View Full Version : does this look like DVD Decryper?
ammer
28th November 2003, 12:27
http://www.dvd-copy-software-review.com/dvd-wizard-pro-software.html
saw it while running through dvd copy software review
nm, it seems that there are a lot of dvd ripping ripoffs out there. oh well, one more to it.
Uli
28th November 2003, 13:22
...does this look like DVD Decrypter?
- absolutely yes - :angry:
another black sheep...
greetz, Uli
ammer
30th November 2003, 11:36
i knew it. hope someone gets a lawyer to breath down there neck or throw some litigation charges on them.
filewalker
30th November 2003, 21:45
At LIGHTNING UK's site (http://www.dvddecrypter.com/) are also other similiar blak sheeps listed:
CopiesAnything
DVD Squeeze
DVD Copy Decrypter
DVD Cutter
DVD Echo
:devil:Those people should be prisioned!
Sic transit gloria mundi.:(
Justinus
2nd December 2003, 00:55
Well...if no one sues them, what we can do is to spread this info to other people. It'd be even better if there's a site proving these black sheep softwares to be real by using side-by-side comparison site with screenshots.
epere4
2nd December 2003, 04:13
I can believe it.
In this case you cannot say that the program is a cheap copy of DVDDecrypter, can you? ;) The charge you for 40 dollars for a freeware. Thatīs disgusting. :angry: :angry:
have anyone tried to mail these guys?
Boow
3rd December 2003, 19:56
I wonder if there's some kind of website or something to let people know that thier being ripped off. I don't know much about Gpl but its pretty dirty when someone is selling freeware programs of someone else's work as their own an the original author doesn't get one dime for his work.
Justinus
4th December 2003, 04:35
That's the similar idea I expressed previously. Anyway, if someone has to sue them (e.g. to the court), it must be LIGHTNING UK! He/She's only one having the right to do this kinda stuff. I wonder how he/she feels right now seeing his/her softwares being ripped of like this :(
ammer
6th December 2003, 13:30
he should. should be like 'oh im just gonna send these guys a notice to take my app off of their commercial site and sales in regards to GNU licensing or i'm gonna sue em for all i can. maybe consult a lawyer and devise plan of strategy to nail these bastards.
SeeMoreDigital
6th December 2003, 13:59
Hmm!
Due to the new anti-piracy laws that came into effect recently. It may not be a sensible move for LIGHTNING UK (or any creators of DVD cracking software) to instruct legal action against another party for selling their software.
Especially when you consider that the software in question, could very well be deemed illegal, in some countries!
It's a tough one. If I was into conspiracy theories, you could think this was a direct ploy by some government departments to flush out the pirates, hackers and crackers!
Cheers
EDIT: Grammer change
ammer
6th December 2003, 14:20
good point there. i see. theoretically it could be closer then being far from unimprobable.
Justinus
26th December 2003, 06:51
Logically, if that company can sell this kind of software in their country, it means it's legal. That means the software creator has the right to sue them. Do you think that government will try to sell the software that is violated the license and law?
Eyes`Only
29th December 2003, 07:33
from what i can tell, they dont actually sell any software. They are selling an ebook which tells you where to download apps and how to use them to copy media. In other words, they're charging big bucks for guides. Probably with content stolen from Doom9.
Justinus
29th December 2003, 08:54
When I looked at it again, you probably right. It's a guide telling how to do various stuff. In that case, as long as they don't rip the actual content or idea from someone's guide, they're partially safe. However, they still don't have the right to create software screenshots without any authorisation from software developers, especially for commercial purpose.
Nonetheless, people these days are smart enough to search everything on the Internet first. They probably find Doom9 or other sites having free guides easily. Maybe we'd do something like that, too, but for free ;)
Eyes`Only
29th December 2003, 09:01
Unfortunately, I'd have to say you're incorrect about people being smart enough. That's how these companies stay in business. People find one or two links (or spam emails, which is probably how these people are advertising), and purchase without thinking. The average user doesnt exercise much time in finding a solution to something they want to do. Especially if they are on dial-up, because let's face it, it's painful to search thru more than a couple sites at 56k.
It's a sad but true fact. These companies are thriving and there's not much being done to stop it.
Eyes`Only
29th December 2003, 09:05
As for the discovery of it's real identity, I found this link to the homepage: http://www.dvdwizardpro.com/faq.html#description
As you can see, it says
Q: What exactly is DVD Wizard Pro?
A: DVD Wizard Pro is a executable e-Book. You will also find tutorial guides making it easy for you install and learn the tools provided and a collection of software that includes video players (allow you to play the latest video files), CD/DVD burning applications and much much more
So I guess they are packaging software too. Probably MPC or something. The bastards are making money off of the stuff that we the community researched and developed for free. :mad:
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.