PDA

View Full Version : Looking for ressources about video

p4t0z3u
22nd June 2004, 21:42
Hi everyone (especially girls ;)),

I'm getting interessed in getting knowledge about the structure of video files (using different codecs for example), how it works, how it is played / decoded, what it is concretly.

I'm looking for websites explaining all of this. I'm been googling a lot, but I never found relevant information that could explain a complete newbie like me in video developpment (but not in general programming) how video is designed / what it is really (i say anything: for example a following of still pictures, i'm sure i'm wrong).

My primary goal is to be able (if i have the courage, given that it is a totally spare time "project") for example to play a MPEG2 file !
In fact, what i'd like to do would be to start everything from scratch (if possible, by avoiding using existing library).$

Of course, I will not re-invent "video" wheel ;) but this has always been for me the best way to understand how things are made (and i think you will understand me).

So my "request" if so, is for any websites / books buyable over the web, newsgroups, that could help me apprehend all of this stuff about video (in general and especially when handled over a PC).

I'm open to any suggestion.

thanks for reading me,
p4t0z3u

23rd June 2004, 00:42
Start with a book called "Video Demystified".

p4t0z3u
23rd June 2004, 01:06
I can see this reference on amazon:

"Video Demystified: A Handbook for the Digital Engineer
de Keith Jack"

it may be the one, right ? (third edition out in march 2001)

and hey :cool: what an honor, Donald Graft himself answering my post...

the magic of the web :D (and i like your cat, too)

Neo Neko
23rd June 2004, 02:13