Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th August 2008, 14:35   #1761  |  Link
JPSiemer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by wata View Post
after updating to latest core_0_3_0_2001, the next queue job won't start, cause the when current job finish it keep a dialog pop up and ask whether you want to shut down worker?
when you click yes or no it won't continue the next job.
now i move back to the previous working core 0.3.0.1020
same prob here... was this fixed in the 0.3.0.2002 update?
JPSiemer is offline  
Old 19th August 2008, 14:41   #1762  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
yep. fixed.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 19th August 2008, 20:18   #1763  |  Link
Nightshiver
Quality Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Area 52
Posts: 597
Pre-render pass: When checked, this makes a lossless pass avi file. After it has finished, the rest of the encoding usually goes by quicker because lossless avi=very fast to read
Analysis pass: For using VFR, pass=1,pass=2 scripts
Nightshiver is offline  
Old 20th August 2008, 07:36   #1764  |  Link
rkalwaitis
Robert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 407
Thanks Nightshiver.
rkalwaitis is offline  
Old 21st August 2008, 06:43   #1765  |  Link
magic144
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 380
@Sharktooth

just been following this thread some more
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...95#post1172195

there is a suggestion that something like the DGAVC toolset is somehow 'more predictable' in its frame-serving accuracy

is this a commonly held opinion and if so, is this the way that MeGUI's .avs scripts will head in the future (i.e. away from DirectShowSource) as DG's toolset becomes more mature?

I know, for instance, that by way of comparison, the excellent DVD Rebuilder GUI relies on DG's MPEG2 frame-serving tools in performing DVD backup duties
magic144 is offline  
Old 21st August 2008, 11:02   #1766  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
we will definatly integrate DGAVCIndex for AVC files, so, yes, we will use DG tools whenever possible.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 21st August 2008, 15:01   #1767  |  Link
rkalwaitis
Robert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 407
Sharktooth was is the sane range for psy rdo settings?
rkalwaitis is offline  
Old 21st August 2008, 15:46   #1768  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
ask dark shikari
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 22nd August 2008, 15:50   #1769  |  Link
Roco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Updating to the latest version 0.3.0.2002 produces the following error message when MEGUI starts:
"System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.at MeGUI.OSInfo.GetMOStuff(String queryObject).

EDIT: I submitted it to the bugs tracker.

Last edited by Roco; 22nd August 2008 at 16:08.
Roco is offline  
Old 22nd August 2008, 16:14   #1770  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
... and it has been closed.
do a clean install. something is screwed on your side.

Last edited by Sharktooth; 22nd August 2008 at 16:17.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 22nd August 2008, 16:39   #1771  |  Link
Avenger007
Bruce Wayne
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 283
Every time I open MeGUI 0.3.0.2002 it accesses my floppy drive
Previous versions didn't do that.

As an aside, why isn't MP4Box 0.4.5-dev used in updates?
Avenger007 is offline  
Old 22nd August 2008, 16:44   #1772  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
coz now megui collects more data in the log to help debugging and troubleshooting.
mp4box 0.4.5. dev is unstable.

Last edited by Sharktooth; 22nd August 2008 at 16:50.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 22nd August 2008, 16:45   #1773  |  Link
Avenger007
Bruce Wayne
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 283
Umh... what does that have to do with my floppy drive?
Avenger007 is offline  
Old 22nd August 2008, 17:01   #1774  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
the sourcecode is available...
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 22nd August 2008, 17:05   #1775  |  Link
Avenger007
Bruce Wayne
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 283
I meant what is the necessity of checking the floppy drive?
It's quite annoying
Avenger007 is offline  
Old 22nd August 2008, 17:06   #1776  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
during the check for free disk space the floppy is checked too... so... draw your conclusions.
also, you still have a floppy?
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 23rd August 2008, 14:35   #1777  |  Link
Roco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth View Post
... and it has been closed.
do a clean install. something is screwed on your side.
Well, although my system has more than 100 applications or so, it runs very well, very stable. I've made it carefully especially to save the whole partition with backup software. No other problems except on that weird message from your application.

But, I just did a test on another XP partition I have for testing purposes almost "virgin" with just a couple of basic apps, (acrobat, nod32, folder guard) where I installed avisynth 2.5.7 and megui 0.3.0.2002. Then, when I tried to open megui I got the same error!
So, i'm sorry but it seems that the fault is definitely on your side!

Here is a screenshot:


PS: If I click "OK" megui opens, but I don't know if eveything will run Ok...
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Roco; 23rd August 2008 at 14:37.
Roco is offline  
Old 23rd August 2008, 15:10   #1778  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roco View Post
So, i'm sorry but it seems that the fault is definitely on your side!

PS: If I click "OK" megui opens, but I don't know if eveything will run Ok...
Are you sure it's on the developer's side? I'm running same 0.3.0.2002 version without a hitch on several XP comptuers. I don't get any warning messages. A few of my friends are too...It's probably on your side
poisondeathray is offline  
Old 23rd August 2008, 15:34   #1779  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roco View Post
Well, although my system has more than 100 applications or so, it runs very well, very stable. I've made it carefully especially to save the whole partition with backup software. No other problems except on that weird message from your application.

But, I just did a test on another XP partition I have for testing purposes almost "virgin" with just a couple of basic apps, (acrobat, nod32, folder guard) where I installed avisynth 2.5.7 and megui 0.3.0.2002. Then, when I tried to open megui I got the same error!
So, i'm sorry but it seems that the fault is definitely on your side!
Oh, come on Roco,
hundreds or even thousands of people are using MeGui on a daily basis.
And they are not complaining about anything.
We don't know anything about your system or setup.
I have never seen two identical WinXP setups.
So what makes you think your installations are 100% clean?
Which Service Packs, which framework, which Plugins in your Avisynth folder? They might interfere with the ones MeGui is using.
And you are registered here at Doom9 from 2005, you should know how and where to post images (hint: imageshack)and log files.
Taurus is offline  
Old 23rd August 2008, 16:22   #1780  |  Link
Roco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Just before I answer to your replies I thought I should make another test... and I found the "cause" of this error!

I just disabled temporary Folder Guard (v7.6 XP edition) protection, which locked the access of other partitions in my multiboot system (3 XP partitions, 2 Vista) each one made for max stability for different kinds of tasks. Then the initial error message didn't appear! If you want to test this, just lock other partitions probably with any protection software, but preferably with the very good Folder Guard.

Now comes the question: Who's fault is this?
I wouldn't mind to admit my fault at all, (I'm not that selfish) but I think that no encoder software should produce an error message just because I limited its access to irrelative partitions where I have installed other OSes!!! The least proper application behaviour should be to give a specific error message e.g "Error: Could not access partitions D, E, F, G, H" but why it needs to access these partitions anyway? Statistics? It should ask for user permition IMO!

BTW, one of the main reasons I use Folder Guard, is for badly designed software where while installing on e.g D XP partition, they want to access C XP partition and sometimes corrupt that OS installation -and of course for malicious software too, or spyware etc. It worked well in this case too IMO... although I don't think megui is malicious...

BTW here is the screenshot I was talking about (which I've never seen before, not even with the previous megui version):

Last edited by Roco; 23rd August 2008 at 16:46.
Roco is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.