PDA

View Full Version : Kare Kano US DVD Subtitle woes

triffid
3rd February 2003, 23:09
If you've watched the DVD with full subtitling on, you'll see that it is cutting-edge, using (i'm assuming) strange workarounds to locate text subtitles all over the screen in order to translate writing in the video (without overlaying their own, as in ADV's Nadesico). Right Stuf knew what they were doing, but that makes it a nightmare to rip the subs. PGC1 ripped fine, with working subtitles, but in PGC2 I cannot seem to get it to work. Vobsub creates empty .sub files, and Sub Rip works fine till the end of the intro theme song and synopsis of previous episode, then errors and tells me that it is probably encrypted.

I've had plenty of experience with subtitles, but have been lucky enough to never have anything like this happen, so my troubleshooting attempts (reripping the DVD with different settings, including straight file mode without stream processing, then trying subrip and vobsub again) have all failed. If anyone has experience to lend, please help out. And if you have the DVD (His and Her Circumstances volume 1), it would be easy to duplicate my problem, if it comes to that.

I have used SmartRipper and DVD Decrypter, planning to try vstrip next. Using Vobsub 2.23 and the latest Sub Rip (just got it).

thanks
-triffid

Shamanis
4th February 2003, 13:59
I have had a similar problem with Subrip. It seems that it does not like to read past the end of each VTS_xx_x.VOB file. Each time it hits the end it reports that the file may be encrypted (its not). This problem did not exist on verion 1.06, but does for 1.14 & 1.15.

Anyone know of this? Is it trying to read past the end of the VOB file like i suspect? Discs are all PAL R4.

Platin
13th February 2003, 22:35