Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st May 2007, 10:36   #61  |  Link
Neo Fagin
Mmmmmmmmangoscam!
 
Neo Fagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Retrying now, I'll let you know if it works or not.
Neo Fagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 10:58   #62  |  Link
Neo Fagin
Mmmmmmmmangoscam!
 
Neo Fagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Seems to work now.

May as well ask for a "feature" so to speak - since this tool writes raw/wav files to disk as intermediates to the process, would it be possible to make this tool capable of doing two transcodes at once if given the option - ac3 and flac on the same command line? Saves having to run it twice since the raw/wav files are already created on disk for either process individually.
Neo Fagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 11:08   #63  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Fagin View Post
Seems to work now.
So you have valid 5.1 now? Or were you able to get 7.1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Fagin View Post
May as well ask for a "feature" so to speak - since this tool writes raw/wav files to disk as intermediates to the process, would it be possible to make this tool capable of doing two transcodes at once if given the option - ac3 and flac on the same command line? Saves having to run it twice since the raw/wav files are already created on disk for either process individually.
That's kind of difficult. The main problem is that for ac3 encoding eac3to keeps using 24bit (cause it's no disadvantage for final file size), while for flac recording the TrueHD track is converted to 16bit. So the raw files already differ.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 11:22   #64  |  Link
Neo Fagin
Mmmmmmmmangoscam!
 
Neo Fagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
So you have valid 5.1 now? Or were you able to get 7.1?
Not sure. All I know is before, it wrote a 3.5gb raw file and failed on the sox step, this time it wrote a 6.5gb raw file and is now in the middle of the wav transcode step. It's taking an immensely long time due to the size of the files involved. In this instance I'm doing ac3 so it'd only be 5.1 results. I'll make a flac track afterwards and see how it goes.
Quote:
That's kind of difficult. The main problem is that for ac3 encoding eac3to keeps using 24bit (cause it's no disadvantage for final file size), while for flac recording the TrueHD track is converted to 16bit. So the raw files already differ.
Ah. No worries, just figured it'd be a big time-saver.

Last edited by Neo Fagin; 21st May 2007 at 11:26.
Neo Fagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 11:53   #65  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Fagin View Post
Not sure. All I know is before, it wrote a 3.5gb raw file and failed on the sox step, this time it wrote a 6.5gb raw file and is now in the middle of the wav transcode step. It's taking an immensely long time due to the size of the files involved. In this instance I'm doing ac3 so it'd only be 5.1 results.
Well, you could feed sox any data, e.g. an "exe" file and it would still be happy. So that sox and ac3 encoding runs through is not yet a proof of that everything is fine. If the raw file contains 8 channels, but eac3to thinks it's 6 channels, the output will be "interesting". But let's just wait and see...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 13:08   #66  |  Link
Neo Fagin
Mmmmmmmmangoscam!
 
Neo Fagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
The output appears to be okay 5.1 AC3. I haven't loaded it into Vegas or the like to do a comparison with ac3 made from the eac3 via sonic, though, but during playback the channels all appear to be in the right spots etc.

Could it be possible to do the flac/ac3 at once transcode thing if the -keep24 switch is used, thusly both flac and ac3 would logically use the same 24-bit raw file? Flac's primarily an archival medium in this instance so filesize isn't a terrible concern. If not, no big deal, just the thought occured to me. I suspect it's maybe a half-dozen lines of code to implement at any rate.
Neo Fagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 13:08   #67  |  Link
zgx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Fagin View Post
Not sure. All I know is before, it wrote a 3.5gb raw file and failed on the sox step, this time it wrote a 6.5gb raw file and is now in the middle of the wav transcode step. It's taking an immensely long time due to the size of the files involved. In this instance I'm doing ac3 so it'd only be 5.1 results. I'll make a flac track afterwards and see how it goes.
Ah. No worries, just figured it'd be a big time-saver.
If you make a FLAC track first then run:

flac -d yourflacfile.flac
aften -whateveroptions yourwavfile.wav

But as Madshi pointed out for FLAC files the PCM is converted to 16 bit first. But since most TrueHD tracks seams to use 16 bit source material it shouldn't really matter that much. The AC3 file will probably sound just the same.
zgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 13:24   #68  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Fagin View Post
Could it be possible to do the flac/ac3 at once transcode thing if the -keep24 switch is used, thusly both flac and ac3 would logically use the same 24-bit raw file?
In that case you can do a simple batch file like this:

eac3to some.evo some.wav -keep24
eac3to some.wav some.flac
eac3to some.wav some.ac3

