Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th December 2008, 02:59   #161  |  Link
woah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Big O came through again with a fix! Redownload 1.0.0 and get the updated nvcuvid.dll. It's a pretty rare case apparently.

Isn't Nvidia support the cat's meow?

@woah!

Big O is interested to know what encoder was used or where that clip came from. Anything you could tell us would be valuable. Big O thinks it's a very poor encoder and is wondering who is using it. Thanks.
its straight off the bluray disc the dark knight. it has a weird setup where by they use film 2:35:1 for most parts and like the clip i posted is in 16:9 format which was filmed with a imax camera.
woah! is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 04:55   #162  |  Link
woah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 435
still seeing a pink block at frame 168 of the problem clip you have already? i see it in preview and after i process the clip and use virtualdub to see its frame 168.

its the only one i see nor tho....


Last edited by woah!; 14th December 2008 at 06:20.
woah! is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 06:14   #163  |  Link
woah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 435
seems i have another clip with blocks

all seems to be in this area of the film timeline.


blocks:


no blocks with aavs.dll





heres the clip : http://tinyurl.com/6qbm68
woah! is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 07:04   #164  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,290
Do these titles work without Direct3D? In other words, can you successfully use these tools over Remote Desktop?

~MiSfit
Blue_MiSfit is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 16:51   #165  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
woah!

I've seen a very small blocking here when i look carefully: (which is not so appearent as in your screenshot)




180.60 FW with Cuda tools, latest DX update, latest nvcuvid.dll, Vista 32 SP1, 8600 GTS
_ _ _

Last edited by rica; 14th December 2008 at 16:56.
rica is offline  
Old 15th December 2008, 03:30   #166  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
@Blue_MiSfit

The CUDA decoders require Direct3D.

@all

Please get the new nvcuvid.dll from the 1.0.0 distribution. I believe all the blocking and pink squares should now be history. Thank you for your patience.
Guest is offline  
Old 15th December 2008, 03:52   #167  |  Link
woah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 435
yes all now looks perfect thx

quick question, what is the max bitrate for bluray ? i thought 50mbps was max including audio. but once processed the log shows a Bitrate (Max): 50.731
woah! is offline  
Old 15th December 2008, 04:20   #168  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
That's a spike. I don't know how the spec is defined. It all hinges on the time period over which the bitrate is measured.
Guest is offline  
Old 15th December 2008, 04:59   #169  |  Link
woah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 435
its just you said nvidia thought this was a bad encoder used, so maybe it is outta spec too, i have heard people are having issues with audio cut outs with this disc too...
woah! is offline  
Old 17th December 2008, 02:32   #170  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
I've just tried 180.84 beta FW and blocking has started again:


Last edited by rica; 17th December 2008 at 02:44.
rica is offline  
Old 17th December 2008, 04:52   #171  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Need clip.
Guest is offline  
Old 17th December 2008, 23:48   #172  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
It is on the post 163.
rica is offline  
Old 18th December 2008, 15:12   #173  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by rica View Post
I've just tried 180.84 beta FW and blocking has started again
Can't duplicate this. Looks like you are using an old nvcuvid.dll. Get it again out of the 1.0.0 distribution and make sure you are using that one. I have put the latest one from Nvidia there just now.
Guest is offline  
Old 18th December 2008, 19:02   #174  |  Link
avivahl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 215
neuron2: can you check if the 181.00 beta drivers contain the correct dll?
http://developer.nvidia.com/object/opengl_3_driver.html
avivahl is offline  
Old 18th December 2008, 19:37   #175  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
I don't think the driver includes nvcuvid.dll. In any case, you have to use the one I supply.
Guest is offline  
Old 18th December 2008, 20:46   #176  |  Link
laserfan
Aging Video Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Off the Map
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
...For those not acquainted with my tools, the NV on the end denotes a version that runs on an Nvidia graphics card GPU. I don't have any plans to develop a non-NV version because I am not aware of any decent open source decoder...
I came here to see about a "non-NV version" and of course, due to neuron2's remarkable powers-of-documentation I find my answer in Post 1!!! Having now experienced what I believe to be issues w/both MS' and libavcodec's decoding of VC1, I find myself looking to get an NVidia graphics card, which in my case means also upgrading my old P4/AGP system completely to a new PCI Express 16-capable one. Santa-are-you-listening.

Anyway neuron2 if you have any occasion to leverage w/Nvidia the enhanced "pub" they're getting with your new tool, you should do so! They are gonna sell some cards as a result of your efforts!

--Current ATI Radeon owner
laserfan is offline  
Old 18th December 2008, 21:29   #177  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Get it again out of the 1.0.0 distribution and make sure you are using that one. I have put the latest one from Nvidia there just now.
Yes, it is working with your latest update; thanks. (looks very clean.)
rica is offline  
Old 18th December 2008, 22:20   #178  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserfan View Post
They are gonna sell some cards as a result of your efforts!
It would be nice to think that, but the community of Avisynth afficionado's is pretty small. Now if I make a DirectShow filter based on it...

Anyway, I think the Nvidia/ATI market share ratio is like 2/3 already, if I can believe what I read.

9600GT is a good choice for price/performance.
Guest is offline  
Old 18th December 2008, 23:40   #179  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserfan View Post
They are gonna sell some cards as a result of your efforts!

--Current ATI Radeon owner
Believe me, even neuron can not rescue Ati which is a candidate of Guinness with its most reading thread (issues thread) on avsforum. (almost one million reading)
Ati owners always have to buy a new card hoping they won't meet issues anymore; this explains 2/3

Last edited by rica; 18th December 2008 at 23:49.
rica is offline  
Old 19th December 2008, 00:34   #180  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,950
Tough it's sad to see ATI going so down in Video i mean we talk about the guys that where top in Video research back then when Nvidia only thought about how todo 3D and now we see Nvidia overthrowing ATI in Video, but it's also their fault they keep to closed in terms of their Video stuff and Nvidia was much faster leveraging that opportunity so i feel sad for ATI and their R&D guys
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.