Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th August 2007, 08:21   #621  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Nope, now BeHappy don't touch the bitdepth (before the output is always 16 int) if the output encoder accept the bitdepth.
The 32 bit float come from NicAc3Source.
AviSynth can change also the bitdepth if any function don't support the actual.
Never, the first thing Aften do is convert to 32 float then you have a double conversion 32 float -> 16 int -> 32 float.
Let the 32 float.
AH, ok NicAC3 Decoder output 32bit..allright
I dont use Aften so its no double Conversion
I use Behappy/NicAC3Source only to decode AC3 to wave / Timestretch ( no Pitch Correction).
For AC3 encoding i use a only cert DD Encoder.
For example the cert DD Encoder from Sonic Scenarist accepts only 16bit Wave source.
I think 16bit Output from standard DVD AC3 is enough ? In my case its AC3 Audio from DVD which is 48khz 16bit.
However, NicsAC3Source outputs 32bit and maybe i should leave it to avoid the 16bit conversion

Interesting, what is Default Azids Bitdepth Output ?
And when i set it to 16bit in Besweet, is it "Conversion" too?

thx

Last edited by ACrowley; 25th August 2007 at 09:21.
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2007, 10:02   #622  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley View Post
I think 16bit Output from standard DVD AC3 is enough ? In my case its AC3 Audio from DVD which is 48khz 16bit.
AC3 don't have bitdepth because the samples are in frequency domain instead time domain. Maybe the source is 16 bit but not the ac3.

The dynamic range in ac3 is equivalent to 24 bits depth.

Quote:
Interesting, what is Default Azids Bitdepth Output ?
And when i set it to 16bit in Besweet, is it "Conversion" too?
The default is 16 bits but azid.exe have the parameter:
Code:
-F FILE_TYPE, --filetype=FILE_TYPE
----------------------------------

Default: wav

Selects the file type to generate. Possible values are:

  o wav. Generates "normal" 16-bits wav.
  o wav24. Generate 24-bit integer wav.
  o wav32. Generate 32-bits integer wav
  o wav_float. Generate 32-bits floating-point (IEEE) wavs.
  o pcm. Generate 16-bit pcm (equal to wav, only without
    the wav-header)
  o pcm32. Generate 32-bit integer PCM
  o pcm_float. Generate 32-bits floating-point (IEEE) PCM
    output.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2007, 10:20   #623  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
AC3 don't have bitdepth because the samples are in frequency domain instead time domain. Maybe the source is 16 bit but not the ac3.
Thats what i mean...more or less

So, What which Bitdepth do you recommend "generally" to decode AC3 to Wave ? I decode without DRC/DialoNorm

I think 32bit is good and you can make nothing wrong,right ? Especially for NicsAC3SOurce to avoid extra 32-16 bit Conversion
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2007, 12:25   #624  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley View Post
So, What which Bitdepth do you recommend "generally" to decode AC3 to Wave ? I decode without DRC/DialoNorm

I think 32bit is good and you can make nothing wrong,right ? Especially for NicsAC3SOurce to avoid extra 32-16 bit Conversion
If your ac3 encoder support 32 bit float, or you need make some edit, of course is the best option.

But if your encoder only support 16 int ...
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2007, 19:13   #625  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
If your ac3 encoder support 32 bit float, or you need make some edit, of course is the best option.

But if your encoder only support 16 int ...
Yeah, i use Sony Vegas Dolby Digital Pro Encoder 7
It takes 32bit Input
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 11:30   #626  |  Link
cweb
Registered User
 
cweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pandorica
Posts: 527
The main behappy site is down ...
__________________
PC specs for bug reports: Athlon 64-bit Phenom II X6 2.8Ghz Win7/Linux PCI express NVIDIA GTX 285 graphics card
http://twitter.com/cwebdesign
cweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 12:41   #627  |  Link
Nikos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greece
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley
Yeah, i use Sony Vegas Dolby Digital Pro Encoder 7
It takes 32bit Input
Yes the Sony Vegas accept 32 bits wavs input but i think it converts to 16 or 24 bits.

