Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th April 2009, 20:24   #1  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
FixStars Realtime Cell Encoder Samples :)

They also gonna present a Consumer Encoder on the PS3 @ NAB see news

http://www.fixstars.com/en/products/...ys/sample.html (though they show only ~1 minute the problematic scenes aren't shown this way :P )

i wonder if they reused anything from x264 (being very near @ OSS see yellowdog linux)

you can also Online Encode something here (on the Cloud) https://codecsys.fixstars.com/en/tri...sonalData.html (be aware upload speed is slow depending if your location is outside of Asia)
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 18th April 2009 at 20:44.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2009, 09:26   #2  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,528
Checking it out, but not expecting a whole lot

~MiSfit
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2009, 04:26   #3  |  Link
edison
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 95
I have uploaded a video clip to do online encode, the video clip was used in the leadtek pxvc1100 test and convert to yuv i420 ( the file size is 1.08GB @_@).

performance:

profile/level: hp 3.0
b-frame:2
slice:4


1000kbps fast 29.80 s
1500kbps fast 30.56 s
2000kbps fast 29.31 s
2500kbps fast 29.03 s
3000kbps fast 31.10 s
3500kbps fast 29.70 s
4000kbps fast 30.41 s


CodecSys Trial VBR HP3.0

Y-SSIM (avg,2230 frames)

1000 kbps 0.942234318
1500 kbps 0.958717494
2000 kbps 0.966834899
2500 kbps 0.971830425
3000 kbps 0.97554094
3500 kbps 0.978308054
4000 kbps 0.980634944
edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2009, 21:28   #4  |  Link
deekey777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 92
Their PDF: http://us.fixstars.com/products/mark...0_USletter.pdf
deekey777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2009, 22:00   #5  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Jep it looks really interesting vs a GPU solution the Cell is really made for this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TxuYkKkmS5s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7g5KKTC1oRs&NR=1

if this really works out the PS3 could recive a major bump up in Sales after it's Quality and usability gets confirmed in June but you shouldn't forget it needs to beat x264 on a CPU 1.2 realtime can also easily done with x264 @ i would say lower power output and to what i saw Codecsys has no AQ yet so it seems not in the state of HVS enhancements x264 gone through the years (not even wanna talk about missing Psy-RD or a similiar concept like Ateme and Mainconcept have also developed). Though i guess using the PS3 Cell should have some more Encoding Power then a SpursEngine consumer card . So Fixstars Encoder is still a smal Child that maybe has alot of Power behind it's back but the Quality is what counts for most and here i see lack of development time on Fixstars side to compete with the other solutions yet Unless they buildup the core from x264 then i guess they could in no time also port all the HVS stuff over to it and then it becomes really interesting
It's funny to see they using MPC-HC on that Presentation :P i guess they also lurk arround Doom9 and look @ x264 development alot
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 23rd May 2009 at 22:15.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 23:22   #6  |  Link
deekey777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 92
Found something in B3DForums:
http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread...76#post1297476
Quote:
Originally Posted by one
It's now on sale for the Japanese market.

http://codecsys.fixstars.com/ja/index.html

CE-10 Personal - 15,840 yen ($164) for a 1-year license
CE-10 Professional - 158,400 yen ($1,640) for a 1-year license (24,800 yen for a 1-month license)

Personal can encode movies up to 15Mbps, while it's up to 150Mbps for Professional.
No commercial encoding is allowed for Personal. All other properties are the same for the both versions.
Demo: https://codecsys.fixstars.com/ja/trial.html
deekey777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 11:08   #7  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
http://codecsys.fixstars.com/ja/supp.../hardware.html

that's a little crazy :P how much power that consumes together geez :P you could use that PC alone and save alot of Power with using x264 with the right settings
also this doesn't look very advanced to me @ all.

http://codecsys.fixstars.com/ja/imag...tingDialog.png
http://codecsys.fixstars.com/ja/imag...s/CE-10GUI.png

though there is another tab mybe their some HVS settings are hiding
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 08:14   #8  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,950
It's all about quality@perf, quality@watt, and quality@1U.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 15:32   #9  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwaggoner View Post
quality@1U
Avail runs 1U boxes that do two simultaneous 1080i streams with x264 on high-quality settings. Don't need a fancy expensive Cell encoder for that
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 15:51   #10  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,068
Quote:
Avail runs 1U boxes that do two simultaneous 1080i streams with x264 on high-quality settings.
What exact settings do you use in Avail?
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 15:56   #11  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
What exact settings do you use in Avail?
We use an automated speedcontrol patch available on request. The settings for realtime broadcast, depending on the CPU used, tend to hover between subme=6 and subme=9. SD generally uses higher settings since they don't run 6x as many SD streams on a box as they run HD streams.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 16:39   #12  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
Avail runs 1U boxes that do two simultaneous 1080i streams with x264 on high-quality settings. Don't need a fancy expensive Cell encoder for that
I was just spelling out the metrics, not anointing a winner.

