PDA

View Full Version : Selectable Subtitles - How ?

Sprettur
28th September 2003, 06:35
Hey there! I am a relative newbie in the ripping world, although I've managed to learn (with great help from the Doom9 Guides) how to successfully rip and store my DVD's with seperate .srt subtitle files. What I'm wondering, however, is this: I have seen in .ogm files selectable Subtitles... where the subtitle file is embedded into the .ogm file it self, but is still selectable. Is there no way to do the same with DivX ? I've read the DivX guides from cover to cover... even tried reading it upside down, but I see no information about the possibility of this. Anyone? Is it possible, and if so, could you point me in the general direction of some sort of guide ?

Sincerely,
Arni V. Bjorgvinsson

Tuning
28th September 2003, 07:15
U can MUX the subtitles as u do using mp3 files.Use VirtualDubMod for the same.The VDM only supports *.srt files.As because of some overhead space utilization the final size of avi will be more than combined two.The same procedure is viable for other formats like OGM/MKV(matroska).For more look in to Vub/VdubMod procedures in guides section.:)

Is there no way to do the same with DivX ?
The DivX is a compression codec name and not a container format.OGM is a container format and can use DivX as its video compression.Don't be confused.;)

Sprettur
28th September 2003, 07:35
The DivX is a compression codec name and not a container format.

:sly: Aw shucks.... of course I meant AVI :D

For more look in to Vub/VdubMod procedures in guides section.

Thank you kindly, I will look into that!

Sincerely,
Arni V. Bjorgvinsson

Tuning
28th September 2003, 07:49
newbie in the ripping world
Sorry Arni V. Bjorgvinsson,This made me to think so.:( .Hope u got help!:)

Sprettur
28th September 2003, 07:54
Arni (Read Arnie in English) will suffice thank you ;)