PDA

View Full Version : Forcing A DVD player to read VCD


Karl Marks
2nd October 2003, 09:57
I appologize if this thread belongs to one of the categories - I couldn't decide which one.

A friend of mine has an AKAI DVD player that doesn't read VCD. Is it inavitable, or can it be changed like I forced my player to read multizone ?
If it can be changed, how ?

ppera2
2nd October 2003, 10:18
Some DVD players simple not support VCD and SVCD.
I doubt that ever will appear some firmware update for them.

SeeMoreDigital
2nd October 2003, 11:24
In order to help you further I would have to know the model number of the player and maybe even the serial number.

But as ppera2 mentioned, some DVD players can't spin VCD's at all! Which I personally think is a very narrow minded and poor sales tactic of certain manufactureres.

I appologize if this thread belongs to one of the categories - I couldn't decide which one. You could have posted your question in the 'Hardware DVD Players' section of the forum. Which is here: -

http://forum.doom9.org/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=73

Cheers

smiller667
2nd October 2003, 16:05
Or you can head over to vcdhelp.com & do a search for "Akai" - alternatively, click on this link (http://www.dvdrhelp.com/dvdplayers.php?DVDname=akai&Submit=Search&Search=Search) :).

No specific Akai models are listed as not supporting VCD or not supporting CD-R media. If it is an older/unlisted model though, maybe it just doesn't support writable media (old Sony models were known for this). Try a "pressed" VCD in that case.

Steve

Karl Marks
2nd October 2003, 20:24
You guys are KINGS !

DVDHELP had an explanation about how to do hack the zone code, and now the player reads VCD'S.

Cheers. I ow you guys.