Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th March 2008, 17:28   #81  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,192
I believe it's the same package as the previous one in fact...

http://kurtnoise.free.fr/index.php?d...3_20080308.zip
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2008, 09:36   #82  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
thanks Kurtnoise13!

but can you remove the prompt at end encoding (avi2avs.cpp, line 73)

thanks!

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2008, 09:54   #83  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,192
sure...I'll upload a new build tonight.


http://kurtnoise.free.fr/index.php?d...3_20080312.zip

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 12th March 2008 at 20:45.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2008, 12:48   #84  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
thanks!

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2008, 09:19   #85  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
another bug

if encode to vc1 the framerate is respected, if i encode to wmv (wmv video+wma audio) the framerate is fixed to 15

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2008, 17:13   #86  |  Link
Nic
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,285
@buzzqw:
You're persistent been a while since I looked at this thread.

Just tried encoding some 5.1 audio, worked fine for me. You do, of course, need an appropriate 5.1 audio profile/prx file. Did you create one? (use GenProfile.exe from the WMV SDK or similar)

The encoder sdk 1.1 file that kurtnoise pointed out is exactly the same version of the SDK from December. So no need for a new build with it.

"if i encode to wmv (wmv video+wma audio) the framerate is fixed to 15" <--- Not sure what you mean by that, always seems to work fine here...Please post your commandline.

Still can't figure out how to do telecine. I can of course set the TFF/RFF flags, but what do I set the framerate to be in ConfigProps? What do I set the timestamps to of the video samples when I call EncodeFrame? Maybe the MS guys can point me in the right direction...

-Nic
Nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2008, 19:12   #87  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
if you create a wmv (audio+video) even if your use -framerate 25, the resulting wmv , analyzed with avinaptic or mediainfo will report 15fps

if you do a raw vc1 file, specifing -framerate 25, the framerate reported by avinaptic or mediainfo is 25

about profile.. i use WMProEdt.exe .. but will try with genprofile

also.. seems i am unable to build a pure vbr profile.. but il will study genprofile profiles

thanks Nic

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2008, 21:13   #88  |  Link
Nic
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,285
@buzzqw: But the file doesn't play back at 15fps, it's just those apps reporting that framerate. Strange that they do, must be reading it from somewhere. Will try to see how to set that.

-Nic

EDIT:
Easy Fix. Framerate wasn't being set in the mediatype.

Last edited by Nic; 22nd March 2008 at 21:16.
Nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2008, 09:02   #89  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
thanks Nic!

i will try to do 5.1ch wmv, and will report any errors

(thanks again!)

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2008, 17:11   #90  |  Link
M10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
I appreciate everyone's work with this application!

I have a fairly specific question. Has anyone been able to use the "-aspectratio" line successfully with AVS2ASF?

Per the documentation, they want: [-aspectratio] <aspectratioindex> <aspectratiowidth> <aspectratioheight>. If aspectratioindex=15, then you can specify aspectratiowidth & aspectratioheight. Specifying an "aspectratioindex" alone doesn't seem to be recognized when wmv's played by wmv or xbox. However, when I enter:

"-aspectratio 15 40 33" I get an error stating that "40" is an unrecognized command...as if it is not parsing the input correctly. Any thoughts?
M10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2008, 23:06   #91  |  Link
Nic
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,285
Well spotted M10. You should get a job doing QA in MS
Code:
        m_dwPixIndex = 0;
        .....
        else if (!wcscmp (L"-aspectratio", m_ppArgv[i]))
        {
            // Pixel aspect ratio.
            i++;

            // Convert the argument to a number.
            DWORD dwPixIndex = wcstoul(m_ppArgv[i], NULL, 10);

            // 15 means "Aspect width and height transmitted"
            // Update the w and h based on command line args.
            if (m_dwPixIndex == 15)
            {
                i += 2;                  
            }           
        }
Spot the bug? I'll release a fix sometime.

-Nic
Nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2008, 19:32   #92  |  Link
anrque
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 28
I have tried this numerous times and feel like I'm missing something. I have the VC1 SDK installed, I installed the WM11 SDK and finally i Installed the platform SDK that has all of the DShow extras. I installed VS 2008 as well and "think" I have all the run-time components I need. I have AVISynth 2.5.7 installed but I continue to get this error after running the example.bat:
Also, I am trying to run this in XP Pro 32 SP2.

