PDA

View Full Version : Don't know how to do an effect with ASS

Le Furet
13th March 2003, 22:49
Hello.

I'm trying to achieve a special effect on credits of the film I'm subbing, which would look like that :
http://fterraza.free.fr/exemple.avi

I've looked on files in Vobsub's doc directory about ass format (which I've never used before), i thought it could be a combination of \fad and \be (blur edges), but \be doesn't seem to do anything.

I've looked for examples of ass scripts on the net and this forum, but I let you imagine what kind of documents you find when you type "ass" in a search engine ^^.

If you could provide me with scripts that can achieve effects of more or less this kind, or even just with example scripts (I learn better from examples), I'd be very grateful.

WyldeF1r3
14th March 2003, 08:18
in the docs folder there are 2 documents ass-quickref.txt and ass-specs.doc. Those explain how to use the special formatting tages inside an SSA4.0x script (.ssa). In order to make them work, you need to A) enclose them in curvy brackets {\fad(100,300)} and you need to load the .ssa file into virtualdub or nandub with the textsub.vdf for the functions to be recognized. All functions that work are in the ass-quickref.txt, the explenation on their parameters and syntax is explained in more detail of index A in the ass-specs.doc

Le Furet
14th March 2003, 09:45
Thank you, but I know these docs and I can read. I also know how to use a ass file. If I post a thread, that's because those docs didn't help.

So, my apologies but I insist. If there are .ass coders (a.k.a. fansubbers, I see more and more complicated effects in fansubs nowadays), please download the avi above (it's very small, 150 kbs), look at it, and if you can give me a hint on how to achieve this, It would be cheerful.

Thanks in advance...

WyldeF1r3
14th March 2003, 12:00