PDA

View Full Version : Making a DVD with several VCDs movies

gort9k
31st July 2003, 15:12
Well:
I don't know whether this cuestion has been made before.

I've got several movies encoded as VCD; what I'd like to do is to make a DVD with some VCD movies and a start menu to select any movie you want.

I reckon that as a VCD encoded movie takes about 1 giga, more or less, I could fit four movies into a single layer DVD.

Does anybody knows how to do it?

Thanks

oddyseus
31st July 2003, 16:36
Demux your audio and video from each vcd and reauthor them in your favorite authoring prog. Both audio and video r within dvd specs, so there won't be any problem authoring them. U have to build your self a menu though.

gort9k
31st July 2003, 21:24
Hola:

Thanks, Oddyseus, for your help. The problem (for me, and for you, I'm afraid) is that I am a complete beginner in this ripping encoding business.

In order to encode those movies as VCD, I used: SmartRipper, DVD2Avi, and TMPEnc, and, finally, VCDeasy (to create chapters and .cue and .bin files in order to record them into a CDR). You tell me that I have to DEMUX the files. TMPGEnc has a tool to demux, though it has two options: De-multiplex and Simple De-multiplex. Wich one do I have to use?

Thanks again

oddyseus
31st July 2003, 22:31
Simple demultiplex would suffice for vcd files, since there r no other streams present except for audio and video.

gort9k
1st August 2003, 00:07
Thanks a lot for your help. I'll try. Surely will wreck a couple (more than that, I expect) of DVD disks.

dvd_maniac
3rd August 2003, 21:12
oddyseus:
Both audio and video r within dvd specs, so there won't be any problem authoring them

I thought the audio needs to be re-sampled to 48khz, since VCD aduio is not 48khz, how can the demuxed audio file be within specs?

gort9k:
Use besweet to re-encode the audio file.