C:\AVS2ASF>AVS2ASF -i Test.avs -o ElementryStream.vc1 -framerate 25 -rate 1200 -profiletype 2 -bframes 2 -maxkeydist 6 -vbv 300000 -peakrate 2000

*************************************


VC-1 AVS2ASF v0.3 Encoding Sample


Original Sample AVI2ASF code Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation.
All rights reserved.
Avisynth, YV12 & Raw support added by Nic.


*************************************

Encoding in ES (Elementry Stream) mode

Failure in CVC1EncASF::set_advancedProps
error = -20
Failure in CVC1EncASF::Init
hr = 0
VC1 SDK Error = -20

Final error code: -20
Total elapsed time in seconds = 0.000000

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

Mike

Last edited by anrque; 24th March 2008 at 21:03. Reason: added the OS I was using
anrque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2008, 20:39   #93  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,192
@benwaggoner: Is there somewhere a tool to check the BD/HD-DVD compliancy for VC-1 Elementary Streams ?

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 4th April 2008 at 20:42.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2008, 23:59   #94  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
@benwaggoner: Is there somewhere a tool to check the BD/HD-DVD compliancy for VC-1 Elementary Streams ?
Nothing freely available that I know of.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2008, 08:08   #95  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by anrque View Post
I have tried this numerous times and feel like I'm missing something. I have the VC1 SDK installed, I installed the WM11 SDK and finally i Installed the platform SDK that has all of the DShow extras. I installed VS 2008 as well and "think" I have all the run-time components I need. I have AVISynth 2.5.7 installed but I continue to get this error after running the example.bat:
Also, I am trying to run this in XP Pro 32 SP2.

C:\AVS2ASF>AVS2ASF -i Test.avs -o ElementryStream.vc1 -framerate 25 -rate 1200 -profiletype 2 -bframes 2 -maxkeydist 6 -vbv 300000 -peakrate 2000

*************************************


VC-1 AVS2ASF v0.3 Encoding Sample


Original Sample AVI2ASF code Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation.
All rights reserved.
Avisynth, YV12 & Raw support added by Nic.


*************************************

Encoding in ES (Elementry Stream) mode

Failure in CVC1EncASF::set_advancedProps
error = -20
Failure in CVC1EncASF::Init
hr = 0
VC1 SDK Error = -20

Final error code: -20
Total elapsed time in seconds = 0.000000

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

Mike
Same Error here.

So far i can remeber it was caused by -profiletype 2
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2008, 00:32   #96  |  Link
M10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nic View Post
Well spotted M10. You should get a job doing QA in MS
Code:
        m_dwPixIndex = 0;
        .....
        else if (!wcscmp (L"-aspectratio", m_ppArgv[i]))
        {
            // Pixel aspect ratio.
            i++;

            // Convert the argument to a number.
            DWORD dwPixIndex = wcstoul(m_ppArgv[i], NULL, 10);

            // 15 means "Aspect width and height transmitted"
            // Update the w and h based on command line args.
            if (m_dwPixIndex == 15)
            {
                i += 2;                  
            }           
        }
Spot the bug? I'll release a fix sometime.

-Nic
Thanks, Nic. I look forward to the fix! I need to get the aspect ratio settings working before I can move my encodes to the new codec.
M10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2008, 17:34   #97  |  Link
HookedOnTV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 122
I get:

Bad AVS/AVI format - Has to be YV12!

my avs file has a line:

ConvertToYV12()
HookedOnTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2008, 18:06   #98  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by HookedOnTV View Post
I get:

Bad AVS/AVI format - Has to be YV12!

my avs file has a line:

ConvertToYV12()
I think it actually has to be IYUV.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2008, 23:22   #99  |  Link
HookedOnTV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 122
I'm not getting anywhere. Trying to encode the included sample script (as suggested by executable) and get nothing but errors. I have WMP11, WMEncoder 9, VC1ProSDK, WMFSDK11, AVISynth 2.57. I get:

Bad AVS/AVI format - Has to be YV12!
Failure in CAVIFileReader::Init
hr = 80044066
Failure in CVC1EncASF::InitFileReader
hr = 80044066
Encoding in ASF mode

Failure in CVC1EncASF::Init
hr = 80044066
VC1 SDK Error = -90

Final error code: -90
Total elapsed time in seconds = 0.000000
HookedOnTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 17:02   #100  |  Link
HookedOnTV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 122
Problem fixed. I couldn't successfully compile the sample from the SDK and once I got the service pack for Visual Studio installed it fixed both.
HookedOnTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.