Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th January 2009, 13:50   #261  |  Link
pdurand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by deank View Post
Yes, next compliant resolution. ~528p will become 576p

height<480 = 480p
480<height<576 = 576p
576<height<720p = 720p
720<height<1080 = 1080p

Nothing can be done for the annoying green bar, yet, but this way subtitles are shown and saps play it better.

Ok I found one of you previous post about this and understood many things regarding my first post.

Is there a way to force a 720p resolution when the video is 1280x532 for example? 532 means ps3 will play it in the next compliant resolution which is 576p. Can't it be forced to 720p?

I noticed that:
For 1080 non standard mkv, vertical resolution is generally around 800 lines, which means it will show in 1080p -> no problem
But for 720 non standard mkv, vertical resolution is generally less thant 576 lines, which means it will show in 576p-> not very nice

Many thx again, you just rock!

Last edited by pdurand; 10th January 2009 at 13:55.
pdurand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 14:31   #262  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 4,247
As I earlier posted:

Playstation3 seems to ignore the information about vertical scan lines if the value is less than ~600. I had no time to test at which point PS3 forces 480p.

***

And another thing. All of you PLAYSTATION3 users who are disappointed by the green / black bar at the bottom and complain, saying: "When I play my NON-COMPLIANT video directly (the .m*ts file via XMB Video) it is shown correctly centered, but when in AVCHD it is TOP aligned or NOT SHOW at all! WHY?!"

First of all - we are all SO DAMN lucky to be able to play NC-AVCs via AVCHD playback feature of PS3. At any given point Sony programmers may remove this and require MTS files to be 100% compliant.

Second: There is NOTHING in common between XMB Video player (which will play almost any type of video content you feed it with) and BLURAY/AVCHD player that is launched when you put BD or AVCHD disk/SD/USB in your PS3.

So don't expect both to work in a similar fashion.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 14:31   #263  |  Link
robshot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 64
Just did the test with v. 1.4, with non-compliant resolution .mkv. I noticed in the log, v. 1.4 added the black video, so it is included in 0000.m2ts i suppose.
Playing the disc in my PS3, success with black bar on the bottom. Yet no subtitle showed, although I can choose it from my PS3 menu. Says language is English, but the subtitle doesn't show. Am I doing wrong in the subtitle setting? I choose size 40 and the Offset is 30.
__________________
HD n00b
robshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 14:36   #264  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 4,247
One second video is set via program objects in movieobject.bdmv which in their turn use 01300.M*TS.

Can you do the same test but with USB and see if you will have subtitles? And also - please send me your *.CPI/*.CLPI files.

Do you have [x] Apply compliant height checkbox checked in Authoring?

Dean

Last edited by deank; 10th January 2009 at 14:40.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 14:49   #265  |  Link
Forrest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by robshot View Post
Yet no subtitle showed, although I can choose it from my PS3 menu. Says language is English, but the subtitle doesn't show.
This usually happens when first sub begins at 00:00:00,000 because tsMuxeR add subtitle track but no subtitles.
Maybe this is not your problem, however try to control .srt file
Forrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 14:51   #266  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 4,247
Subtitles won't show on NC MKV files if CLPI/MPLS files are not set with correct height value.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 14:52   #267  |  Link
robshot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 64
No i didn't check the compliant height, since I thought I want to keep the x532 size.
Attached Files
File Type: rar clipinf.rar (15.9 KB, 20 views)
__________________
HD n00b
robshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 14:57   #268  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 4,247
You need to check it, otherwise subtitles will never show.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 14:59   #269  |  Link
robshot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 64
Ah, okidoki. Will try now, immediately, with a 4gb m2ts. so result might be after abour 1 hour. Thanks, Deank!
__________________
HD n00b
robshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 15:48   #270  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 4,247
A bug was reported by multiAVCHD user, who chose to use the ROOT of one of his drives for TEMP folder. Along with [x] Delete temp files it resulted in massive file loss, because multiAVCHD will try to delete every file inside TEMP path (i.e. X:\).

I never thought of it, but it seems it needs a fix, so last build will not accept root folders for TEMP.

It will accept C:\ but will change it to C:\_TEMP...

