PDA

View Full Version : Deinterlacing - Ugh.

MLS
15th September 2004, 18:31
I was wondering if perhaps someone could give a list of different ways of deinterlacing pure interlaced (I understand there are many) and perhaps give the pros and cons of each? I've tried fielddeinterlace() and kerneldeint() and can't get away from the annoying lines on horizontal planes in the video that are caused by these methods. I've played some interlaced DVDs in Mediaplayer Classic and they do not have any combing or annoying lines, so it must be possible. I just don't know how to do it with AVISynth.

Thanks,

/MLS

P.S. I've searched but most of the threads are full of techno-jargon that I don't fully understand :(.

joshbm
16th September 2004, 01:52
Well I'm not an expert with all the techo-jargan ;), I'm just a newbie that has had some experience with some of the deinterlacers below, so if an expert wants to come in and correct me, please DO :)!

There are a couple sites you can visit:
> Doom9 (http://www.doom9.org/ivtc-tut.htm#InterlacingDeinterlacing)
> AnimeMusicVideos.com (http://www.animemusicvideos.org/guides/avtechbeta/interlaceremoval.html) (not only for anime, scroll down to "4) Full Frame Deinterlace")

Deinterlacers

KernelDeint()
Pros: Great Quality, Latest version is indeed fast, I use this solution a lot.
Cons: Sometimes yields jagged edges on intricate details and moving parts.

FieldDeinterlace()
Pros: To my knowledge, this yields fairly good quality video after some tweaking.
Cons: I believe this is just a simple deinterlacer which discards one of the fields (a loss of information). Causing jagged edges.

SmoothDeinterlacer()
Pros: Provides relatively smooth edges and video.
Cons: Sometimes it can cause artifacts I've noticed around edges.

DGBob()
Pros: Faster than SmoothDeinterlacer(), supposedly yields very similar output. Can be both bobbed (59.94i > 59.94p) or can be used as a normal deinterlacer (59.94i > 29.97p).