PDA

View Full Version : Problem backing up Taken (disc 2)


Rille
19th April 2005, 11:24
Have a problem encoding Taken D2. With previous version of CCE i got an error on a segment (CCE "MPVA VBF ovg frame #).
Now with version 0.83 (free), CCE just stops on a segment with IPB going through the roof (100+).
Tried both on source directly from dvddecrypter and preprocessed with dvdremake.
Any idea on how to solve this?
If more information is needed please let me know.

Edit:
[item]
title=V01000900001010
aud_out=0
vaf_file=C:\DVDRB\D2VAVS\V01000900001010.vaf
aud_file=C:\DVDRB\D2VAVS\V01000900001010.mpa
file_focused=0
packet_size=2048
width=720
height=576
frame_rate_idx=3
cbr_brate=6000
vbr_brate_avg=921
vbr_brate_min=500
vbr_brate_max=9000
seq_endcode=0
dvd=0
half_width=0
half_height=0
lum_level=0
adjust_q_matrix=0
aspect_ratio=3
gop_m=3
gop_nm=4
gop_hdr=12
seq_hdr=1
all_closed_gop=0
fix_gop_length=0
samples_per_sec=44100
stereo=2
brate_idx=7
crc=1
progressive=0
alternate_scan=1
intra_dc_prec=2
aud_mode=0
tc_ref_frm=0
drop_frame=0
fix_vbv_delay=0
letter_box=0
pulldown_detect=0
offset_line=0
create_new_vaf=1
credits_tweak=0
credits_start=0x00000
credits_brate=1000
h_filter=0
h_filter_idx=8
dither=0
dither_max=8
qmat_idx=0
quality_prec=24.96
timecode=0x0000000
video_type=4
vid_file0=C:\DVDRB\D2VAVS\V01000900001010.m2v
vid_file1=C:\DVDRB\D2VAVS\V01000900001010.m2v
vid_out=1
vaf_out=1
opv_q_factor=20
opv_brate_min=0
opv_brate_max=9000
vbr_bias=25
vbr_pass=2
use_filter=0
filter_val=6
non_linear=1
top_first=0
mpeg1=0
mpeg1_cps=1

Sir Didymus
19th April 2005, 13:17
Hi Rille!

How long is the segment ?

If you are encoding it at a VBR multipass, and in case it is a segment of a meaningful length, it seems to me
vbr_brate_avg=921
is definitely too low to obtain something watchable...
Even in case it is an extra, with bitrate dropped in favour of the main movie...

Not surprising CCE may have troubles to try to encode this "mission impossible" task...

I wonder how is it possible to obtain such a low value...

Is the segment not belonging to the main movie and you have checked the option "Steal Space from Extra" ?

Are you encoding with the option "Half D1 & Half Space for Extras" ?

Rille
19th April 2005, 15:03
Length is 1min 7sec.
This DVD does not contain any extras at all. It has 30mb menu and the rest is video (2h 48min). Only one AC3 5.1 stream is saved and 2 subtitles. It's weird that this segment get a so low bitrate. I've done all Voyager DVD's which has a lower average bitrate without any problem.

Sir Didymus
19th April 2005, 15:26
Originally posted by Rille
...I've done all Voyager DVD's which has a lower average bitrate without any problem.

:confused: Lower than 921 ? :confused:

I say again. Something is wrong with this avg bitrate.
Especially if you say you keep just one ac3 track.

A DVD-5 is 4.700.000.000 bytes
Let's say 450.000.000 are for the ac3 track.
Let's say 50.000.000 are for menu and subpictures and ifos...

You have available 4.200.000.000 bytes for 10.080 seconds of video.

It gives more than 3200 Kbit/s, which is reasonable, not 921...

Edit: what happen if you try to play the corresponding avs segment ? - Just open it with Windows Media Player... - The segment is located in the D2VAVS folder, its name is V01000900001010.avs...

Edit2: what is the avg bitrate of all of the other segments ?

Rille
19th April 2005, 17:36
Oh, i mean average bitrate for this segement =) Average bitrate for movie 3103. What i don't understand is why this segment gets a so low bitrate.
The avs plays just fine. Its the end credits (no moving text) and dreamworks fishing guy =)
I'm using one-click mode. Can i just do a prepare and manually change bitrate for this segment. I'm not sure how dvdrb sets bitrate for segments but it seems that it's doing someting wrong in this case.