Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th May 2009, 15:43   #1821  |  Link
StifflerStealth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere Over the Rainbow!
Posts: 141
I muxed it. :S I thought you would want the audio and the video together for comparison. Should have everything that I am working with, except shorter. You can go through what I do, demuxing, importing to avisynth and all that. Maybe I am doing something wrong? I used the new MKVToolNix Gui as the muxer. Why, did I mux it incorrectly? Or did you just want the raw h264 stream and you didn't need the audio with it? But, I thought you wanted to try the audio going out of sync thing. :S Confusing.
StifflerStealth is offline  
Old 13th May 2009, 15:49   #1822  |  Link
nm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by StifflerStealth View Post
I uploaded a segment to MediaFire.
It's VFR (variable framerate). The default framerate is set to 30000/1001 in the Matroska headers, but the actual frame timings imply 24000/1001 fps video. I only looked quickly at the timecodes given by "mkvextract timecodes_v2 file.mkv 1:file.tc.txt" though, so there could be some 30000/1001 segments, especially in the complete video.

Editing VFR video requires special care and tools like Avidemux might not support it fully. Try using mkvmerge for cutting. For filtering (that doesn't change the number of frames), extract timecodes first, filter and re-encode the video and mux back to Matroska with the original timecodes.
nm is offline  
Old 13th May 2009, 16:10   #1823  |  Link
StifflerStealth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere Over the Rainbow!
Posts: 141
Thanks nm. I guess I should read a bit more before I use new codecs. I did all this before I moved to Win7, and I don't know if AnyDVD works with win7 yet or not, so I don't feel like re-ripping. XD I will just re-encode the h264 stream this time without VFR. Now I just need to figure that out. Any chance of seeing VFR support in the future for DGAVCDec? Though, I must say, I do feel a bit stupid for not properly reading encoding instructions to begin with. Sorry for the ruckus.

Last edited by StifflerStealth; 13th May 2009 at 16:16.
StifflerStealth is offline  
Old 13th May 2009, 19:35   #1824  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
@StifferStealth

I want an explanation of what you ripped it from. If from a DVD give the title and region. Also explain how you claim to have made a VFR encode when you apparently cannot even recognize such a thing. If you do not answer satisfactorily you'll get you a rule 6 strike. Awaiting your full explanation...

@nm

Do not respond when rule 6 concerns are raised. You can get a strike for it too.

Last edited by Guest; 13th May 2009 at 19:40.
Guest is offline  
Old 15th May 2009, 09:37   #1825  |  Link
halsboss
likes to tinker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: girt by sea
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Not necessarily. I'm working on using CoreAVC as the underlying decoder. I don't know if it will be successful.
Hello, any news or gossip about progress on this ?
halsboss is offline  
Old 15th May 2009, 12:35   #1826  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by halsboss View Post
Hello, any news or gossip about progress on this ?
Waiting on CoreAVC 2.0. It will provide an API which DGAVCDecode and use.
saint-francis is offline  
Old 15th May 2009, 12:46   #1827  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
id be glad if, in the meantime, libavcodec could be updated with the latest one, multithreaded and supporting x264 lossless encoding...
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 15th May 2009, 13:30   #1828  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth View Post
id be glad if, in the meantime, libavcodec could be updated with the latest one, multithreaded and supporting x264 lossless encoding...
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
I cannot use the newer versions because they are broken for accurate frame random access.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline  
Old 15th May 2009, 13:35   #1829  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
doh!!
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 20th May 2009, 15:56   #1830  |  Link
Mtz
Registered User
 
Mtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: On The Beach
Posts: 712
This is a TS with 4 audio and 8 subtitles. The subtitles are detected as AC3. Is possible to correct detect the subtitles and output them (demux) in some way?

enjoy,
Mtz
Mtz is offline  
Old 27th May 2009, 23:32   #1831  |  Link
Mtz
Registered User
 
Mtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: On The Beach
Posts: 712
DGAVCDec project is dead?
Mtz is offline  
Old 28th May 2009, 00:59   #1832  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Bugs will be fixed, but no more major development unless and until CoreAVC releases an API.
Guest is offline  
Old 28th May 2009, 01:21   #1833  |  Link
Mtz
Registered User
 
Mtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: On The Beach
Posts: 712
OK, thank you!
Do you think is possible to export the DVB Subtitles in some format, or this is also dependent of that API?

enjoy,
Mtz
Mtz is offline  
Old 28th May 2009, 04:40   #1834  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtz View Post
Do you think is possible to export the DVB Subtitles in some format
If you can point me to the relevant spec and provide a test stream.
Guest is offline  
Old 28th May 2009, 23:34   #1835  |  Link
Mtz
Registered User
 
Mtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: On The Beach
Posts: 712
Here and here I found some documentations.
In my previous post is a link for DVB Subtitles (as bitmap) which can be viewed by VLC and here seems to be a file with both types of subtitles (teletext and bitmaps) as reported and viewed by VLC. I think for MPEG2 only teletext subtitles are used, but for H264 can be used both types.
ProjectX can extract the DVB Subtitles but sometimes the palette of idx is wrong and the SUP file saved is SD not HD.
I saw in some eac3to log that the program can detect the DVB Subtitles correct even it cannot export them.
In my two provided samples the subtitles are detected as AAC or AC3.

enjoy,
Mtz
Mtz is offline  
Old 28th May 2009, 23:45   #1836  |  Link
nm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtz View Post
I think for MPEG2 only teletext subtitles are used, but for H264 can be used both types.
Bitmap-type DVB subtitles are used along SD MPEG-2 broadcasts in some countries (at least by YLE here in Finland).
nm is offline  
Old 7th July 2009, 14:23   #1837  |  Link
abero
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12
Since this thread is 92 pages long, i've checked and searched but couldn't find an answer, so maybe this is old news, but i've got a problem with a recently recorded hi-def .ts file.

I've opened the .264 in DGAVCIndex and save the project, created a .avs file, which looks like this:


loadplugin("DGAVCDecode.dll")
AVCSource("Disney Cinemagic HD - Saludos Amigos.dga")

Video looks ok in DGAVCIndex, but if i open the .avs file in virtualdub, megui, media player etc. i get a garbled frame every few frames which look like these :



Any1 know where my problem lies and what i can do about it?

Thanks
abero is offline  
Old 19th August 2009, 10:10   #1838  |  Link
ministrix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 36
I got a question. I've tried searching this thread but to no luck. For some reason dgavcdec wont do two .m2ts ( ive tried add both files but yet it only decodes the first ), so i wonder is there a way to load two avcsources like this
AVCSource("00000.dga"+"00009.dga") ?

I tried diff ways but to no luck.
ministrix is offline  
Old 19th August 2009, 10:50   #1839  |  Link
Audionut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,254
Get the latest beta from here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=147945

One of the fixes is multiple file support.
__________________
http://www.7-zip.org/
Audionut is offline  
Old 19th August 2009, 11:33   #1840  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audionut View Post
Get the latest beta from here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=147945

One of the fixes is multiple file support.
But those versions of DGAVCDec only work with (certain types of) Nvidia graphics cards.
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.