__________________
Greece PAL User...
Nikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 12:42   #628  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,188
@cweb
Yes...
Use the last shon3i package and mods.
Read this post and next ones.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 12:48   #629  |  Link
cweb
Registered User
 
cweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pandorica
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
@cweb
Yes...
Use the last shon3i package and mods.
Read this post and next ones.
thanks
__________________
PC specs for bug reports: Athlon 64-bit Phenom II X6 2.8Ghz Win7/Linux PCI express NVIDIA GTX 285 graphics card
http://twitter.com/cwebdesign
cweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 13:51   #630  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
@Nikos

No, Vegas dont convert anything.
Because you simply drag and drop your 6 mono waves into it.
Theres no internal Wave Processing or somewaht in this Case
Only when you export/edit the waves ,the internal ProjectSetting is active
So Vegas dont touch the Waves. When you disable View-"Waveform and Frames" ,you can see theres absolutly no internal preprocessing/conversion.
And to display the Waveform Vegas simply read the Input. Theres no writing/Conversion too

32Bit Float Wave after drag&drop into the 5.1 Project :

You can see its still 32Bit "before" you render it to AC3 .

@tebasuna51
You told me Behappy dont touch the Input wave Bitdepth ,right ?
But when i run a 16 bit (mono) wave i get 32bit Output from 16Bit Source by default ?
"Channels=1, BitsPerSample=32 float, SampleRate=48000Hz"

Mhh, not nice when i have to select a extra 16 bit Conversion to get my 16bit back from Behappy

Last edited by ACrowley; 4th September 2007 at 19:20.
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 16:46   #631  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley View Post
@tebasuna51
You told me Behappy dont touch the Input wave Bitdepth ,right ?
But when i run a 16 bit (mono) wave i get 32bit Output from 16Bit Source by default ?
"Channels=1, BitsPerSample=32 float, SampleRate=48000Hz"

Mhh, not nice when i have to select a extra 16 bit Conversion to get my 16bit back from Behappy
Actually Behappy only touch the bitdepth if the output encoder don't support it, never for uncompressed output.

From AviSynth docs:
"Starting from v2.5 the audio samples will be automatically converted if any filters requires a special type of sample. This means that most filters will accept several types of input, but if a filter doesn't support the type of sample it is given, it will automatically convert the samples to something it supports."

If you use Timestretch, also from AviSynth docs:
"SoundTouch is used in float sample mode."

And if you want 16 bit output a final ConvertAudioTo16bit() must be included explicitly.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 19:18   #632  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
AH ,Ok Thx
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 20:30   #633  |  Link
Nikos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greece
Posts: 215
Thanks ACrowley for the explanation about 32 bit wavs in Vegas.
__________________
Greece PAL User...
Nikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2007, 00:16   #634  |  Link
bagge1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
A new release of Behappy, for shon3i request.

Maybe shon3i can offer a new full release, but here are sources, last .exe's from BeHappy team and links to external free tools.

The changelog is:

2007-08-13 (Tebasuna)
+ New changes to support new enc_aacPlus.exe from Shon3i: select between Mp4Box and Mp4Mux. (CodingTechnologiesAAC.cs)
+ New FraunhoferMp3.extension to support free mp3sEncoder.exe from Fraunhofer (http://www.all4mp3.com/tools/sw_fhg_cl.html).
+ New wavSplit.extension and wavSplit.exe to replace wav2mono and wav2stereo
+ Only literals changes. (AssemblyInfo.cs, OggVorbisEncoder.cs)

The test are welcome.
The links are expired on mytempdir.com. Can somebody please upload Behappy again?
bagge1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2007, 09:14   #635  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by bagge1 View Post
The links are expired on mytempdir.com. Can somebody please upload Behappy again?
Here is a new link to last BeHappy.

Only one change:
2007-10-16 (Tebasuna)
+ New RaWav.extension and AviSynth plugin RaWav.dll. Open files > 4 GB with uncompressed formats like:
wav (WAVE_FORMAT_EXTENSIBLE and others), bwf, raw, au, aif, w64, RF64, or caf (see RaWav_readme)
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2007, 09:57   #636  |  Link
bagge1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Here is a new link to last BeHappy.

Only one change:
2007-10-16 (Tebasuna)
+ New RaWav.extension and AviSynth plugin RaWav.dll. Open files > 4 GB with uncompressed formats like:
wav (WAVE_FORMAT_EXTENSIBLE and others), bwf, raw, au, aif, w64, RF64, or caf (see RaWav_readme)
Thank you, tebasuna51!
bagge1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2008, 03:41   #637  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
I think I found the problem with the stdout stuff. I've removed the link until I get it fixed. It may be tomorrow. Sorry.

