Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th June 2008, 13:51   #1961  |  Link
arrirc
Aminei
 
arrirc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax View Post
Hi,

It's crashing trying to minimize a external application, what external application runs when this happens? I've uploaded a beta trying to fix it but since it's not clear what's causing it I can't promise much.
Thank you very much Stax.
I believe the application was Firefox 'cause thats the only program that was running while I was using StaxRip.

Now may I request your attention to a doubt that I have? I have recently converted a Video which was ripped on my HDD, to MP4-X.264 combination. First I tried the profile under Constant Quality> ASP Q2 eq (crf) and next time I have used High Quality> Slow CRF 22.

For the same movie, which is BW, the first profile yielded a file of 1.8GB in size (approx) and the second profile resulted a much smaller file size (about 900 MB). While using these profiles, in both cases, the "compressibility check" option did not appear.
Is this size difference Normal?
arrirc is offline  
Old 27th June 2008, 15:19   #1962  |  Link
stax76
staxrip maintainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lšndle
Posts: 5,056
Quote:
Is this size difference Normal?
In the x264 dialog, press the F1 key and work through the guides, what you are most interested is CRF Mode. CRF 22 gives you a good balance between filesize and quality, CRF 18 gives extreme quality/filesize.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots

Last edited by stax76; 27th June 2008 at 15:23.
stax76 is online now  
Old 27th June 2008, 15:39   #1963  |  Link
arrirc
Aminei
 
arrirc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 209
Thank you Stax, I shall let you know in a day or two.

So the 900MB file is good enough as a archive/backup, and so is the "High Quality> Slow CRF 22" profile- right?
arrirc is offline  
Old 27th June 2008, 16:47   #1964  |  Link
stax76
staxrip maintainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lšndle
Posts: 5,056
It's well balanced assuming you don't use a resize filter.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
stax76 is online now  
Old 27th June 2008, 18:52   #1965  |  Link
arrirc
Aminei
 
arrirc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax View Post
It's well balanced assuming you don't use a resize filter.
I did not have to resize in the first case, but I did resize in the second case, I am not in front my own PC, so I can't recall the exact WxH, but most probably the W=702! What's wrong with the resize? If I encode taking 720x480 or 720x576, will the file sizes be considerably larger?

Now a little off topic: I must admit that I am greatly impressed with your software and you mostly. Your promptness in responding to even flimsy/ silly issues that we newbies bring forward is commendable. Please accept my heartfelt gratitude. Thank You!

----------------
Now playing: Cliff Richard - True Love Ways
via FoxyTunes
arrirc is offline  
Old 28th June 2008, 11:12   #1966  |  Link
stax76
staxrip maintainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lšndle
Posts: 5,056
@arric

You can use the same CRF value for any image size, for small image sizes I would probably lower the CRF value in order to improve the quality. I appreciate your gratitude!

@all

If you want to help testing the beta, this is the current status:

* Some new MKV features added
* Tooltip added to tray icon showing console output
* Preparers can define which formats to be used and which not
* Various aspect ratio fixes and improvements
* VirtualDub updated to 1.8.1
* DGAVCDec updated to 1.0.0a24
* Many fixes and Improvements regarding various source formats
* Pass through encoder improved to handle not only previously encoded project but also source files
* Since the pass through encoder was improved StaxRip can now be used to (batch) remux source files.
* MediaInfo updated to version 0.7.7.2, it fixes reading aspect ratio from anamorphic avi source files
* Some fixes and improvements picking up audio files
* Added MP4 demuxing, improved MKV demuxing
* Added support for more then one IDX (vobsub) file
* Added support to reorder IDX (vobsub) subtitles
* DGAVCDec was updated to version 1.00a23
* Various setup fixes and improvements
* Many useful directories added to the main menu
* A couple of improved tooltips
* Fixed two bugs with adding jobs from a second StaxRip instance
* New command to play a sound file
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
stax76 is online now  
Old 28th June 2008, 17:35   #1967  |  Link
Ajax_Undone
I dont care so should you
 
Ajax_Undone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In hell next to the boiling pit of Lava...
Posts: 989



Hey Stax whats with the 3.5GB VB Script in the out folder...
__________________
My Installer's ||
Ajax_Undone is offline  
Old 28th June 2008, 17:57   #1968  |  Link
stax76
staxrip maintainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lšndle
Posts: 5,056
Quote:
Hey Stax whats with the 3.5GB VB Script in the out folder...
I've absolute no idea what happened, maybe I can see something if you upload the diagnostic file (Help / Make Bug Report) using 2shared.com or mediafire.com. StaxRip shouldn't create any files with the extension VB, this extension is used for Visual Basic source code files which are typically only few KB. It has almost the same size as the VOB file, really strange issue.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots

Last edited by stax76; 28th June 2008 at 18:01.
stax76 is online now  
Old 28th June 2008, 22:51   #1969  |  Link
Ajax_Undone
I dont care so should you
 
Ajax_Undone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In hell next to the boiling pit of Lava...
Posts: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax View Post
StaxRip shouldn't create any files with the extension VB, this extension is used for Visual Basic source code files which are typically only few KB. It has almost the same size as the VOB file, really strange issue.

Thats what I figured

I will upload later tonight am to busy right now...

*Edit* LOL Ok it was my fault I put the other VOB file into the same directory as 1.vob opon moving it I must have accidentally Deleted the O from VOB...

So 2.vb is really 2.vob...

