PDA

View Full Version : closed captions scc offset problem

dgwak
17th January 2003, 01:22
I am using RAW2SCC v1.2 to convert raw closing captions data to a scc file with -o flag to offset the time.

But it does not let me do the negative offset. It is always positive offset even when I use "-o-00:00:10:00" flag.

It says in the guide that it has been fixed in that version but well...it does not work for me..

Also, once converted to a scc file, how do I import that into my Scenarist video? (I can do that using "Import Line 21" in Maestro but I am kinda new at Scenarist)

McPoodle
20th January 2003, 00:08
The raw2scc program does not accept negative offsets. Your best bet is to use raw2scc followed by ccadj with a negative offset. However, ccadj will refuse to create a file that contains negative timecodes, so none of the timecodes in your input file can be larger than the negative offset (you can't subtract ten minutes from a file where the first timecode is eight minutes).

McPoodle
20th January 2003, 05:44
On doing some more research, I found that I made a mistake with how I handled negative timecodes in ccadj and ccasdi, so I fixed those two programs and also did the same in raw2scc, so you can use that program with negative offsets as well, so long as it does not result in a file with negative timecodes--in this case, negative timecodes are changed to 00:00:00:00 (which could result in overlapping captions). You can download the revised SCC_TOOLS package here (http://www.geocities.com/mcpoodle43/SCC_TOOLS/DOCS/SCC_TOOLS.HTML).

As for using SCC files in Scenarist, here is the procedure:
[list=1]
Drag the video file into the data editor.
Select the icon for the newly-added file, then scroll down the properties (bottom middle pane) to "Line 21 File1". Click on the button with the 3 dots to browse and select the .scc file.
You can now drag the data file into the track editor and the newly-created track into the scenario editor to create a PGC.
[/list=1]