Dean Kasabow
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 17:37   #271  |  Link
robshot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 64
Well,
Oh... WOW... after a dozen plus not-100%-success with multiple titles AVCHD creation, and followed by AVCHD creation from non-compliant resolution mkv, I finally made it! A multiple titles AVCHD on DVD-R (Single Layer), with black bar on the bottom part, and subtitle on the video area (not in the black bar). Now I can delete those backups in the PS3 HDD (got the 160GB version), since the videos can now be safely backed-up in the format I wanted them to be, on DVD-R.
Thanks Deank, for making this possible. I guess the 2 things left to perfect the whole shebang are the centering of non-compliant resolution .mkv (theoretically possible?) and the custom menu creation.

ps. Wish you could taste these traditional coffee I'm having. The taste is wayyyyyy much better than those from Starbuck$!!!
__________________
HD n00b
robshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 17:49   #272  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 4,247
I'm more into Grandos Mocca Instant coffee with milk, no sugar and a lot of marlboro ftb 80s red.

I'll probably add "Wizard" to multiAVCHD that should help most unexperienced users. I continue to receive tons of emails each day about things that are clearly seen in the LOG file.

The important steps are:

* Decide if top menu will be used
*** Select proper system (PAL/NTSC)
*** Decide if it will be motion or lite type

* Add your MKV files / AVCHD folders

All other options left to default should provide you with compliant AVCHD folder. (you can restore defaults by erasing multiAVCHD.ini)
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 18:14   #273  |  Link
robshot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 64
Did you manage to put the warning sign for those PS3 non-compliant .mkv? I am referring to the ones with PS3-non-compliant x264 encoding parameter, not the non-compliant resolution (which is now 'fixed' with multiAVCHD v. 1.4). I'm doing another AVCHD building right now, so I can't test with some .mkv I have that are not PS3-compliant.

cheers,
black coffee, 1 sugar, and loads of clove-cigarettes. Again, tastier than them marlboroses
__________________
HD n00b
robshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 18:21   #274  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 4,247
If someone provides an example of what to look for in mediainfo log about x264 encoding i'll be glad to add this check.

If not, it will take time to do some investigation what is and what is not compatible with PS3.

----

quick update: [Reset all to default] button added in Settings tab.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 19:56   #275  |  Link
G_M_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by robshot View Post
Well,
[...]

ps. Wish you could taste these traditional coffee I'm having. The taste is wayyyyyy much better than those from Starbuck$!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by deank View Post
I'm more into Grandos Mocca Instant coffee with milk, no sugar and a lot of marlboro ftb 80s red.
[...]
I grind my own coffee beans, and use a "Cafetière", otherwise known as "French Press". I can practically guarantee the best results
G_M_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 20:36   #276  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 4,247
I'm eager to taste.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 21:10   #277  |  Link
turbojet
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by deank View Post
@turbojet: I did a lot of changes last night - have no Idea what could the problem be. Does SAPs work with 1920x1080 and 1280x720 videos?
Both players work with same x264 settings at native resolutions.
turbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 00:33   #278  |  Link
xvibe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Hi deank!
I can't get the AVCHD folder with the streams but the TEMP folder has the files.
Here is the log:

