Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Announcements and Chat > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th November 2008, 18:22   #1  |  Link
TommyR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Video won't play?

Hi all:

Can't figure it out.

I did a video from my Canon G9 camera. It produced a .avi file. The video and sound plays nice on two computers at work but when I go to play it on my home computer the first frame of the video comes up and then stops. The machine does not lock up but the video does not play.

On all 3 computers I chose to use windows media player, my home is v11 and work it v9 and v11.

At home winamp will play it. On some other software on my home machine it will play it but there is some jitter on the video and/or sound on the .avi file.

I just can't figure out why WMP v11 on my home computer can't play it.

Maybe someone knows the answer.

Thanking in advance for any and all help.

-TommyR
TommyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 19:28   #2  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,177
You camera captures video using the "Motion JPEG" format. So you'll need a "DirectShow" decoder filter to suit - Which, as far as I'm aware, is a standard Microsoft filter, so WMP11 should play it
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 20:52   #3  |  Link
TommyR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
True and it does, but not on my home computer.

At work, with 2 different machines it's ok, at home it doesn't.

-TommyR
TommyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 21:06   #4  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,655
Try with ffdshow. That can also decode MJPEG.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 21:17   #5  |  Link
TommyR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Why would my WMP v11 on my home machine NOT want to play a motionjpeg?

I guess I'm asking what could cause my home WMP v11 not to play it -- it should. And on other machines it does.

-TommyR
TommyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 22:16   #6  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,655
Do you have a different OS at home? Maybe Vista no longer has MJPEG support out of the box.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 22:17   #7  |  Link
TommyR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Do you have a different OS at home? Maybe Vista no longer has MJPEG support out of the box.
No, all machines are XP sp2
TommyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 22:20   #8  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,655
Do you have ffdshow installed? Disable MJPEG in its options. I vaguely recall a similar playback issue where ffdshow could not properly decode the MJPEG video. Digital cameras often create slightly b0rked files.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 22:42   #9  |  Link
TommyR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Do you have ffdshow installed? Disable MJPEG in its options. I vaguely recall a similar playback issue where ffdshow could not properly decode the MJPEG video. Digital cameras often create slightly b0rked files.

I don't have that installed.

-TommyR
TommyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 23:02   #10  |  Link
Jay Bee
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 451
Use a player that will tell you which decoder it's using and that allows you to select which decoder you want to use. Zoom Player and MPC can do this.
Jay Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 23:06   #11  |  Link
TommyR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Bee View Post
Use a player that will tell you which decoder it's using and that allows you to select which decoder you want to use. Zoom Player and MPC can do this.
Well, Winamp will play the file - but I am determined to try to get WMP v11 to play it. There must be a reason to why it can't.

-TommyR
TommyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 23:22   #12  |  Link
Jay Bee
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 451
Yes, there is a reason, but WMP won't tell you what it is. You need to use a player that gives you more information to troubleshoot it. For example if you set Zoom Player to VMR7 and non-smart play mode it will use exactly the same splitters/decoders/filters as WMP. Then you can right-click and see which decoder is causing the problem.
Jay Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 23:33   #13  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,177
Quite often WMP is able to display the directshow filter being used under "Properties"....
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.