Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th August 2007, 14:34   #1841  |  Link
sarvatt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
That is the thing, I do not want to use ffdshow for raw video as it will load for everything including videos where I do not want to use FFDShow. I want it to only load for the codecs I pick on the codec page but still have the ability to use it only for h264 material as I do not use ffdshow for h264. It's hard for me to explain so I will try to break down the scenario I am facing..

Playback software: Mediaportal (EVR) or MPC EVR (not custom presenter mode as I cannot get acceleration in it)
Source files: h264, WMV, and xvid in MKV all with subtitles, Live and recorded mpeg2 .ts from the tuner with no subtitles and DXVA2 acceleration with deinterlacing.

My options are
1) use VMR9 and rely on the haali splitter/playback program to load VSFilter if needed which works and not use FFDShow for subtitles at all.
2) use EVR (preferred) in which VSFilter refuses to load, no subtitles for h264 material as I am using CoreAVC and not FFDShow.
3) Set FFDShow to decode raw video making it always load thus breaking DXVA for my mpeg2 in both VMR9 and EVR.
4) Set FFDShow to decode h264 which is not an option as a good chunk of my source material is too tough for it to decode on my HTPC.


What I am looking to do is to either force ffdshow to load as an additional filter only for the h264 material which I can't figure out how to do within the limitations of the media playback programs I use, or find out if it is possible to have ffdshow load an external codec internally similar to how it loads xvid or WMV9 so that it wont interfere with my mpeg2 TV decoding and I could enable h264 on the ffdshow codec page. Thank you very much for the replies so far though, I realize it might not be a very common situation and appreciate the help!

Edit: Hmm after doing some messing with it I think I can get it working like I'm asking if I set raw video to all YUV so it ignores NV12. Hopefully it doesn't interfere with hardware deinterlaced but software decoded YUY2 files but I don't expect to run into that often I was under the impression loading it as a raw filter after the decoding was what was messing up vsfilter in EVR but I guess it's the subtitle pin connection that is doing it.

Last edited by sarvatt; 19th August 2007 at 14:58.
sarvatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2007, 19:29   #1842  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warpman View Post
@madshi
i can confirm this, debug says:
flac debug: decode STREAMINFO
flac debug: channels:8 samplerate:48000 bitspersamples:16
flac debug: STREAMINFO decoded
flac error: This stream uses too many audio channels
i guess 8channels are not implementet atm.
Thank you for the confirmation!

FWIW, I've tried another FLAC decoder and fed that decoder's output into ffdshow's raw audio filter (because that decoder's 8 channel output was not accepted by any other filter). There the same problem occurs. I'm not sure, it could be that the other decoder has the same problem. Or maybe ffdshow *generally* stumbles with 8 channels?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2007, 20:31   #1843  |  Link
Yong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liisachan View Post
Vrobis decoders in ffdshow are still bad. Tremor was known to be bad, but the current Tremor, so called high accuracy mode, is still poor in quality. libavcodec is as bad as Tremor too.

The quality difference is so obvious that scoring 15/15 at abx against CoreVorbis is quite easy. I don't know why this is happening. To get decent quality, I'd have to recommend to disable Vorbis decoders in ffdshow and to use CoreVorbis (or maybe MPC's internal one).

Samples.
http://ffdshow.faireal.net/tmp/Vorbis_Test_Input.ogg
OggEnc v2.83 (libvorbis aoTuVr1), ~ 2sec, 43KiB

Decoded by:
- CoreVorbis
http://ffdshow.faireal.net/tmp/Vorbi...CoreVorbis.wav
- ffdshow (lavc)
http://ffdshow.faireal.net/tmp/Vorbis_Test_lavc.wav

tested ffdshow_beta3_rev1324_20070701_clsid.exe

edit: adding this.
- Decoded by foobar2000:
http://ffdshow.faireal.net/tmp/Vorbis_Test_fb2k.wav
no difference either use lavc/tremor or mpc internal vorbis decoder when playing.
make sure disable any audio filter before abx
anyone can comfirm this?

the lavc decoded sample u uploaded does show somekind of high frequency loss.
sounds like it was downsampled by ffdshow resampler or FIR filter.
Yong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2007, 21:12   #1844  |  Link
jodur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by check View Post
There's a dead simple way to use coreavc for decoding and ffdshow for subtitles... Just set ffdshow to decode raw video
To Bad this won't Work for Vista Users!!!

