PDA

View Full Version : To EZMD


ddlooping
17th October 2003, 15:59
This is a quote from a now closed thread, hence my inability to directly reply to it.
Yes DVDShrink is free. I'm not saying you should pay for it. Would you not be willing to make a donation to help their efforts?
http://www.dvdshrink.com/donate.htm

EZDM, you seem to imply that your donation scheme is a way to help DVD Shrink developers.
DVD Shrink has only one developer, dvdshrink, and he's never set-up a donation scheme (I've pushed him many a times to set-up one, considering the amount of users who actually want to donate).

Would you mind telling me if this has been approved by him?
Is he receiving any part of these donations?
Does he know about the existence of dvdshrink.com.

dvdshrink.org is the official site.
dvdshrink.info is a personal site I made to help and support dvdshrink and his software users.
I contacted him before I made the site to let him know about my intentions, and asked him if it was ok for me to register the domain name.
So what is dvdshrink.com?

I appologize in advance if this is entirely genuine and approved by dvdshrink, but I have to ask. ;)

Lazza
17th October 2003, 17:19
Hmm......

@ ddlooping

This sure bothers me and I'm sure will open your eyes:- http://www.dvdshrink.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=3&sid=34b6cc7d4560c510bd5f663a25d2ad99

Being as though the official Beta testers forum is at digital-digest, which of course you know being the moderator of it, and is strictly private I am sure questions will be asked by yourself and dvdshrink! :mad:

ddlooping
17th October 2003, 17:44
Thanks for the link, Lazza. ;)

This doesn't bother me at all.
They are free to do whatever they want as long as they don't make a profit on the back of a free software.
You'll also notice the "The unofficial source for DVD Shrink." header at the top of the forums pages.

What I'm concerned about is the donation scheme and the way it was presented in the thread I quoted from.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=63261&perpage=20&pagenumber=5

Eyes`Only
17th October 2003, 17:57
I've emailed the author and we'll get to the bottom of this and find if recourse is necessary soon. Damn you guys are making us moderators work hard this week! ;)

ddlooping
17th October 2003, 20:15
Originally posted by Eyes`Only
I've emailed the author and we'll get to the bottom of this and find if recourse is necessary soon. Damn you guys are making us moderators work hard this week! ;)

Thanks, and sorry about that. :)

Eyes`Only
22nd October 2003, 20:08
Direct from DVDShrink himself:

Thanks for your notification: sorry about the delay in reply.

I am certainly NOT advocating donations for DVD Shrink at
www.dvdshrink.com, I just learned about it yesterday and I'm totally
shocked that people have the nerve to even attempt this scam. These
donations appear to be going straight into the pockets of Burn World site
admins.

Can you do me the favour, of making this clear on the forum (and
any/every other related forum that you attend)?

...Perhaps if the dvd community makes enough noise...

Thanks in advance, for any noise you can make!

Best regards,
dvdshrink

maa
22nd October 2003, 20:17
Wow ! Dailight robbery !!:devil:

Kedirekin
22nd October 2003, 20:57
These people should go to jail!

I wouldn't even be opposed to public exhibition [and I don't normally advocate sax and violins].

Lazza
23rd October 2003, 01:05
They have really brought shame upon the online CD/DVD forum community. :(

I think it was fairly obviousfrom the start that this was a scam and done without the knowledge of dvdshrink but it is still very sad none the less.

Eyes`Only
23rd October 2003, 02:01
Yes, it was fairly reasonable to assume that this was a scam, but I don't assume and/or post things without checking on it, so I waited to hear from DVDShrink himself, just like you waited til my post to state what many of us were thinking :)

What I really wonder now is just how much dirty money they've gotten from that site?

maa
23rd October 2003, 10:34
Today its says $59 on the donations page - but who knows ...

I just dropped a little bomb on there forum - no registration needed !
Maybe others here will continue the thread :
http://www.dvdshrink.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=76

before its removed of course....

Eyes`Only
23rd October 2003, 10:45
Even sadder: In their forum (http://www.dvdshrink.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=4) ppl are posting with recommendations thinking they're ideas are being heard.

Eyes`Only
24th October 2003, 00:24
I'm pleased to be the first to post the good news... Due to active research and effort on the part of the Doom9 mods, dvdshrink.com is now closed for business!

Apparently a few voices can make a difference ;)

mrbass
24th October 2003, 01:23
actually even better than closed
http://www.dvdshrink.com now forwards to http://www.dvdshrink.org

Actually it was dvdshrink himself who wrote the email (to the person in charge) that put a stop to it.

edit: and several mods and others on this forum were investigating this scam, writing to American Red Cross about this donation scam, etc.

Chowskie
24th October 2003, 10:03
Hmm... The forum is still running. I guess it won't hurt to discuss DVDShrink and other DVD related issues in that forum as long as no more scam donation scheme.

Richk50
25th October 2003, 13:12
ddlooping:

Now that that problem has been resolved, any word from DVDShrink about a new version?

maa
25th October 2003, 13:29
The Admin exchanged my post (mentioned above) for his explanation :
http://www.dvdshrink.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=76

Kedirekin
25th October 2003, 15:10
So they take donations under false pretenses, *and* they replace posts they don't like?

How very credible. I can't say I'm inclined to believe them.

EZMD
2nd November 2003, 20:21
Looks like I stand corrected about the donations.... I was going on what appeared to be a donations scheme. Guess the best part of the whole mess is the scam is obvious.


I'm still in favor of supporting useful tools though. If you get him to change his mind I'm sure a lot of people would donate.