PDA

View Full Version : What do I do with SRT subs?

AR3A51
22nd September 2003, 05:19
I have ripped a subtitle from my DVD but it is SRT. I dont know what to do with it. Can someone please teach me how to put it back into my VCD?

clickit
22nd September 2003, 06:45
with what software you are make your VCD's ???

AR3A51
23rd September 2003, 01:17
I dont know, I never dealt with SRT before.

smiller667
23rd September 2003, 01:27
SRT is a text-based subtitle format (you can read & edit it in notepad). As such, you can convert it to other (perhaps more familiar) formats using software like Subtitle Workshop.

What precisely do you want to do?
Permanently integrate it into your VCD? This would entail reencoding it. Easiest way to do so is using dvd2svcd & re-ripping it.
Or just display the subs during playback on your PC? There is no way like multiplexing it ínto an existing VCD so that it can be displayed by a standalone.

AR3A51
23rd September 2003, 02:26
Since I'm a total newbie at this, I'll tell you what I want and you tell me how to do it. I have a SRT file and a Xvid movie file. I just want it to be displayed on my VCD from my VCD player. However if that means it have to permantly be encoded in, fine. Tell me the steps and easiest ways to do it. Ill be back in an hour, and I'll disgust problems with you later. Thanks in advance.

AR3A51
23rd September 2003, 05:18
K, I checked around, I found that what I want is to permantly "burn" in my sub into my video file so its on the same stream and when I use TMPG it will look normal. Then I burn it as VCD. But this requires re-encoding. As far as I know, which is nothing, I dont have a re-encoding program. Which should I use? Is burning in the subtitle same as muxing? And AviMux cant use SRT.

jggimi
23rd September 2003, 13:53
You are correct. VCD does not support subtitle tracks. Subtitles need to be part of the video stream.