PDA

View Full Version : Capturing from my DV camcorder

DaveKlassix
16th February 2003, 19:55
I'm new to this, so bear with me. Ive been trying to capture video off my DV camcorder (Canon ZR45), and I've been using Ulead Videostudio 6 to this, simply because it captures in mpeg2 format ready to burn to a DVD. The problem is, when playing back video thats been captured, if there isn't much/any camera movement, the video appears fine. However, when the camera moves around in the scene, the video becomes extremely blocky (kinda like playing avideo game on the Atari 2600). Obviously, I must have some capture setting screwed up somewhere, but I don't know where. ANy suggestions? Or better yet, any better apps for capturing to DVD-Ready MPEGS? Ssceanyler and M$ movie maker only seem to capture to AVI.

kthx

simdavid
16th February 2003, 21:06
If u wanna capture in MPEG2..than u must understand the nature of MPEG2. Capturing DVD MPEG on the FLY requires a lot a CPU processing power and the quality will not be good! For the simple reason becos Compression needs calculations on the codec..the higher the quality u wanna achive without the square blocks..the more TIME is needed for the Codec to calculate and analyse individual scenes and Frames for BEST MPEG quality output..capturing on the fly tends to give a standard compression output. No matter how good is MPEG compression on the fly, it will never beat Software encoder like TMPG and CCE.Look at how much time TMPG needs to encode your AVI file if you ever do it before. If it can be done much faster and gives best quality..WHY takes 10 hours to encode for a 1 half hour movie..on AMD athlon 1.3 Ghz.If u understand the technicalities of MPEG compression..u know if u want to capture on FLY then u have to suffer with lower quality.Especially on high action scene or rapid scene change!