Any how thanx for caring... But I figured it out while trying to find the 2nd vob...
__________________
My Installer's ||

Last edited by Ajax_Undone; 29th June 2008 at 00:00.
Ajax_Undone is offline  
Old 29th June 2008, 13:57   #1970  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
I am getting an error dialog saying "mp4 muxing failed". But I look the movie and it looks complete. Here is the log file:

------------------------------------------------------------
Muxing
------------------------------------------------------------

"C:\Documents and Settings\Trey Weaver\Local Settings\Application Data\StaxRip\Applications\MP4Box\MP4Box.exe" -fps 23.976 -add "D:\aa-Rips\MainMovie\mymovie\VIDEO_TS\mymovie.zsxq24-ipt_EncoderOutput.264:name=Video" -add "D:\aa-Rips\MainMovie\mymovie\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_1 01 en-English 3_2ch 384Kbps DELAY -43ms_AudioOutput_AudioOutput.mp4:lang=eng:name=English" -add "D:\aa-Rips\MainMovie\mymovie\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_1.idx#1" -new "J:\Movies\Movies-iPod\mymovie.zsxq24-ipt.mp4"

AVC-H264 import - frame size 320 x 128 at 23.976 FPS

Import results: 144464 samples - Slices: 1400 I 64324 P 78740 B - 1 SEI - 1293 IDR
Stream uses B-slice references - max frame delay 2
IsoMedia import - track ID 1 - Audio (SR 48000 - 2 channels)

VobSub import - subpicture stream 'eng'

Saving J:\Movies\Movies-iPod\mymovie.zsxq24-ipt.mp4: 0.500 secs Interleaving

------------------------------------------------------------
Muxing Statistics
------------------------------------------------------------

Start: 3:09:20 AM
End: 3:10:48 AM
Duration: 00:01:28
Speed: 1642 fps

------------------------------------------------------------
Error
------------------------------------------------------------

mp4 muxing failed

Last edited by weaver4; 29th June 2008 at 14:09.
weaver4 is offline  
Old 29th June 2008, 14:46   #1971  |  Link
stax76
staxrip maintainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lšndle
Posts: 5,056
@Ajax_Undone

VOB files should better have the original filename like it's stored on the DVD (VTS_0?_?.VOB), applications can then check if there is corresponding IFO file and enable extra features with information taken from the IFO file.

@weaver4

What looks most suspiciously here is '*_AudioOutput_AudioOutput.mp4', with a common workflow StaxRip should not create such a filename. Did you do anything special?
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots

Last edited by stax76; 29th June 2008 at 14:54.
stax76 is online now  
Old 29th June 2008, 19:00   #1972  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax View Post
@weaver4

What looks most suspiciously here is '*_AudioOutput_AudioOutput.mp4', with a common workflow StaxRip should not create such a filename. Did you do anything special?

The only special thing I did was use a Template that I made.

But I looked and there was already a filed called: VTS_01_1 01 en-English 3_2ch 384Kbps DELAY -43ms_AudioOutput.mp4 in the directory that was made a few months ago.

The files do play properly.
weaver4 is offline  
Old 30th June 2008, 12:17   #1973  |  Link
Danisan
Registered User
 
Danisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Craggy Island
Posts: 66
StaxRip + ColorMatrix = crash

Hi!

I edited the filter profiles and added a new line under "[Misc]"

Code:
ColorMatrix = ColorMatrix(hints=true)
When I add ColorMatrix and use it under filters it always crashes when i proceed to the next step. It doesn't matter if I add it before loading a source or after. What am I doing wrong?
Danisan is offline  
Old 30th June 2008, 14:56   #1974  |  Link
stax76
staxrip maintainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lšndle
Posts: 5,056
@weaver4

Did it happen only once or does it happen all the time?

@Danisan

Please try a new beta and post the error message if there is any.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
stax76 is online now  
Old 30th June 2008, 17:57   #1975  |  Link
Danisan
Registered User
 
Danisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Craggy Island
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax View Post
@Danisan

Please try a new beta and post the error message if there is any.
Tried the new beta, doesn't crash anymore.
Danisan is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 21:39   #1976  |  Link
Ajax_Undone
I dont care so should you
 
Ajax_Undone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In hell next to the boiling pit of Lava...
Posts: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax View Post
@Ajax_Undone

VOB files should better have the original filename like it's stored on the DVD (VTS_0?_?.VOB), applications can then check if there is corresponding IFO file and enable extra features with information taken from the IFO file.
Its all good 1.vob and 2.vob are to different Videos I was not going to merge them... Any how Happy day
__________________
My Installer's ||
Ajax_Undone is offline  
Old 7th July 2008, 17:44   #1977  |  Link
RickA
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 89
Greets Stax,

Great program you have here! I am sorry that I overlooked it some months ago. Thanks for your work on this. :-)

Cheers,
Rick
__________________
Rene: Could you not just wound him a little bit?
Hans: Well now, with a 25 pound shell that is not easy.

'Allo 'Allo
RickA is offline  
Old 7th July 2008, 18:12   #1978  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax View Post
@weaver4

Did it happen only once or does it happen all the time?
It happens all the time. Every single mp4 encode.
weaver4 is offline  
Old 7th July 2008, 18:25   #1979  |  Link
stax76
staxrip maintainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lšndle
Posts: 5,056
@RickA

Thanks for the words of appreciation.

Quote:
It happens all the time. Every single mp4 encode.
Please upload diagnostic files generated by the latest beta, I should be able to find the problem then.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots

Last edited by stax76; 7th July 2008 at 18:28.
stax76 is online now  
Old 9th July 2008, 02:15   #1980  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
Here is the diagnostic files.

http://www.mediafire.com/?xjwnjtcpmlx

BTW: I am muxing to a remotely mapped drive if that makes any difference.
weaver4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
gui, h.264, h.265, hevc, mkv, x264, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.