Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th June 2007, 15:32   #1  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
AutoMen (Mini Mencoder Gui) 6 beta 06/10/2010)

Hi all

here the new AutoMen









Full package http://www.64k.it/andres/data/automen/AutoMen6_beta.rar
update http://www.64k.it/andres/data/automen/AutoMen_beta.exe

linux build http://www.64k.it/andres/data/autome...en6_x86.tar.gz

Source avaiable on request (Purebasic4)
Licensed on GPL3

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8

Last edited by buzzqw; 6th October 2010 at 08:43. Reason: update
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2007, 21:01   #2  |  Link
DIEGO7-5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 92
Nice tool buzzqw!

Tried to back up an episode of King of Queens with it (PAL, 25 FPS, DVD-Source, interlaced)

Add automatic deinterlacing & a queue list and i think you´re done :-) Shutdown when done would also be very welcome :-)
DIEGO7-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 03:29   #3  |  Link
killerhex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 389
doesn't encode to wmv

its starts then shuts down
killerhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 04:29   #4  |  Link
leiming2006
Author of lmx264gui
 
leiming2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fujian, China
Posts: 198
good job buzzqw.
I'll try to use it to encode flv files.
leiming2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 07:31   #5  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
Update 0.2 www.64k.it/andres/data/a/AutoMen02.exe (65.5kb)

fixed: wmv8 encoding
added: mpeg2 encoding
fixed: the encoded file name is now based on input file name+_automen (es. input file is jewel.avi -> on mp4 will be named as jewel_automen.mp4)


@killerhex

thank for the bug (but another time please say something about testing wmv8...)

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 15:27   #6  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
I find the File Size and Video Quality parameters a little confusing.

I think I would rather see a selection that allows you to chose if you want to encode by File Size or Video Quality. If you select Video Quality it ecodes single pass and the slider sets the quantizer. If you select File Size the slider lets you set the filesize.

Encode by Filesize
--350M
--700M
--1.4G
--4.7G
--Custom....
Encode by Quality
--Poor (Small)
--Fair
--Good
--Very Good
--Excellent

I love the concept!
weaver4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 16:19   #7  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
Quote:
I think I would rather see a selection that allows you to chose if you want to encode by File Size or Video Quality.
this division is false, you could have a very big file while quality is simply trash.. and also have small file with awesome quality

I don't want to add a Quality based encoding, for this simply select quality 6 is always the "near best" settings for 1 pass encode

in next update i added queue! (a very basic queue fuction)

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 18:59   #8  |  Link
Schrade
Registered User
 
Schrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerhex View Post
doesn't encode to wmv

its starts then shuts down
It's possible that you have left out the MediaInfo command line utility. This is exactly what happened to me when I got too eager and forgot to copy that into the AutoMEn directory.


@buzzqw:

Is there any chance we could get a choice of resolution? It's a bit more of a common sense thing when helping choose settings.
Schrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 19:21   #9  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
@Schrade

done in next update ! (thanks for the hint!)



BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 19:21   #10  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
this division is false, you could have a very big file while quality is simply trash.. and also have small file with awesome quality

I don't want to add a Quality based encoding, for this simply select quality 6 is always the "near best" settings for 1 pass encode

in next update i added queue! (a very basic queue fuction)

BHH
I believe that was my point: you select either File Size and select a Size or you select Video Quality and select the quantizer.

I am not sure I know what to do with the File Size selection once I select the quality setting of 6 (one pass encoding). Or is the one pass encoding not Constant Quality?
weaver4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 19:31   #11  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
Quote:
Or is the one pass encoding not Constant Quality?
no pass is crf/qp/cq or what ever constant quality encoding, all encoding are or 1 pass or 2 pass at bitrate based on final size

Quote:
you select Video Quality and select the quantizer
here the point! i haven't added fixed quant encoding (and maybe i will never add it)

Quote:
File Size selection once I select the quality setting of 6 (one pass encoding)
choose your fixed final size, select your profile and automen (and mencoder) will be its best to reach this size, or in 1 pass bitrate based encoding or in 2 pass bitrate based encoding

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 19:47   #12  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
no pass is crf/qp/cq or what ever constant quality encoding, all encoding are or 1 pass or 2 pass at bitrate based on final size

BHH
Now I get it! I assumed that single pass was constant quality like avi.net, Dr Divx and autogk. Now your comment makes perfect sense.
weaver4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 20:04   #13  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
@weaver4


also in next update the resize slide will fuction even with HD material, basically the first half slide is for reduction, the second half for enlarging. The step will be by 16 pixel

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2007, 00:03   #14  |  Link
Schrade
Registered User
 
Schrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
@Schrade

done in next update ! (thanks for the hint!)

BHH
Very nice! Thanks.

Now I have another request which might not be in line with how you want the app to exist but I'll throw it out there anyway.

Devices like the PSP can only decode AVC at a certain level/profile. Any chance you could add something to lock AVC to certain levels/profiles? Like.. the PSP is supposed to support Main Profile now and I believe its level is 3.
Schrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2007, 06:58   #15  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
@Schrade

done! as in AutoMKV/MeGui profile's , i set the level to 2.1

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2007, 14:32   #16  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
here the update! 0.3 http://www.64k.it/andres/data/a/AutoMen03.exe 80.5 KB



added: queue
fixed: better ff4 profile
fixed: better width management
added: dump stream
added: play queue
added: shutdown

about dump stream: copy in clipboard a link to mms/rtps stream , click on dump (the small D at bottom), mplayer will connect to internet and download it
about play queue: i have queue, i have mplayer.. whu not add playing fuction?

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2007, 16:19   #17  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
@buzzqw

Sorry for the OT, but how do you do autocrop with mencoder? Thanks!
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2007, 16:38   #18  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
i read the stdout of
mplayer.exe -ss 00:00:XX -vf cropdetect -vo null -ao null -endpos XX+5
where XX is a random time (not beginning) of playing duration

isn't perfect.. but .. i hope for no errors..

it can be reiterated with several samples...

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2007, 16:46   #19  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
cool! so you launch mencoder only to get that info, then encode with detected values.... interresting thanks!
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2007, 18:22   #20  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
yes!

it's only a 5 seconds analisys so it's fast and from my sample tested accurated

as you said from stdout i parse the vf crop values, and if not present i set it to 0 (-vf crop=0:0:0:0)

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
automen, ffmpeg, handbrake, mencoder, x264

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.