Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th August 2008, 09:56   #1781  |  Link
magic144
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 380
Another question.
I'm currently using AVCSource, but when previously using MeGUI's AVISynth creator on a BluRay title, I noticed this line in the .avs file:-

DirectShowSource("filename.m2ts",fps=23.9759856527702,audio=false)

I was just wondering where that value for fps comes from? - I was under the impression it was supposed to be 24000/1001 or 23.976023976023976023976023976024 which is obviously a different value!

AVCSource doesn't have such a parameter, although the .dga file produced by DGAVCIndex does contain this line at the end:-

FPS 48000 / 2002
magic144 is offline  
Old 24th August 2008, 14:53   #1782  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
from mediainfo.
you can safely change it to 24000/1001.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 24th August 2008, 20:39   #1783  |  Link
magic144
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 380
hmm, well I guess that's only about a 5ms drift per hour so it won't be noticeable in any kind of audio sync/etc.

which one is more correct? is the mediainfo number calculated from my .m2ts source file somehow?
I wonder why the number differs from D Graft's calculation...

not trying to be picky, just interested in the theory!
magic144 is offline  
Old 25th August 2008, 03:22   #1784  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
the correct one is 24000/1001.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 25th August 2008, 03:40   #1785  |  Link
magic144
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 380
thanks for the confirmation & clarification Sharktooth :-)

Last edited by magic144; 25th August 2008 at 03:58.
magic144 is offline  
Old 26th August 2008, 17:35   #1786  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth View Post
during the check for free disk space the floppy is checked too...
I doubt that...floppy is #2 on my system.

Code:
if (queryObject == "Win32_LogicalDisk")
                    {
                        if (mo["DriveType"].ToString() == "3") // HDD
                        {
                            long freespace = long.Parse(mo["FreeSpace"].ToString()) / 1073741824;
                            long totalsize = long.Parse(mo["Size"].ToString()) / 1073741824;

                            if (mo["VolumeName"].ToString() == "")
                                mo["VolumeName"] = "Local Disk";

                            res += mo["VolumeName"].ToString() + " (" + mo["Name"].ToString() + ")  -  " + Convert.ToString(freespace) + " Go free of " + Convert.ToString(totalsize) + " Go\n";
                        }
                    }
I use LogicalDisk to retrieve the Free Space from the Hard Drives. It's the only way because DiskDrive cannot have this value unfortunately. That's why it scans all logical disks available on the PC (HDD, floppy, CDROM, etc...).

@Avenger007 : could you try this build and this one please and tell me which is the best for you.

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 26th August 2008 at 20:13.
Kurtnoise is offline  
Old 26th August 2008, 19:10   #1787  |  Link
Avenger007
Bruce Wayne
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
@Avenger007 : could you try this build and this one please and tell me which is the best for you.
Unfortunately both of those still access the floppy drive . Thanks for taking the time to consider my problem though.
Avenger007 is offline  
Old 26th August 2008, 20:10   #1788  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,182
Well...I give up then.

Anyway, could you try this tool...Load it, go to the 2nd tab (Data Storage) and select Win32_LogicalDisk from the dropdown list on the right. What do you see for your floppy drive ? especially the value for the MediaType...

Post a screenshot if you want.
Kurtnoise is offline  
Old 26th August 2008, 20:15   #1789  |  Link
Avenger007
Bruce Wayne
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
Anyway, could you try this tool...Load it, go to the 2nd tab (Data Storage) and select Win32_LogicalDisk from the dropdown list on the right. What do you see for your floppy drive ? especially the value for the MediaType...
DeviceID: A:
DriveType: 2
MediaType: 5
Avenger007 is offline  
Old 26th August 2008, 20:22   #1790  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,182
unplug your floppy then...

