PDA

View Full Version : family member dvd's

oneunshamed
1st November 2004, 03:14
Is it illegal, (as far as what is known), to use a family members DVD's for my own personal use. In America, are there copyright laws against allowing someone in the "imediate" family from burning dvd's that another family member owns? I would like to know this because there seems to be no problem with it as far as i can tell (i have searched for this answer for a while and found no solution yet). The reason for my inquiry is that I am a college student and if this seems to be legit i would like to copy my familys dvd's and use them while i am in school because well... its boring at times and im poor. Any ideas if this is legal or not? Thanks.

dani82
1st November 2004, 08:58
mother, father, brother, sister, adopted; family

aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws; immediate family (as far as i know)

as long as you lived with them before you left for school, it's your right, to do as you wish (with their permission), no matter what the law says.

none of this will matter, when it comes down to it, it's all about your morals

oneunshamed
1st November 2004, 22:01
morals?

in 21 years old, i didnt live with them prior to my schooling, but i live with them during breaks i have to take while in school. Complicated ?, maybe. Since when did american laws have to do with "morality" alone? it usually has to do with apeasement and justice as well. Which is why i need to know for certain in my circumstance i can do what it is i am asking. Id like to know the straighht facts, not whether or not i "feel" or think its right, what is and isnt allowed legally will be great thanks.

dani82
2nd November 2004, 09:32
ever red the disclaimer when a video/dvd starts to play, re-producing a media is against the law; then, why do people do it? because they bought it, and they feel it's their right to do with them, as they please (for personal, non-profit use only)