PDA

View Full Version : General Subtitle Question

artios
1st February 2005, 13:37
Hi

I am quite new to subtitling.
I used and found very convenient the guide from “TheMatrixx”, which is the third sticky from the top. I must admit that results were brilliant, but I have one question regarding synchronization, please read the following maybe you can help me:

Most of the movies that I rip and then add subts are NTSC, “Region 1” (American movies)
These movies are available longtime before official European release. I downloaded some subtitles for one specific movie, but all of them are 25’’ FPS. When I tried to add these subts to the movie, the result was unsynchronized subts.

In order for me to add successfully Greek subts to the NTSC-Region1 movie I did the following:
1. used subrip to rip the (English) subtitles from original movie
2. open both the .srt file (created by subrip) with notepad.exe and the subts I downloaded in .srt format also with notepad.exe and then manually replaced the English subts with the Greek subts. I must admit that it was a lengthy procedure.

Please advise me if there is a way to synchronize the 25’’fps subts with the NTSC-Region1 movie. Another issue is that the original subtitles of the movie exceed the number (in lines) of the downloaded subts, because they are mainly for persons with hearing disabilities and therefore they contain more subtitles than the dialogues, e.g. door opens, door closes, big explosion etc.

I understand that applications like “time adjuster” etc are for synchronize subts with *.avi only, but correct me if I am wrong

Best regards

niamh
1st February 2005, 17:48
Any subtitle app will let you change the framerate, but if you want to get rid of the hearing impaired subtitles as well, then you can do it in one go with subtitle workshop, which is the best subtitle editing app I've ever encountered.