Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th September 2009, 05:02   #121  |  Link
m3mbran3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 90
megui just uses its on front-end for MKVToolnix so it should be the same thing.

I must say that this program really is useful and use it for all my encodes now. The only issue I have is if I'm trying to batch encode because there is no queue like in megui, anyway to overcome this? be it either by command line or batch file.
m3mbran3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2009, 13:28   #122  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3mbran3 View Post
The only issue I have is if I'm trying to batch encode because there is no queue like in megui, anyway to overcome this? be it either by command line or batch file.
Not implemented yet and not currently planned, because I'm busy with "real life" stuff. But feel free to hack that in, the sources are included...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2009, 15:46   #123  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
LoRd_MuldeR,
In the dialog, group "Rate Control", I think it's missing a "t" in the word "Quanizer"...
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2009, 15:49   #124  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by yesgrey3 View Post
LoRd_MuldeR,
In the dialog, group "Rate Control", I think it's missing a "t" in the word "Quanizer"...
Well spotted. I will fix the typo for next release
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2009, 15:55   #125  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Well spotted.
It's easier when we're looking at it for the first time...
By the way, is it possible for you to add .264 file output?

Thanks.
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2009, 16:50   #126  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by yesgrey3 View Post
By the way, is it possible for you to add .264 file output?
Yes, that was easy and quick to do. Download link in first post updated!
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2009, 17:22   #127  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Thanks!
I prefer to mux into mkv using eac3to.
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2009, 22:55   #128  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Updated x264 to r1259 (Komisar's builds). Download link in first post updated.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 05:52   #129  |  Link
click2
aka mappy
 
click2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 63
Is sources.tar missing a few files? mulder_toolz.pas and unit_runprocess.pas for instance
__________________
<Dark_Shikari> its linux, I don't really care :: <pengvado> #x264 is not for dancing.
click2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2009, 10:19   #130  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by click2 View Post
Is sources.tar missing a few files? mulder_toolz.pas and unit_runprocess.pas for instance
You are right. That is code shared with other project, so I forgot to include it

http://www.mediafire.com/file/cmkztv...2009-09-21.zip
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 09:33   #131  |  Link
Widok
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Russia - St.Petersburg
Posts: 9
[edit]

Last edited by Widok; 23rd September 2009 at 21:16.
Widok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 11:57   #132  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Looks like some DirectShow problem, so this is not the right thread to complain. Anyway, it seems other people saw the same issue:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...78#post1327378




I can only recommend to try something that isn't DirectShowSource(), for example FFVideoSource() from FFmpegSource project
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 22nd September 2009 at 12:58.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 13:20   #133  |  Link
XadoX
Registered User
 
XadoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 191
for this nice GUI!
XadoX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2009, 18:15   #134  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Updated x264 to r1271 (Komisar's builds). Download link in first post updated!
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2009, 04:02   #135  |  Link
dstln
Person
 
dstln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 58
Thanks for keeping this updated, looking forward to playing around with it on new OS.

Nice progress bar too :P

Last edited by dstln; 3rd October 2009 at 04:53.
dstln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 13:44   #136  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
i like your gui, its exactly what i need..a simple x264 gui

Can you add 1 Pass Options please ? I want to use different lowered Settings in 1st Pass.

I know that new x264 should work autom "fast" in 1 Pass :
"For all encodes, regardless of preset or not, using --pass 1 will automatically trigger "turbo" settings....."

But for some reason i get only half FPS/Perfomance in 1 Pass when using your gui in 2 pass Mode ?
Its as slow as with --slow-firstpass but i havent set it to --slow-first pass.

Last edited by ACrowley; 8th October 2009 at 14:04.
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 14:01   #137  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley View Post
i like your Build

Can you add 1 Pass Options please ? I use different lowered Settings in 1st Pass.
What more than 1-Pass CRF and 1-Pass CQP do you need? For bitrate-based encodes you really should use 2-Pass mode!
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 16:42   #138  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
What more than 1-Pass CRF and 1-Pass CQP do you need? For bitrate-based encodes you really should use 2-Pass mode!
im talking about 2pass VBR! And the 1st Pass is very slow

The gui sets x264 to use same Paramerets for both passes...so 1 pass is very slow
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 16:50   #139  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley View Post
im talking about 2pass VBR! And the 1st Pass is very slow
2-Pass is always VBR. It can be constrained via VBV though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley View Post
The gui sets x264 to use same Paramerets for both passes...so 1 pass is very slow
Wrong. Unless you explicitly pass "--slow-firstpass", which my GUI definitely does not do, x264 will automatically run the first pass with "turbo" settings.