And of course I forgot quality@TCO, which is a combination of all of those.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 20:49   #13  |  Link
Comatose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 639
Dark Shikari: Can you give us some hardware info? CPU, mainly. Just curious
Comatose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 20:59   #14  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by Comatose View Post
Dark Shikari: Can you give us some hardware info? CPU, mainly. Just curious
Avail has a few main types of boxes that they use:

1. Quad-core SD encoding box (Core 2). Used to be more necessary years ago, but totally pointless now that x264 is so fast. Only still around because their original architecture assumed one stream per box.

2. Dual-quadcore HD encoding box (Core 2). Handles one 1080i or 720p HD stream. Usually around 3-3.2Ghz.

3. Quadcore HD encoding box (Nehalem). Handles one 1080i or 720p HD stream.

4. Dual-quadcore HD encoding box (Nehalem). Handles two 1080i or 720p HD streams. This is the new mainstay box.

Of course you can put SD streams on the dual boxes as well.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 21:58   #15  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
http://www.elementaltechnologies.com/products/server <- uses the pro encoder core (which hopefully sometime finds it way into badaboom)
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 6th June 2009 at 22:03.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2009, 12:49   #16  |  Link
kaid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 96
Okay, I did toy around with it, but it seems my only x86 in the house (I'm a PPC man, baby!), an Athlon 3500+ is too slow for whatever it is they're still doing with the main CPU (getting constantly 100% load on the Athlon!): It seems to run out of sync with the network streaming and the CE-10 just stops writing to the target file! It doesn't tell you about this or complain, it just goes on encoding, so that sucks.
Yes, and I also did try encoding video only, so the Athlon wouldn't have to do the sound, and I did try ISO-MPEG4 AVI, m2v MPEG2 Video and YUV as Input (an Athlon 3500+ can decode 1080p MPEG2 just fine!). I did notice it got the furthest using YUV as input before it stopped writing, so it's probably just my machine not decoding fast enough for the CE-10...

btw: If you want to change the Japanese GUI to English, change computer\hkey_current_user\software\fixstars\code csys ce-10\culture from ja-JP to en-US in the Registry!

It is definately not as flexible as x264 and doesn't offer as many options. It does however also do 4x slice-encoding if wanted, unlike x264, which should be a boon for pre-Core/Phenom Multi-CPU systems that don't use CoreAVC, Divx7 or ffmpeg-mt!
Other than that you can choose between main and high profile, set B-Frames from 1-3, adjust GOP-size, set avg/max bitrate, choose between quality and fast encoding approach, set some QP level and pixel ratio and some other value I forgot (but which didn't tell me anything). It also has a profile setting for Bluray, which warns you if your settings are not bluray-compliant...

Quality seems pretty good though judging from the short clips I was able to encode before it stopped writing into the file... And it is hella fast, they didn't lie about that!

Would love to see a bit more testing from you guys...

Last edited by kaid; 20th June 2009 at 14:11.
kaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2009, 01:12   #17  |  Link
HouseCat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13
I tired codecsys CE-10 with my copy of bladerunner blu-ray.

How do you get it to do the audio (5.1 AC3 in this case) file as it only seems to do .wav. It encodes the 1080P FAST but with no audio.
HouseCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2009, 07:18   #18  |  Link
popper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
if you read the latest official PR release from 1 July 2009 they say they are now
"AFFORDABLE, BROADCAST QUALITY, NEAR REAL-TIME H.264 ENCODER FOR PS3"

http://lists.fixstars.com/pipermail/...ly/000215.html
"....
CodecSys CE-10 Personal:
- H.264 software encoder with support for 1080i/p full HD.
- Max bit-rate 15Mbps, Blu-ray standard compliant.
- Licensed for personal use only.
- $199.00 USD

CodecSys CE-10 Professional
- H.264 software encoder support 1080i/p full HD.
- Max bit-rate 150Mbps, Blu-ray standard compliant.
- Licensed for commercial use.
- $1,999.00 USD
....
"

they apparently also have a 14 day trial, "CodecSys CE-10 Professional 14 Days Free Trial

You can use the full functionality of CodecSys CE-10 Professional free for 14 days.

