Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd June 2009, 05:52   #1  |  Link
slipknot!
Registered User
 
slipknot!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 89
x264, 2 pass vs 3 pass

I always use sharktooth's DXVA-SD-Insane profile + 3-pass method for encoding DVDs. But it takes much more time than 2-pass.
What does actually the third pass add to the final video? The better ipb frames arrengment or the more exact final bitrate (size) or what?
__________________
play hard go pr0
dmg / slipknot!
slipknot! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 05:54   #2  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,690
Nothing. It's a placebo.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 06:08   #3  |  Link
slipknot!
Registered User
 
slipknot!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 89
Hmmm... So why don't you delete it in the next realise?
__________________
play hard go pr0
dmg / slipknot!
slipknot! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 00:21   #4  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by slipknot! View Post
Hmmm... So why don't you delete it in the next realise?
...because the x264 developers are not MeGUI developers. And because people out there want such insane/placebo profiles
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 3rd June 2009 at 00:55.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 03:43   #5  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
however... just to clear things up, there are no 3-pass presets in MeGUI. if you want one you have to create it.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2009, 16:02   #6  |  Link
slipknot!
Registered User
 
slipknot!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 89
There is no such a preset, but you can choose "automated 3pass mode" in the "Encoder settings (x264 configuration dialog)"
__________________
play hard go pr0
dmg / slipknot!
slipknot! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2009, 19:02   #7  |  Link
nakTT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by slipknot! View Post
There is no such a preset, but you can choose "automated 3pass mode" in the "Encoder settings (x264 configuration dialog)"
Yes. Thats what I did with my MEGui all these while. But since the developer himself told us that its a placebo, then from now on I can live happily with 2-pass knowing that 3-pass is not needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
Nothing. It's a placebo.
nakTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2-pass vs 3-pass, dxva-sd-insane, x264, x264 2-pass, x264 3-pass

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.