That's as fast as you can get. If eac3to did this for you internally, it wouldn't be any faster.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zgx
since most TrueHD tracks seams to use 16 bit source material it shouldn't really matter that much. The AC3 file will probably sound just the same.
Well, if only true TrueHD decoder output was really 16bit when being fed a 16bit TrueHD track... I've just contacted Nero support about this problem. Hopefully they'll send me a useful reply.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 13:40   #69  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
mhh strange

When i want to type in the Nero HDDVD/BluRay Plugin Serial, Nero tells me i have to upgrade to newest Version first.

i use the lstest Version....?
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 13:40   #70  |  Link
zgx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I've just contacted Nero support about this problem. Hopefully they'll send me a useful reply.
Yes lets hope they fix it would be awsome to get a bit perfect decode.
zgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 14:41   #71  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley View Post
mhh strange

When i want to type in the Nero HDDVD/BluRay Plugin Serial, Nero tells me i have to upgrade to newest Version first.

i use the lstest Version....?
That's quite strange. Which version do you have? You should probably contact Nero support.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 16:55   #72  |  Link
序列人
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley View Post
mhh strange

When i want to type in the Nero HDDVD/BluRay Plugin Serial, Nero tells me i have to upgrade to newest Version first.

i use the lstest Version....?
me to...
my ver. is Nero7.Premium.Reloaded.v.7.5.9.1.MULTiLANGUAGE...
序列人 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 17:05   #73  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,757
As far as I can see the latest version is 7.8.5.0.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 17:12   #74  |  Link
Darth Pinous
Registered User
 
Darth Pinous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In a galaxy far, far away
Posts: 51
This means that the serial is wrong, nothing to do with a version problem. If you buy the plug-in from the Nero website, you will see that the serial they will give you is waaay different from the one you're trying to use...

Just tested Nero plugin to convert Matrix Reloaded Dolby TrueHD track into Wavpack lossless track. Man, what a killer audio track !

I tried first to convert the WAV file to 16 bits with WaveWizard before converting it to Wavpack, then to convert directly the 24bit WAV file to Wavpack.

The 16bits Wavpack was 1,43 GB (which make a 1,5 Mbps average bitrate, quite dynamic movie !) while the 24bits Wavpack was 2,9 GB (I use option -h for Wavpack reencodes).

Despite the huge size difference, I couldn't hear any differences between the two audio tracks. So, not sure that there is one.


Does anyone know how to mux an elementary audio track (let's say a demuxed Dolby TrueHD track) in an EVO container or could anyone point me to a guide explaining how to do it ?
Darth Pinous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2007, 18:30   #75  |  Link
zgx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Pinous View Post
Does anyone know how to mux an elementary audio track (let's say a demuxed Dolby TrueHD track) in an EVO container or could anyone point me to a guide explaining how to do it ?
"Sonic Scenarist Advanced Content" would be my best bet.
zgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2007, 04:33   #76  |  Link
orbitlee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 78
Guys, don't bother madshi with the trouble by pirated nero keygen.

madshi, great work. I managed to build the filter chain in graphedit for TrueHD. Looks like it's time to consider the truehd source file :-)

BTW, I got a sample of m2ts with TrueHD audio track(from Blu-ray Nine Inch Nails), unfortunately nero splitter does not split it correctly(only ac3 audio track, no truehd).
orbitlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2007, 08:03   #77  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by orbitlee View Post
Guys, don't bother madshi with the trouble by pirated nero keygen.
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by orbitlee View Post
madshi, great work. I managed to build the filter chain in graphedit for TrueHD. Looks like it's time to consider the truehd source file :-)
That would be very nice!!
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2007, 16:58   #78  |  Link
Rectal Prolapse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 429
orbitlee: Confirmed. I couldn't get the NIN Blu-ray working with Nero either. No TrueHD track to select.
Rectal Prolapse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2007, 17:07   #79  |  Link
Borbus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 52
I'm using this with the Sonic Audio Decoder. I have the decoder set to environment quiet. I've tried converting eac3 to wav. I have the soundtrack in eac3 and ac3 from a DVD. Comparing eac3 decoded with this to ac3 decoded with foobar2000 this seems to be obviously dynamically compressed.

Has anyone else noticed this? Is it a bug with Sonic?
Borbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2007, 17:18   #80  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borbus View Post
I'm using this with the Sonic Audio Decoder. I have the decoder set to environment quiet. I've tried converting eac3 to wav. I have the soundtrack in eac3 and ac3 from a DVD. Comparing eac3 decoded with this to ac3 decoded with foobar2000 this seems to be obviously dynamically compressed.

Has anyone else noticed this? Is it a bug with Sonic?
Try using "environment normal". That might do the trick. At least that's what I'm using.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.