CodecSys CE-10 Professional requires both a PC and PS3. Read Required Hardware and download here.
"
but i m not sure how you would install that, as they also say
"Connected to a PC via a gigabit ethernet, the PS3 performs as an external,
dedicated video encoder. All encoding is handled by the PS3 which runs an
embedded version of Yellow Dog Linux entirely from ROM
, thus shifting the
CPU-intensive processing away from the workstation.
"

and again, i assume they are using the latest faster YDL v6.2 with Xfce, perhaps even using Markos's
libfreevec, http://www.codex.gr/ http://www.freevec.org/ a (LGPL) library with replacement routines for
GLIBC, such as memcpy(), strlen(), etc. These routines, which have been
rewritten and optimized to use the AltiVec vector engine found in the G4/G4+
PowerPC CPUs, can provide for up to 25% increase in application performance.


that PR page leads to the main page
http://codecsys.fixstars.com/en/ce10/
and the tech specs look pritty much pro even for the limited 15Mbit/s Max personal version...
http://codecsys.fixstars.com/en/ce10/specs.html


its odd, but they only did a 1 minute 1920x1080 Elephants Dream and Big Buck Bunny rather than the full encodes
http://codecsys.fixstars.com/en/ce10/gallery.html

even odder, it seems while the http://codecsys-dl.fixstars.com/gallery/ED_7.2Mbps.mp4 (7045 Kbps,High@L4.0,ref 2,1920x1080,etc) is well below the 360s valid spec of ref3,10Mbit/s,H@L4.1, it didnt Manage to stream with PS3Mediaserver1.20 to the 360 without stopping a few times over a wired LAN connection...., it may be my 2gig E4400 xp os playing up i suppose!, but even then it looks rather sharp on my cheap 32" LCD TV connected HDMI 360.

Last edited by popper; 18th July 2009 at 07:59.
popper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2009, 01:05   #19  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 260
I made a little test using CE-10 Pro Trial:

Source: Blu-ray Promo from Gran Torino BR disc
Details: VC-1 1080p 23.976 fps 13 Mbps (Max 23 Mbps)
Decoder: NVTools + AviSynth (Hardware Accelerated)
Laptop Specs: Intel Core2Duo T5800, GeForce 9300M, Windows 7 Build 7260 x64
Others: Resized to 1440x1080p using Spline36

CodeSys CE-10
Settings:

Desired Bitrate: 5000 Kbps
Real Bitrate: 4250 Kbps (Aprox)
Encoding Speed: 12 fps (Aprox)
Total Encoding Time: 3:13.150

x264 core 68 r1183M f21daff 1-Pass ABR (Blu-ray Compliant)
Settings:
Code:
--profile high --level 4.1 --keyint 48 --min-keyint 4 --direct auto --deblock -2:-1 --psy-rd 0.8:0.2 --partitions p8x8,b8x8,i4x4,i8x8 --qpmax 40 --ipratio 1.1 --pbratio 1.2 --vbv-bufsize 15000 --vbv-maxrate 15000 --thread-input --aq-strength 0.8 --ssim --output "J:\Gran Torino\BDMV\STREAM\1440.mkv" "J:\Gran Torino\BDMV\STREAM\1440.avs" --mvrange 511 --aud --nal-hrd --sar 4:3
Desired Bitrate: 5000 Kbps
Real Bitrate: 4675 Kbps
Encoding Speed: 5.39 fps
Total Encoding Time: 7:37.000 (Aprox)

Comparative Stills:









Full Promo:
CE-10
x264

Conclusions on CE-10:
1.- Only half "Real Time" speed.
2.- Laptop's CPU at 90% (Using NVTools for Decoding).
3.- Only 2.2x faster than x264 using mid range CPU for laptop, with mid settings (Desktops QuadCore are probably faster than CE-10).
4.- Lower Quality than x264
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2009, 05:22   #20  |  Link
Astrophizz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 184
I don't think "only 2.2x faster than x264" is something to scoff at if it were at the same quality as x264 (assuming each of your conclusions is independent of the others), but it clearly comes at loss of quality.
Astrophizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.