So it's perfectly fine to pass the same settings for both passes and let x264 decide which settings can be lowered during the first one

Of course it's up to you. You can always add the "--slow-firstpass" parameter to the "Advanced Options" edit box, if you really want a SLOW first pass.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 8th October 2009 at 17:10.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2009, 18:12   #140  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
2-Pass is always VBR. It can be constrained via VBV though.



Wrong. Unless you explicitly pass "--slow-firstpass", which my GUI definitely does not do, x264 will automatically run the first pass with "turbo" settings.

So it's perfectly fine to pass the same settings for both passes and let x264 decide which settings can be lowered during the first one

Of course it's up to you. You can always add the "--slow-firstpass" parameter to the "Advanced Options" edit box, if you really want a SLOW first pass.
I understand. But why do i get only ~4,5fps in 1 pass with your Gui ?
With all other guis or via cmdline i get ~15fps with the same Settings/Source ?

Log : ( from 500 frames sample, but its the same Speed with the Full Source)

[First Pass]
encoded 501 frames, 4.79 fps, 14969.11 kb/s

[Second Pass]
encoded 501 frames, 2.40 fps, 15057.99 kb/s


-- [Detailed Report] --

Source: F:\test.avs
Output: F:\encode.mkv
Preset: Veryslow
Tuning: Grain
Profile: High
Params: --level 4.1 --deblock -3:-3 --ref 5 --vbv-bufsize 30000 --vbv-maxrate 40000 --no-dct-decimate --no-fast-pskip --partitions p8x8,b8x8,i4x4,i8x8 --me umh --subme 9

Analayzing source file:
F:\test.avs: 1920x816, 48000/2002 fps, 501 frames

Resolution: 1920 x 816
Frame No. : 501
Frame Rate: 24000/1001

x264 0.76.1271 496d79d
built by Komisar on Sep 25 2009, gcc: 4.4.1 (x86_64.core2.Komisar)
Revision: 1271

Commandline for x264:
"C:\AV Tools\x264 Launcher\pipebuf.exe" "C:\AV Tools\x264 Launcher\avs2yuv.exe" F:\test.avs -raw - : "C:\AV Tools\x264 Launcher\x264_x64.exe" --preset veryslow --tune grain --bitrate 14800 --pass 2 --stats F:\encode.mkv.x264-stats --level 4.1 --deblock -3:-3 --ref 5 --vbv-bufsize 30000 --vbv-maxrate 40000 --no-dct-decimate --no-fast-pskip --partitions p8x8,b8x8,i4x4,i8x8 --me umh --subme 9 --output F:\encode.mkv --frames 501 --fps 24000/1001 - 1920x816 : 4

x264 [info]: 1920x816 @ 23.98 fps
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast SSSE3 Cache64
x264 [info]: profile High, level 4.1
F:\test.avs: 1920x816, 48000/2002 fps, 501 frames

x264 [info]: frame I:9 Avg QP:16.48 size:141729
x264 [info]: frame P:106 Avg QP:16.03 size: 95216
x264 [info]: frame B:386 Avg QP:16.25 size: 72442
x264 [info]: consecutive B-frames: 1.4% 0.4% 20.7% 11.4% 5.1% 23.2% 32.7% 3.3% 1.8%
x264 [info]: mb I I16..4: 44.3% 50.4% 5.3%
x264 [info]: mb P I16..4: 10.8% 12.5% 2.8% P16..4: 47.8% 16.2% 9.8% 0.0% 0.0% skip: 0.1%
x264 [info]: mb B I16..4: 4.2% 3.1% 0.6% B16..8: 52.1% 2.1% 3.6% direct:23.6% skip:10.6% L0:42.3% L1:40.1% BI:17.6%
x264 [info]: 8x8 transform intra:44.1% inter:28.5%
x264 [info]: direct mvs spatial:79.0% temporal:21.0%
x264 [info]: coded y,uvDC,uvAC intra: 98.3% 80.3% 70.4% inter: 60.7% 49.3% 15.4%
x264 [info]: i16 v,h,dc,p: 1% 1% 61% 36%
x264 [info]: i8 v,h,dc,ddl,ddr,vr,hd,vl,hu: 7% 6% 19% 10% 12% 11% 11% 11% 13%
x264 [info]: i4 v,h,dc,ddl,ddr,vr,hd,vl,hu: 6% 5% 13% 11% 14% 12% 13% 12% 15%
x264 [info]: ref P L0: 47.2% 21.8% 15.2% 8.9% 7.0%
x264 [info]: ref B L0: 67.7% 16.9% 9.9% 5.4%
x264 [info]: kb/s:15057.99
encoded 501 frames, 2.40 fps, 15057.99 kb/s

Last edited by ACrowley; 8th October 2009 at 18:15.
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.