See Thread before:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...11#post1032411

and

http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge.ne...opic.php?t=429
jodur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2007, 23:56   #1845  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Vista? Is that an OS?
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2007, 01:11   #1846  |  Link
Liisachan
李姗倩 Lǐ Shān Qin
 
Liisachan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yong View Post
no difference either use lavc/tremor or mpc internal vorbis decoder when playing.
make sure disable any audio filter before abx
anyone can comfirm this?

the lavc decoded sample u uploaded does show somekind of high frequency loss.
sounds like it was downsampled by ffdshow resampler or FIR filter.
Hi, thanks for your suggestion! Looks that way. While config'ing 'Output' I accidentally have ticked 'Mixer', a few pixel above, which caused this mess. My mistake. However I'll check this again when I have time.
-baka me!
Liisachan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2007, 16:48   #1847  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,667
I think the "DVD decoding (not working yet)" string in ffdshow should be updated. What exactly works and what works not with regard to DVD decoding by ffdshow? Is it only decryption that isn't supported?
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2007, 20:58   #1848  |  Link
ShadowVlican
Registered User
 
ShadowVlican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Posts: 40
i think i found a bug which hasn't been mentioned (searched but found nothing)

there's something wrong with the SPDIF setting:


works fine when i use this, i hear sound on my receiver:
ffdshow_rev1371_20070723_clsid.exe

doesn't work when i use the latest (i tried these), i don't hear sound on my receiver:
ffdshow_rev1425_20070817_xxl.exe
ffdshow_rev1431_20070821_clsid_sse_icl10.exe

everything else on the graph is kept the same of course (same player, same filters, exact same settings, same files, same drivers, etc....)

i'm not a programmer, so i have no idea what has changed since the rev1371 release and rev1431 release... but surely something HAS changed relating to AC3/DTS SPDIF
ShadowVlican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2007, 23:00   #1849  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,667
This might have been fixed at rev1432:
http://ffdshow-tryout.svn.sourceforg...yout/?view=log
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 15:27   #1850  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,175
sarvatt, buy Zoom Player Pro and set up customized media profiles. That way you can force everything to be decoded and played exactly how you want.

I'm curious about the possibility of adding coreavc as an 'alternative' codec, if it's not complicated, but I really have no time to even look into it. Particularly since I typically use it for post-processing everything except HD.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2007, 02:19   #1851  |  Link
sarvatt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxyshadis View Post
sarvatt, buy Zoom Player Pro and set up customized media profiles. That way you can force everything to be decoded and played exactly how you want.

I'm curious about the possibility of adding coreavc as an 'alternative' codec, if it's not complicated, but I really have no time to even look into it. Particularly since I typically use it for post-processing everything except HD.
Thank you for the suggestion, I actually have purchased it and use it fine that way in the past for my laptop but I have alot of problems using it as an external video playback program inside mediaportal. I have just gone back to VMR9+vsfilter for now as I think the EVR implementation in mediaportal isn't ready for prime time because it would crash using FFDShow for subtitles loading from raw video sometimes (on coreavc h264 HD files only oddly enough) then work when the program was restarted.

SPDIF passthrough/AC3 output is still broken for me as well in 1437 on vista x86, 1413 is the last one that works. I don't have any builds between 1413 and 1425 to see which one broke it though, but 1425 was the first one that I noticed it.