Sorry, I'm kinding but I've no idea how to avoid this behaviour unless to remove this part. As you can see, the code above seems correct to me.

btw, it was the Sharktooth idea to commit this patch not me...
Kurtnoise is offline  
Old 26th August 2008, 20:26   #1791  |  Link
Avenger007
Bruce Wayne
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 283
Well how useful is that patch? Would the information provided by the patch really help with debugging problems?
Also, is the problem only on my side or do others have the same problem?
Avenger007 is offline  
Old 26th August 2008, 20:28   #1792  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
Wouldn't DriveInfo.GetDrives() be easier?
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player
stax76 is offline  
Old 26th August 2008, 20:49   #1793  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,182
easier maybe but the problem remains I think because you need to loop through all the drives to retrieve infos. The goal is to grab only the free space from hard drives.
Kurtnoise is offline  
Old 26th August 2008, 22:12   #1794  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
I'm confident that this code will fix the issue:

Code:
foreach (var i in DriveInfo.GetDrives())
{
    if (i.DriveType == DriveType.Fixed)
    {
	try
	{
	    var space = i.AvailableFreeSpace;
	}
	catch (Exception ex)
	{
	}	
    }
}
You really need a try block here because some volumes will throw a exception, volumes locked with Folder Guard for example.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player

Last edited by stax76; 26th August 2008 at 22:18.
stax76 is offline  
Old 27th August 2008, 00:34   #1795  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
no floppy drives on my PCs so i didnt notice it. however if the floppy checking is the only "problem" i think we can live with it...
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 27th August 2008, 01:29   #1796  |  Link
magic144
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 380
Not really a question about MeGUI, but about a couple of parameters within it...

I've seen a MeGUI guide or two (one in particular by DJRumpy I believe) where it has been recommended to set the Keyframe Interval to about 10 times the frame rate, and the Min GOP size to "about the same as" the frame rate... i.e. for a typical 24000/1001 fps source, a Keyframe Interval of 240 and Min GOP size of 24 is suggested.

Is there any value in changing from the default DXVA-HD-HQ values I see in my profile of 250 and 25? What would be the advantage or disadvantage of either pair of values? Would certain values/combinations invalidate the DXVA compatibility??

And finally, is this "rule of 10" true or reasonable for ALL frame rates?

Thanks again from a newbie in advance for the global wisdom,

m
magic144 is offline  
Old 27th August 2008, 01:52   #1797  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
the rule of thumb is just a rule of thumb... i set 250/25 coz the rule of thumb and coz i live in a PAL country (where almost everything is 25 FPS). if you encode 24 FPS stuff you can safely set it to 240/24... for 30 FPS 300/30.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 27th August 2008, 02:01   #1798  |  Link
~bT~
н∂-αиαтι
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 1,005
^ i think it would be better to set HD profiles to 240/24 as most HD stuff is 24.

also, the AVCHD profile has 24/2? is that correct?

ps. i haven't touched the profiles btw..
~bT~ is offline  
Old 27th August 2008, 02:13   #1799  |  Link
magic144
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 380
Thanks Sharktooth.
You mean you don't live in Haddonfield, IL :-)

I've already encoded a 24000/1001 fps source with 250/25
Is it worth reencoding with 240/24, or is it only a minor codec/bitrate efficiency issue? (i.e. is the 'rule of thumb' there to be an optimal setting for x264 in some way and how bad is deviating from the rule - just a trivial difference in encoding efficiency I am hoping!!)

I *eventually* came to understand the rationale for the whole GOP Sequence M, N/M settings for CCE for MPEG-2 DVD-compliant authoring and there was a limited amount of freedom of choice depending on the source and applied pulldown if any, but there were also hard limits as to what you couldn't choose depending on the source and violating those boundaries would make the encoded stream invalid (e.g. NTSC DVD-standards-compliant MPEG-2 video has a GOP length limit of 36 fields/18 frames) . Are there similar limits/guidelines here?

Thanks again,

m
magic144 is offline  
Old 27th August 2008, 06:01   #1800  |  Link
magic144
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 380
Hi again,

just used the latest MeGUI build 0.3.0.2002 to auto-encode a 2-pass encode/mux

I notice that even though in my Options|Setting I have "Delete Intermediate Files" unchecked, the job files (jobN.xml) created include directives to delete those very files
(i.e. FilesToDelete sections for e.g. .stats file, pre-muxing .mkv source, etc)

I know I got this to work OK on the last (previous) release.

m
magic144 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.