Code:
[23:30:17] Log started for multiAVCHD  v1.4 (build 172) 
[23:30:17] Processing...
[23:30:17] Processing 1 files/folders.
[23:30:17] Converting mkv file to AVCHD (C:\filmes\samples\2002.mkv).
[23:30:17] Detected video: ID#1:V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC:1280x544 24.000fps (AR:2.35)
[23:30:17] Video height not AVCHD compliant (480/576/720/1080)! Final output may be distorted.
[23:30:17] Fixing clip and playlist info.
[23:30:17] Detected audio: ID#2:A_DTS:audio (48000Hz/6ch) Language: und
[23:30:17] Detected subtitles: ID#3:S_TEXT/UTF8 Language: und
[23:30:17] Generating meta file for tsMuxer...
[23:30:17] M2TS stream split set at 3999MiB...
[23:30:17] Found SRT subtitles in source folder. Will add to compilation!
[23:30:17] Searching for original chapters (mediainfo).
[23:30:17] Inserting auto chapters.
[23:30:17] Creating BluRay folders (tsMuxer)...
[23:30:22] Done!
[23:30:22] Applying new vertical resolution to video (720p).
[23:30:22] Preparing authoring information...
[23:30:22] Copying 1 sec blank video data.
[23:30:22] Creating static/lite top PAL menu.
[23:30:22] Setting menu for 0 titles...
[23:30:22] Setting titles #1 to #40 to point top menu.
[23:30:22] Fixing clip files...
[23:30:22] Completed.
[23:30:22] Creating AVCHD compatible 8.3 filenames...
[23:30:22] Done!
[23:30:22] C:\multiAVCHD\AVCHD folder created!
[23:30:22] Copy C:\multiAVCHD\AVCHD to root of USB drive or USB disk.
[23:30:22] Copy C:\multiAVCHD\AVCHD to X:\PRIVATE\ of SD/MMC card.
[23:30:22] You may now remove temp folder (C:\multiAVCHD\_TEMP\).
[23:30:44] Log started for multiAVCHD  v1.4 (build 172) 
[23:30:44] Processing...
[23:30:44] Processing 1 files/folders.
[23:30:44] Existing C:\multiAVCHD\AVCHD\ renamed to C:\multiAVCHD\AVCHD-20090110-233044
[23:30:44] Converting mkv file to AVCHD (C:\filmes\samples\2002.mkv).
[23:30:44] Detected video: ID#1:V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC:1280x544 24.000fps (AR:2.35)
[23:30:44] Video height not AVCHD compliant (480/576/720/1080)! Final output may be distorted.
[23:30:44] Fixing clip and playlist info.
[23:30:44] Detected audio: ID#2:A_DTS:audio (48000Hz/6ch) Language: und
[23:30:44] Detected subtitles: ID#3:S_TEXT/UTF8 Language: und
[23:30:44] Generating meta file for tsMuxer...
[23:30:44] M2TS stream split set at 3999MiB...
[23:30:44] Found SRT subtitles in source folder. Will add to compilation!
[23:30:44] Searching for original chapters (mediainfo).
[23:30:44] Inserting auto chapters.
[23:30:44] Creating BluRay folders (tsMuxer)...
[23:30:45] Done!
[23:30:45] Applying new vertical resolution to video (720p).
[23:30:45] Preparing authoring information...
[23:30:45] Copying 1 sec blank video data.
[23:30:45] Creating static/lite top PAL menu.
[23:30:45] Setting menu for 0 titles...
[23:30:45] Setting titles #1 to #40 to point top menu.
[23:30:45] Fixing clip files...
[23:30:45] Completed.
[23:30:45] Creating AVCHD compatible 8.3 filenames...
[23:30:45] Done!
[23:30:45] C:\multiAVCHD\AVCHD folder created!
[23:30:45] Copy C:\multiAVCHD\AVCHD to root of USB drive or USB disk.
[23:30:45] Copy C:\multiAVCHD\AVCHD to X:\PRIVATE\ of SD/MMC card.
The AVCHD folder has 2.153MB and the _TEMP folder has 7.8MB.
This happens both for BD or AVCHD, any file and with any option on the menu.

Anyway. why the output stream is shorter than the original one? My input file is 55MB and the output stream is only 7MB.

What going wrong? I'm using vista ultimate x64.
xvibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 13:07   #279  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 4,247
Yes, the temp contains MENU files, but not the source media.

For some reason tsMuxer didn't produce any media files (mtss).

Can you try loading your mkv in ts muxer and check?
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 15:10   #280  |  Link
robshot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvibe View Post
Hi deank!
I can't get the AVCHD folder with the streams but the TEMP folder has the files.
Here is the log:
...
The AVCHD folder has 2.153MB and the _TEMP folder has 7.8MB.
This happens both for BD or AVCHD, any file and with any option on the menu.

Anyway. why the output stream is shorter than the original one? My input file is 55MB and the output stream is only 7MB.

What going wrong? I'm using vista ultimate x64.
I ran into similar issue last week. My original file is 500mb-ish, and the resulting file is 300mb-ish
After carefully check the 300mb-ish, it turned out that the .srt subtitle file that accompanying the .mkv was the source of the problem. The .srt should NOT have 1 free line (i.e. you press enter AFTER a subtitle line, then followed by another enter, then followed by the time-code line).
After I fix the .srt, remove the empty line, then AVCHD (or tsmuxer) mux the .m2ts correctly.
Perhaps this was the source of your error?

cheers
robshot
__________________
HD n00b
robshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avchd, blu-ray hd-dvd, mkv, multiavchd, re-author

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.