PDA

View Full Version : Does not support single files > 4GB

Janset
12th September 2005, 05:02
Hi all.

I have just downloaded and installed DVD Decrypt 3.5.4.0 .

At the end of the installation I was asked if I wanted to run the program, I did just to see what it looked like.

Up came (what I think may have been the log file) as it listed off times and what actions had been performed, then there was a "yellow Exclamation symbol", and next to it was the message:

" Does not support single files > 4GB"

(I did not have a disk inserted in my LG dual layer burner, it was empty!)

What does this mean? Do I have to install something else or make some setting changes to over come this error?

All help appreciated as I am new to this program.

Regards :confused:

CWR03
12th September 2005, 05:42
It all depends on what you plan to do with the decrypted files.

The message was pertaining to your hard drive(s) being FAT32, which does not support a single file larger than 4GB. If you're simply copying a DVD and need file mode, this won't be a problem. If you're using AutoGK you will run into problems since it allows only one .vob file, and they commonly exceed 4GB.

Janset
12th September 2005, 08:46
Hi CWR03.

Thank you for your quick reply. Yes I would be copying a DVD. My OS is Win XP Pro and is NTFS, so I do not really understand.

Also what is AutoGK?

Regards

setarip_old
12th September 2005, 11:03
My OS is Win XP Pro and is NTFS, so I do not really understand.

Apparently, whichever drive DVD Decrypter was reading is a FAT32 (and not NTFS) format drive...

Janset
13th September 2005, 01:36
Hi there.

I think you are right as my slave drive is FAT32. I tried a dummy run after I deleted the log file and this time all went well.

Just as a point, DVD Shrink also decodes before shrinking, does DVD Decrypt do any better job at it, or are they much the same?