PDA

View Full Version : Are these Authentic Taiyo Yuden TYG02?


SuprSonik
25th July 2005, 04:20
I'm looking at these discs (http://meritline.com/high-quality-8x-dvd-r-blank-media-white-thermal-printable.html) and it seems like an incredibly cheap price considering how great TYG02 is supposed to be. I used to use Ritek Ridata discs, and while I've never had any problems, everyone talks about how crappy they are so I assume there is some reason for that.

If those are real TYG02 then this is a great price, right?

mastercontrol
26th July 2005, 00:55
While I can't say for sure, as I don't shop there, I remembered seeing a post at Videohelp very recently regarding similar Taiyo Yuden media at meritline: http://www.videohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=274881

Personally, I would be very wary if a store sells high grade media for a very low price. In this case, I would suspect that the media is fake.

atreides93
26th July 2005, 03:54
ugh. I never buy from meritline. They tend to do a lot of bait and switch type stuff...who knows though, maybe they've improved since last year.

DocDragon
26th July 2005, 04:19
I'm looking at these discs (http://meritline.com/high-quality-8x-dvd-r-blank-media-white-thermal-printable.html) and it seems like an incredibly cheap price considering how great TYG02 is supposed to be. I used to use Ritek Ridata discs, and while I've never had any problems, everyone talks about how crappy they are so I assume there is some reason for that.

If those are real TYG02 then this is a great price, right?


oh my gosh, meritline is still in business? it's a miracle that noone sued the crappola out of them :angry: . as far as i can remember them (and that's 4+ years), they always made negative headlines. what a pity that there are so many uninformed customers who still fall victim to them. i don't know why the attorney's general office didn't kick their butts, yet. it's like buying photo equipment online from new yorker companies (if you know what i mean).

"supermediastore" used to be one of those "losers," but obviously they changed the management a couple of years ago. i didn't have problems since then. BTW, if you want to buy ritek media from a reputable seller, stick with "newegg.com". i bet on my dvd recorder that you'll get plenty of positive feedback about the way they do business :D. i just love them and ordered more than 40x from without any problems (including a few RMA's).

hope this helps.

m.

feedback
27th July 2005, 05:46
I believe that www.Rima.com is a Ty dealer. So if that is a fact then certainly you would get the real deal, so to speak.
Anyone have any more info on Rima?

Regards,:)

atreides93
2nd August 2005, 05:38
I've been buying spindles of dvd-r's from Rima for about 2 years now. They are great and have never screwed up an order. Even better, they respond to my emails in english I can understand. Definite plus for me since that's all I can speak.

Cogar
5th August 2005, 19:15
Another vote for Rima here.

BSpielbauer
8th August 2005, 20:21
I'm looking at these discs (http://meritline.com/high-quality-8x-dvd-r-blank-media-white-thermal-printable.html) and it seems like an incredibly cheap price considering how great TYG02 is supposed to be. I used to use Ritek Ridata discs, and while I've never had any problems, everyone talks about how crappy they are so I assume there is some reason for that.

If those are real TYG02 then this is a great price, right?

Meritline's exact statement on these discs is as follows:

"These discs are made according to the standard of Taiyo-Yuden ,but not made in Japan."

In other words, these are NOT Taiyo Yudens. They have placed them under the Taiyo Yuden "links," which they somehow try to justify in their own point of view, because they are made "according to the same standards." This is obvious nonsense, as we all know, and an attempt to deceive.

Also, note the very tricky wording on the actual page:

The Main title on these is: "High Quality 8X DVD-R Silver Shiny Blank Media in Cake Box (TYG02), 25, 50, 100, 200, 500 Pack"

Then, below this, in slightly smaller type:

"Taiyo Yuden Quality DVD-R Media"

I am sure if you scream and hollar, they would state that (in their deceptive minds) this means they are "Taiyo Yuden quality" and not that these are actually "Taiyo Yuden." Clever semantics. Deceptive. Deliberately deceptive.

I have bought from them in the past (more than a year ago), but this is one of the reasons I now would avoid giving them one penny of my cash.

-Bruce

atreides93
15th August 2005, 09:01
Typical meritline nonsense....
that's why I never buy from them anymore...