Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th November 2008, 16:32   #1  |  Link
burro08
Registered User
 
burro08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 93
VC-1 encoded m2ts wont play on ps3

Hi Guys

I have a pile of blu-rays and now that sony have added sequential play back i can now put them on my ext hard drive and dont need to swap discs.

I have found that the VC-1 blu-rays dont play ie condemned and never back down.

I have enabled wma in settings and made each part less than 2gb.

Is there something im missing????


Thanks


PS To mods sorry if in wrong place
burro08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 16:39   #2  |  Link
Jeff Flowerday
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 150
No, you aren't missing anything. It's simply not supported in a m2ts container unless physically on a blu-ray disc. Silly isn't it?
Jeff Flowerday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 16:52   #3  |  Link
burro08
Registered User
 
burro08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Flowerday View Post
No, you aren't missing anything. It's simply not supported in a m2ts container unless physically on a blu-ray disc. Silly isn't it?
Yea and a Real pain, any way around it?
burro08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 16:55   #4  |  Link
Jeff Flowerday
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by burro08 View Post
Yea and a Real pain, any way around it?
No not really. It apparently works in a wmv container, of course.

Your other option is to convert the video from VC-1 to H264.
Jeff Flowerday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 17:00   #5  |  Link
burro08
Registered User
 
burro08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 93
My brain isnt working today, how can i put it in a wma container? and converting it take too long lol
burro08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 18:14   #6  |  Link
Jeff Flowerday
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by burro08 View Post
My brain isnt working today, how can i put it in a wma container? and converting it take too long lol
You can't just remux into a wma container. The wmv container doesn't support the HD blu-ray audio formats.

I was just make a smart ass comment how vc1 is microsoft so thus it naturally works in a wmv container.

All you can do is pray and hope that sony will add support for it some day. Maybe post on this thread in the playstation forums.

http://boardsus.playstation.com/play...read.id=107586

Last edited by Jeff Flowerday; 4th November 2008 at 18:52.
Jeff Flowerday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 18:55   #7  |  Link
burro08
Registered User
 
burro08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Flowerday View Post
You can't just remux into a wma container. The wmv container doesn't support the HD blu-ray audio formats.
Crap lol
burro08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2008, 04:31   #8  |  Link
burro08
Registered User
 
burro08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 93
What are my options for converting to h264,without loss of quality?? if any
burro08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2008, 20:43   #9  |  Link
burro08
Registered User
 
burro08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 93
Anyone??
burro08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2008, 21:24   #10  |  Link
Bigmango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 380
The best/easiest for this task imho is ripbot. Just select m2ts for the output and copy stream for the audio (it also lets you make a blu-ray disc on a DVD5 or DVD9, for this you need to fix the output size and encode in 2 pass)

Keeping the default settings (with crf 22 - constant quality) will ensure almost no quality loss. If you really want to go for top notch quality you can try crf 20 or even 18, but it isn't worth the longer encoding times imho; crf 22 is good enough. The default level 4 setting also ensures blu-ray player and hardware decoding compatibility.
Bigmango is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
m2ts, ps3, vc-1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.