Ghz, ASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO, HyperX Fury 16GB (2x8GB) 3000MHz, ASUS GTX1060-6G,TV Philips 40PFS6909/12, MED1000X3D
Media Player Classic - BE x86/x64. Team of developers.

Last edited by alexins; 17th September 2009 at 04:10.
alexins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2009, 13:55   #8070  |  Link
petran79
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 77
There is a problem with the new version of DFX audio plugin for Winamp and ffdshow audio.It does not appear on the ffdshow Winamp plugin panel. Up to version 9.100 there was no problem. Other plugins appear and work normally.

Players like KMplayer and GOMplayer accept the new version
petran79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2009, 22:15   #8071  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,408
is there ANY way to get sharper subs in ffdshow?



I understand blurry subs prolly look great on LCD screens, but on CRT/DLP all these font smoothing algorithms look terribly ugly(curse you Windows Vista/7! )...is there a chance someone could add a "blurriness" slider please? or am I missing something? everyone's watching blurry subs in here?

this is terrible w/ a projector, it's blurry-land..

Last edited by leeperry; 19th September 2009 at 00:09.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2009, 22:28   #8072  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,655
First of all, I don't think that there is a developer available at this moment that is able/willing to implement this kind of suggestions.

Secondly, you are asking for something that is the exact opposite of what you want to accomplish.

Thirdly, use DirectVobSub (or MPC internal) and increase the texture resolution setting. That will give sharper subs.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2009, 23:45   #8073  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,408
well, I meant a blurriness slider....so I could set it to 0

I guess it's great to have blurry fonts on LCD...but luckily, many ppl don't use this technology. yeah, I guess I'll have to wait for madshi to add a subs pin in mVR...KMP is able to give very sharp subs, but it can't be used at this point

DirectVobSub is terrible...most of the times you can't even change the vertical alignment, you can't even override the look of .ass subs.

ah well, time to brush up my Japanese I guess

Last edited by leeperry; 19th September 2009 at 00:09.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2009, 00:32   #8074  |  Link
Astrophizz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 184
You could try having the subs render after upscaling. Also so far as I know Vista/7 use the same font smoothing as XP and this font smoothing has no effect on subtitle rendering.
Astrophizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2009, 01:22   #8075  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,408
I don't upscale...this is downscaled from 1080p in ffdshow then subs are added on the native res, and the subs are always blurry ...and I've tried every possible setting, the anti-aliasing seems rather high...and I'm not the only one finding them blurry

well, Vista/7 seem to enforce that Cleartype stuff, w/ a bit of a hassle you can disable it in explorer...but not in other apps? ah well, if mVR finally delivers I'll stay in XP until the end of days...I don't need blurry fonts in all my apps, nor 40 mandatory background services or an OS that decides what I'm allowed to do: http://www.cs.auckland.ac.nz/~pgut00...ista_cost.html

anyway, case closed...I understand blurry fonts will take over the world someday, I'll just wait for mVR to support subs.

Last edited by leeperry; 19th September 2009 at 01:32.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2009, 07:10   #8076  |  Link
Astrophizz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 184
Yeah I find the fonts blurry from VSFilter compared to the KMP or MPC-HC internal sub renderers. I wish something was done about it but I put up with it and I guess I've gotten used to it. I'm almost certain that it's totally unrelated to Cleartype though.
Astrophizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2009, 08:58   #8077  |  Link
roozhou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrophizz View Post
Yeah I find the fonts blurry from VSFilter compared to the KMP or MPC-HC internal sub renderers. I wish something was done about it but I put up with it and I guess I've gotten used to it. I'm almost certain that it's totally unrelated to Cleartype though.
VSFilter renders directly to the decoded frames so it's limited by video frame's resolution and YV12 colorspace.
roozhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2009, 11:21   #8078  |  Link
Astrophizz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 184
Doesn't the subtitle renderer in ffdshow have the same restrictions as VSFilter unless the scaling is done internally? Though I suppose since leeperry scales before adding the subtitles my issue isn't the same as his.
Astrophizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2009, 11:37   #8079  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrophizz View Post
I'm almost certain that it's totally unrelated to Cleartype though.
no it's not, these are two separate issues.
if you enable 2x/3x anti-aliasing for subs rendering in KMP, you also get blurry fonts. that's prolly what is happening in all these ffdshow/mpc/dvobsub..but they don't allow you to disable AA. anyway, this most likely will never be fixed...it's by design.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2009, 17:29   #8080  |  Link
thewebchat
Advanced Blogging
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 483
VSFilter process:

1) Get subtitles
2) Create subpicture that is 64x the resolution of the video frame
3) Scale subtitle sizes using some magic numbers
4) Multiply everything by 8
5) Get outlines and composite (note that there is no ClearType going on here)
6) Downscale to video resolution and paint

Note that the combination of 2 and 4 is the reason that VSFilter supports 8th-pel subpixel positioning and sizes.
thewebchat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.