Here is another BeHappy update.

Changes:
2008-01-03 (Chumbo)
+ Updated the DSP Move buttons to behave according to selection and position.
+ Added a multiple file feature for the new Aften to create ac3 files from multiple wav sources. I'm sure there's a better way to implement this, but I put it together quickly. Note that this feature is for Aften only. It will launch a command window when executed as I couldn't get the process object to work for some reason. So if anyone can check out the code and get the process stdout redirection working that would be great. That way the output status can be displayed within BeHappy like it normally does. Here are the rules:
  • When you select Multiple Mono File List,
  • only the Aften encoder is allowed
  • avisynth is not used
  • DSP is disabled along with all other avisynth features
  • The input file must be a plain text file with either .src, .txt or .lst extension
  • The input file format is to have each mono wav file on its own line and the file name must have the following indicators in the file name:
_fl = front left
_fr = front right
_c = front center
_lfe= LFE
_sl = surround left
_sr = surround right
See the included SampleMultiMonoFile.txt for an example input file (see below)

Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\userx\My Documents\For encoding tests\audio\Test_FL.wav
C:\Documents and Settings\userx\My Documents\For encoding tests\audio\Test_FR.wav
C:\Documents and Settings\userx\My Documents\For encoding tests\audio\Test_C.wav
C:\Documents and Settings\userx\My Documents\For encoding tests\audio\Test_SL.wav
C:\Documents and Settings\userx\My Documents\For encoding tests\audio\Test_SR.wav
C:\Documents and Settings\userx\My Documents\For encoding tests\audio\Test_LFE.wav
Note that the files do not have to be in any specific order as long as you have the correct indicator in the file name. You also do not have to have all 6 channels if you only need FL, FR, LFE for example, you only need to use those files and so on.

For some reason, I couldn't upload the file to mytempdir this time as it kept failing. I uploaded it to rapidshare which I hate because of the waiting crap they do. If someone else can grab this from rapidshare and see if you can put it on mytempdir and share that link, it would be appreciated.
__________________
Chumbo

Last edited by Chumbo; 4th January 2008 at 03:58. Reason: Removed link to file until I fix stdout
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2008, 11:10   #638  |  Link
DiGiT@LON€
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Here is a new link to last BeHappy.

Only one change:
2007-10-16 (Tebasuna)
+ New RaWav.extension and AviSynth plugin RaWav.dll. Open files > 4 GB with uncompressed formats like:
wav (WAVE_FORMAT_EXTENSIBLE and others), bwf, raw, au, aif, w64, RF64, or caf (see RaWav_readme)
Wrong File ID. Can somebody upload it?
Thanks.
DiGiT@LON€ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2008, 12:00   #639  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,426
@Chumbo, nice stuff, you should enable to use all multichannel encoders like AAC, and aslo WAV.

Is it possible to make reverse process one multichannel wave to 6 waves?
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2008, 13:20   #640  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by shon3i View Post
@Chumbo, nice stuff, you should enable to use all multichannel encoders like AAC, and aslo WAV.
I can't understand this new stuff.

For what use BeHappy to encode six monowavs to ac3/aac out off AviSynth environment? There are others GUI's to do this.

You always can use BeHappy to do this inside AviSynth with DSP's actives and with any output: ac3, aac, ogg, wav
Instead your .src, .txt or .lst file you only need an .avs file like:

Code:
fl = WavSource("X:\Path\Test_FL.wav")
fr = WavSource("X:\Path\Test_FR.wav")
fc = WavSource("X:\Path\Test_C.wav")
lf = WavSource("X:\Path\Test_LFE.wav")
sl = WavSource("X:\Path\Test_SL.wav")
sr = WavSource("X:\Path\Test_SR.wav")
MergeChannels(fl, fr, fc, lf, sl, sr)
And open this .avs in BeHappy with all AviSynth DSP's and features available: delay, timestretch, resample, ...

Maybe we can construct a utility to write this .avs with a graphical interface like BeLight or Wisodev WavtoAc3, but the Chumbo mod I think is out off the BeHappy scope.

Quote:
Is it possible to make reverse process one multichannel wave to 6 waves?
I don't understand your request. WavSplit can output six monowavs or three stereo wav's from a multichannel input.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
behappy

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.