Last edited by sarvatt; 24th August 2007 at 02:36.
sarvatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2007, 19:10   #1852  |  Link
cbemoore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarvatt View Post
SPDIF passthrough/AC3 output is still broken for me as well in 1437 on vista x86, 1413 is the last one that works. I don't have any builds between 1413 and 1425 to see which one broke it though, but 1425 was the first one that I noticed it.
I'm also seeing this problem with the latest builds.....
cbemoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2007, 19:37   #1853  |  Link
_xxl
ffdshow user
 
_xxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 818
Read more:
http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge.ne...opic.php?t=478
Is rev 1424 working?Are there other related issues?
Can you please test:
http://rapidshare.com/files/51252887/ffdshow.rar.html

Last edited by _xxl; 25th August 2007 at 20:00.
_xxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2007, 01:01   #1854  |  Link
cc979
Curious BetaTester
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 430
compiling svn 1439 using gcc-4.0.4 i get this error


Code:
TffDecoder.cpp: In member function 'void TffdshowDecVideo::ConnectCompatibleFilter()':
TffDecoder.cpp:623: error: expected primary-expression before ')' token
TffDecoder.cpp:623: error: '__uuidof' was not declared in this scope
TffDecoder.cpp: In member function 'void TffdshowDecVideo::DisconnectFromCompatibleFilter()':
TffDecoder.cpp:696: error: expected primary-expression before ')' token
TffDecoder.cpp:696: error: '__uuidof' was not declared in this scope
TffdshowVideoInputPin.cpp: In member function 'virtual long int TffdshowVideoInputPin::CheckMediaType(const CMediaType*)':
TffdshowVideoInputPin.cpp:180: error: expected primary-expression before ')' token
TffdshowVideoInputPin.cpp:180: error: '__uuidof' was not declared in this scope
make: *** [ffdshow_all.o] Error 1
anyone else getting problems ?
__________________
Asrock N68-S AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor (2.6GHz) - Crucial 2GB PC6400 800MHz DDR2 - Nvidia 9600GT

Tools: ProcessExplorer & ProcessMonitor - BatchCompressor

Guide: MinGW Compiling GCC
cc979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2007, 04:48   #1855  |  Link
ShadowVlican
Registered User
 
ShadowVlican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxl View Post
Read more:
http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge.ne...opic.php?t=478
Is rev 1424 working?Are there other related issues?
Can you please test:
http://rapidshare.com/files/51252887/ffdshow.rar.html
folders #2 and #3 work!!! but #1 doesn't
ShadowVlican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2007, 06:33   #1856  |  Link
_xxl
ffdshow user
 
_xxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 818
Partialy reverted 1424:
Quote:
Index: TffdshowDecAudio.cpp
===================================================================
--- TffdshowDecAudio.cpp (revision 1438)
+++ TffdshowDecAudio.cpp (working copy)
@@ -796,7 +796,7 @@
pDataOutW[2]=type;
pDataOutW[3]=WORD(size*16);
//pDataOutW[4] = 0x0b77; // AC3 syncword (removed because works only for DTS, not for DD)
- _swab((char*)buf,(char*)&pDataOutW[10],(int)(size*2-2));
+ _swab((char*)buf,(char*)&pDataOutW[4],(int)size);
}
else
{
_xxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2007, 07:38   #1857  |  Link
cbemoore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
I'd like to try out Albain's latest fixes for the SPDIF passthrough problem (rev 1440), but the latest build available to download is rev 1437. Could I ask clsid or xxl to kick off a nightly build when you have a free moment?
cbemoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2007, 14:30   #1858  |  Link
haruhiko_yamagata
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc979 View Post
compiling svn 1439 using gcc-4.0.4 i get this error
Yes, __uuidof is microsoft specific. Rev 1443 is OK.
__________________
[ Download ffdshow | Wiki ]
haruhiko_yamagata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2007, 14:50   #1859  |  Link
cc979
Curious BetaTester
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by haruhiko_yamagata View Post
Yes, __uuidof is microsoft specific. Rev 1443 is OK.
anyway around it ?
__________________
Asrock N68-S AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor (2.6GHz) - Crucial 2GB PC6400 800MHz DDR2 - Nvidia 9600GT

Tools: ProcessExplorer & ProcessMonitor - BatchCompressor

Guide: MinGW Compiling GCC
cc979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2007, 19:09   #1860  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,526
Is it ok to install over an older version or should I uninstall before installing the newest version?
rack04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.